We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly dissapointed”

Karma Beach Bali Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 46 Restaurants in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Accessed by a funicular that traverses 85 metres of cliff face patrons can relax in the whimsical, cozy environs of a curvilinear bamboo pavilion.Enjoy your complete meal and drink.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

After hearing a lot of positive reviews and feedback about this beach club I couldn't wait to experience it myself. Maybe my expectations were a bit too high after reading their accolades, but I wouldn't go there again. The staff was okay, friendly but nothing special. Same with the food, tasted good, but nothing more than that. What bothered me was the cleanliness, or better said: the lack of cleanliness. The sunbeds and side tables were very dirty and the towels were old and dirty too. The music was way too loud, I couldn't have a normal conversation with my partner. Too bad, because the location is awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJanssen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear MJanssen1,

Thank you for your helpful feedback.
I am sorry to hear you did not think much of Karma Beach Bali during your visit.
We have new equipment and menu at our beach club and hope you do get a chance to return and re-experience all of our changes.
Your comments on cleanliness are much appreciated and I can ensure we will work to better your experience.
Please accept our apologies and ensure to contact us on bali@karmabeach.com shall you decide to revisit us for a true karma experience.
We hope to have the pleasure of your return.

Thank you and Kind Regards,
The Management at Karma Beach Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 300 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We called ahead to make reservations for the beach and the restaurant Dimare. We were informed that reservations were not accepted for the beach but were able to make a reservation at the restaurant. When making the reservation, we confirmed that the beach would be open and if we arrived early, we would be able to access it.
However when we arrived the following day, we were informed that the beach was closed for a wedding. Given that we called ahead to confirm and travelled a long distance [2+ hours] to get there, we were very disappointed.
We wondered why we were not told about this the previous day when we had called. Given that this is a 'recommend' hotel and venue; we were sorely disappointed by the way the matter was handled. The counter staff called the manager to clarify cause we had called earlier, but it was just attributed to 'someone's' mistake at their end.
Despite knowing that it was their mistake, none of the managers bothered to come and see us or apologize.
For a hotel which claims to be luxurious, the food at the restaurant was fair at best and the standard of hospitality was sorely disappointing.
While the venue is breathtaking, our experience had been soured. The neighboring private beach ended up being a much better option.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hksince2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Hksince 2002.

Thank you very much for your feedback, please accept our apologize for your reservation issue as well as not accurate information on that time which basically our restaurant at KBB and di Mare still remain open as usual with limited access due to our in house guest wedding function. As a lesson learn, we will maintain update information to all Guest And hopely you will able to invite you back to show the improvement we made.

Please let us know any time you have time to visit us and we will make sure you will get the 5 star resort experiences.


Regards,

Akhmad Nasution
Dimare Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Yes, it is one of the more expensive places in Bali but for sure it has to offer a lot for it - for sure more than the upmarket, but compared to this place, rather boring resorts/beaches at Nusa Dua. We did not take the turn to the Karma beach but ended up by accicdent at the entrance to the Karma resort - so we got a free "roller coaster" ride by golf cart to the "cable car" which takes you down to the beach. Already the view from the top is stunning and the ride down to the beach a nice experience. The amazing location, the setup of the resort at the edge of a cliff the beautiful and secluded little beach and its great, newly set-up/renovated facilities - restaurant, bar, showers, massage tents sun chairs etc made you feel like you are in one of those James Bond movies and we were expecting that Sean Connery turns up with a Long drink in his hand any minute :-) This would have matched perfectly the exquisite service - we would like to thank explicitly the assistant manager Wayan Parwata for his great hospitality - we experienced there. We really enjoyed the bath in the crystal clear water and when having our fantastic lunch we loved the view of the blue sea. The food was clearly of highest Bali level: We had Pizza, a fish and a king prawn dish and Sushi. All was superb and delicious. Again it is not cheap for Bali standards but clearly a bargain compared to European prices. The drinks were also great - only 007 missing the date with us ;-)
It was the perfect finale of our two week Bali vacation. If we come back we will go there again - for sure. Thanx again for this great experience to the whole staff at Karma beach!!
Greetings from R@R, Germany

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ramona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Firstly Ramona W, I want to thank you for your kind words about our assistant manager Parwata, I will make sure to pass them on to him. I'm especially excited to here you found us by chance and had such a surprise discovering Karma Beach Club. From the golf cart ride, to cable ride, to our crystal clear water, it sounds like you truly had the complete Karma Beach experience. Thank you for comparing our location to the many stunning locations always featured in the Bond movies.

We definitely look forward to your return visit to our beach club.

Warmest regards from beautiful Bali,
Jillian Hightower
Karma Beach Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Well we had the best day at Karma yesterday. The weather was beautiful the water was perfect. The beach club was pumping with fantastic music all day. Service was great & food was yummy. It was such a perfect day we are going back tomorrow. It's a must whilst you are in Bali. A big thank you to Hannah from us all.

1  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Karma beach is beautiful! Another breathtaking sunset. It's quiet and relaxed with not too many people around. The pizzas were good!

Thank Katiezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Beach Bali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hi Katiezac,

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased you were down at the beach club around sunset, which really is the best time to experience that magical hour of the day. Our signature wood fire pizzas are a feature we often receive compliments about so we appreciate yours.

Thank you from beautiful Bali,
Jillian Hightower
Karma Beach Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma Beach Bali Restaurant also viewed

Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Karma Beach Bali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing