We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Rip Off”

Garuda Wisnu Kencana Cultural Park
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Ungasan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Garuda Wisnu Kencana (GWK) Cultural Park is a ± 60 ha area of cultural park located in Ungasan, Badung Regency or about 10-15 minutes driving from Bali’s Ngurah Rai International Airport. With a future plan of ±120-meter tall and 64-meter width statue of Garuda Wisnu as its main attraction, GWK Cultural Park boasts one of the largest artistic masterpiece and most astonishing works of arts ever created in Indonesia’s art history, which reflects the strong values of one of Indonesia’s inherited local cultures.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Surabaya
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Totally Rip Off”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Unbelievable that this kind of place costs so much money. Inside, you will only see 2 giant statues of "Garuda" and "Wisnu". Also they have dance performance at every hour but still not worth the money. I couldn't believe that they charge so much for nothing. Just avoid this Park and go somewhere else. It just waste your time and money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sudarto Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    359
    262
    72
    49
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing to see and pricey”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited GWK on our way to Uluwatu. It was pricey (IDR 100,000/pax) given there is only 2 statues inside. They have free dance performance everyday at 6pm, so if you arrange your visit at that time, you can at least see something. For us, we decided not to wait so it's kinda waste of money.

Helpful?
Thank 365annien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great to see, good for peace and serenity”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you're after a nice quiet walk, the GWK Cultural Park is a nice and peaceful place to go to. This place can be summarized in three words: Two Giant Statues. Good for a short photo-op, but other than that, absolutely useless. They started building this shrine in 1997 and they still only have those two giant statues to show for it. Don't get me wrong, it's a magnificent sight to see, but not worth the visit it you've got limited time in the island paradise.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nadia323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Be worn”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Don't waist your time and money.
Inside, there is only two things to see. Two very not so old status just a type which most of the regions in the world display for free. Here you have to pay. If your a foreigner - you pay and rath equivalent of $10 USD if your Asian - you pay only 50% of that. No one at the entrance can give you any information of what you can expect inside and no printed material is available as well. Any performance in the theatre inside has no any English translation or explanation. Basically if you're Indonesian is not very good, you have no idea what you looking at and what it all should mean which can impact understanding a performance overflowing with complicated and exotic symbolism.
All you can eat buffet is some kind of a bad joke. I will not even chose to comment on it, as it would be another waist of time.
Entirely I think it should be made illegal for the venue to charge money for the visit. It's not worth it and most certainly you can see much more interesting things free of charge anywhere else in the world.
After I brought up this issue with a sales manager asking for the refund, as I believed to be cheated of my money, he refused my request dismissing my concerns entirely and standing behind his believe how great this place is in his opinion. Good move for a sales manager to risk review like this one over resolving concerns of the customer - it is saying volumes as well.
Consider yourself to be worn.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pre-arranged transport required”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place is too out of the way, you need to pre-arrange transport. We flag down a taxi to bring us there. Bargained to pay him IDR400,000 in total to fetch us to GWK, Rock Bar (Ayana Resort & Spa), followed by Jimbaran Bay for seafood dinner & back to our Villa in Seminyak.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garuda Wisnu Kencana Cultural Park also viewed

 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Garuda Wisnu Kencana Cultural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing