We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the world”
Review of Karma Kandara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karma Kandara
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of the world”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

we had the most wonderful 5 days at villa #38 at Karma kandara.. the staff,ambience everything was good. from the time we checked in