We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”
Review of Karma Kandara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karma Kandara
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Stayed at Kandara for 4D 3N from Sep 26 - 29 with my family. We were upgraded to a 4 bedroom villa that was absolutely stunning. You do need to bear in mind that he whole resort is remotely located, perched on the cliffside with stunning views. Hence, it is more suitable for a quiet, private retreat than a sightseeing trip due to its distance to all the other attractions. But it is so beautiful that we all wanted to just stay in and not go anywhere... This is the 4th villa we've stayed in Bali and it's defnitely our favorite.

Anyway here's my feedback on some of the key issues brought up in past reviews:

1. Bumpy Roads: Yes the roads are rather bumpy and it is located rather far away from where everything else is. I had a lot of reservations about the roads as we had an elderly travelling with us. However, once there, it really wasn't as bad as made out to be. I would reckon the bumpy unpaved roads were about 15 minutes ride.

2. Service: I had experienced none of the bad service reviewed here. We were checked in within 5 minutes and were quickly brought to our villa. Staff were always courteous and patient with our requests. On one of our last days there, my husband fell sick and they helped us call for a doctor and although it took the doctor rather long to get to the resort, we appreciated that they helped and followed-up. It is true though that they do not replenish toiletories on a daily basis but upon request, are happy to bring them to you.

3. Villa: The villa was clean, spacious and homely. Everyone was wowed by the stunning views. However, it is quick a walk from the villa to the restaurant and beach from our villa (some slight uphill/downhill walking req'd). But it is not overly strenous.

4. Beach: Yes, they charge an entrance fee if you are not staying at their villas. It doesn't affect us much - in fact, we quite like it as it kept the beach private and quiet. The beach did look a bit dirty to us though (found some broken pieces of glass).

5. Spa: I personally did not try this so it's really feedback from my mother-in-law & aunt who went for the 60 minute massage. They felt it wasn't very worth it as they take 15 minutes to 'prepare' for the massage (for changing, settling in, etc). So actually you are only having a 45 minute massage. The view from the spa jacuzzi was absolutely gorgeous though... And you will need to book the spa in advance as it is quite difficult to get a slot. Recommended to have jacuzzi and massage near to evening sunset time.

6. Di Mare: We had dinner at Di Mare on our last night. I had the seafood broth which was delicious. I also ordered the Wagyu tenderloin which was also very good. Di Mare is not your local street hawker or beach restaurant so you will need to be prepared to pay the price for dining there. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

7. Business Centre: They have 1 computer with printer located outside their library (above reception). The internet speed is fast and printing is free. You can also borrow some movies to watch in-villa from the library.

Overall, we loved our stay at Kandara and would not hesitate to recommend it. We're certainly looking forward to return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Thank you for your comments and feedback to past reviews, RTJC. As with any unsatisfactory comments we may have received in the past, you may rest assured that we address these issues in an efficient matter and are happy to hear that you had an overall positive stay with us and that we are your favorite villa in Bali!

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

What an amazing place - I had seen the images, but it was even better in real life. I had read some comments here before I left and I was a little concerned, especially about the road. However, it was only bumpy at the end......there seemed to be new tar down so maybe they made some repairs. My friend and I enjoyed some calimari ($14) and then 2 main courses at the de Mare restaurant - yummy! They even allowed us to have food from the beach restaurant come to our table overlooking the sea - that was great. And the beach - wow - looking at it from the spa room was amazing. We had a shared massage in this room on the edge of the cliff - incredible. I walked away feeling totally transported in space and time - I had no idea where I was, I was so relaxed. The villa was good - similar to many others. The pool is great for a morning dip, but you end up spending most of your time in the social places.....although we found a quiet place further down the beach. The next day we asked them to prepare a little picnic for us and that made it really special.
Would I recommend it - you bet!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kissesforkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Cheers for your kind comments and recommendations. A massage at our cliff side spa is definitely something that transcends apace and time and yes, you are able to enjoy our different dining options is many parts of the resort including a custom prepared picnic on our the private beach. We’ve heeded past comments regarding the bumpy roads and have efforts to stay on top of the repairs. Hope to see you again soon enough!

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed for three nights at Villa 14 (three-bedroom with a private plunge pool) at Karma Kandara over the Independence Day weekend. If it weren’t for the special promotional rate we received, we feel that it would not be worth staying at Karma due to the following reasons:

1. The 50-minute drive from the airport (at night), which makes it difficult if you don’t have a car rental
2. Front desk service was poor as we had to wait for at least 20 minutes when we arrived before we were shown to our room; additionally, we had to lug our own suitcases
3. The maintenance is rather poor for an establishment of this caliber like dated towels
4. Service is bad as soaps and shampoos were not replaced on a daily basis
5. Not entirely private as occupants of another villa can look into ours
6. Vigilant check of your room bill is required upon check out (we were charged for F&B we did not consume)

On the flip side, we enumerate the positives as follows:
1. Arguably one of the best beaches in Bali with clear water and white sand
2. Nice long edgeless pool with a wonderful view of the ocean
3. Spacious villa with a home theatre and a fully furnished kitchen, including fridge, stove and microwave

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SoutheastAsiaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

We appreciate your comments in order to continually fine-tune our facilities and services. Known for its spectacular location and views, Karma Kandara is indeed a drive from the airport and bustling parts of Bali but we’re sure you’ll agree that it’s well worth the distance, not to mention we also offer airport transfers. Apologies for the waiting time you may have had to endure at the front desk the lack of a baggage porter and the mistake on your room bill. We take all comments seriously and have checked into these matters to insure they don’t happen again. We’ve bought brand new towels and generally only replace soaps and shampoos on request in trying to adhere to more eco-friendly practices. Thanks for your positive comments as well and we hope you can make a return visit so you can check out the changes we’ve made.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We went to Karma Kandara for a week long holiday. Overall, the resort was stunning to look at, the view of the Ocean from the di Mare restuarant was spectacular, the villas were beautifully appointed and surprisingly private!

The major let down was the insanely expensive prices- breakfast cost approximately AU$100 for 6 people, which we would have been happy to pay if the food was worth AU$100, but it was not! It usually took about 40-50 minutes to deliver any meals, (and that excludes the 20minutes it takes to get the waiters attention!)
The Nammos beach club was a complete rip off , the food is in tiny portions and came out cold most of the time. - however the waiters were very attentive and helpful to move all lounge chairs!

I will quickly mention that the Day Spa -whilst very very pricey- was stunning! and we would happily return to that day spa again! But I would not stay here again, unless I saw that the food and service had improved dramatically.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stelley758963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Thank you for your comments and sorry to hear that your experience at Karma may not have been up to par. We are in the constant process of improving our services and have looked into this issue of food delivery times and waiter attentiveness. Glad to hear you enjoyed our spa and hope you can stay with us again to discover all the improvements we’ve made.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We were so looking forward to going to Bali, we had never been but we got a phone call and was offered a special promotion.

We were told that room rates were 1000 bucks us a night. We would have been really upset if we had paid that. The villa was lovely but the smell from the drains meant we could not have the doors or windows open for long.

The resort is miles from anywhere, there are no bars or restuarants locally, you have to take a car which take an hour as the roads are so bad.

We were told we would have a sea view, which we did not we were put in a villa next to a construction site where they are building more villas and the noise starts early not ideal for a relaxing break in the sun.

We got accosted by monkeys who came into the villa and some were quite vicious. One famiy where there with kids would not go out on the balcony as the monkeys had taken food from them and they were too scared.. The staff were told about it but did nothing at all to help.

The beach while lovely is too crowded and the lift that takes you down broke down twice while we were there. the seats are falling apart and uncomfortable, when we eventually got one..

The food was less than average and the service was so slow we had lost our appetite by the time it came.

All in all my friends and I enjoyed Bali but were totally dissapointed with the resort. NO way is it 5* in standards or service. I am amazed it is in the leading hotels of the world catalogue. We have stayed at a few of the others and they have always been first class.

We would love to go back to Bali but would go to a decent hotel closer to a populated area where we could out a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hookedontravel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

We are thankful for your comments and apologize for any negative experiences you might have experienced during your stay at Karma. Our resort is indeed located some distance from any of Bali’s pedestrian and shopping areas but we consider this seclusion to be a relaxing plus for those looking to get away from the madding crowd. While our monkey neighbors can sometimes be a little pesky, they come with the territory and are certainly not vicious. Our inclinator to Nammos Beach Club is in constant use and we make sure we schedule regular maintenance. Sorry this was in disrepair during your visit. We have looked into the service issues you’ve noted and hope you can make a return visit to see how we’ve improved.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

After staying down in Seminyak and spending most of our days at the Ku De Ta beach club, we thought that a trip further south of the Island would be a worthwhile investment.
After trekking to Nammos Beach Club, where, despipte being part of a 5 Star Hotel, you are greeted by an AWFUL road, you eventunally find the beach where upon you are charged 150,000 Rupiah just to enter (this is then creditted back to your bill - kindly note that I have found no where else in Bali where this practise takes place - typically European, however lacking all the Eurpoean finese. Furthermore there is no garuntee of sun loungers or even space at the tiny and unthoughtfully desinged restaurant)

Nonetheless, despite a stunning view the appalling lack of service, lack of seating, lack of sun beds, lack attnetion to detail was disgraceful for the ridiculous prices (they charge £26 for a pizza! Distinctly aveage one at that!!). The staff are rude. The beach is over run by children. There is NO WHERE to sit - all the tables are two seaters - bizarre - and there are only a handful of sunbeds.

All in all, a thoroughly disappointing experience. Go to Ku Da Ta if you want a real beach club experience with attentive staff, wonderful food and a great atmosphere (and enough places to sit at a restaurant you get charged to go to!!!)

Avoid Nammos Beach Club at all costs.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cheska_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear that you may not have had the most positive experience during your day trip to Nammos Beach Club, Cheska. As with most locations in the Bukit Peninsula area of Bali, many roads are in some state of disrepair from factors such as weather. We are constantly fixing these conditions in order to provide guests with a smoother ride and feel that it’s worth the minor discomfort once you arrive. We believe that the Rp 150,000 credit charge for consumables is fair for the facilities and services we provide at the beach club, that we would also like to mention has greatly improved with added sun beds and seating areas. We hope you are able to make another trip down in the future so check us out again.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Karma Kandara is fairly difficult to get to - the unpaved road leading to the hotel can be rather uncomfortable. This is a resort for those who want a secluded, romantic resort (like us honeymooners), not for those who want to explore Bali.

We had a seafacing villa with a gorgeous infinity pool. The villa was spacious, luxurious and comfortable, with free wi-fi. The indoors/outdoors rainforest shower was nice, though it was a bit of a surprise not to have a bathtub.

As for the hotel facilities, the highlights must be the di Mare restaurant which has fantastic views of the sea, with good food, as well as the private beach which can be reached by an inclinator. The spa has lovely cabins facing the sea, though they are still building the bathroom facilities so you should use your villa bathroom before going to the spa. There is a small but well-stocked library. The grounds are lushly landscaped to give a feeling of a cross between a Balinese garden and a Mediterranean terrace.

The staff were warm, friendly and usually prompt, but out-of-the-usual requests such as our honeymoon perks were met with some bewilderment at first, and it took repeated calls to get a simple thing like the standard honeymooners' layout - which rather spoilt the experience. The staff is friendly but seem rather inexperienced, perhaps as the resort is rather new. Hopefully, they will get better with time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

We are happy to hear that you chose Karma Kandara as your honeymoon destination, Forest Muse. We take pride in our well-trained and professional staff and have looked into what made your experience here not so agreeable. Our evolution is ongoing and we appreciate comments such as yours in order to improve services to our guests.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.2 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 10 in Uluwatu
1,069 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Kandara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kandara

Address: Jl. Villa Kandara, Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: $306 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Karma Kandara 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Kandara 5 Star resort villas epitomize Bali's exclusive private pool villa experience. Globally renowned as the place to be on 'Billionaire's Row', Luxury Karma Kandara Resort is an ideal destination for friends, family and incentive group gatherings. Discover captivating views, world-class dining and Karma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Karma Kandara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Kandara Hotel Ungasan
Karma Kandara Hotel Denpasar
Karma Kandara Denpasar
Karma Kandara Bali/Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing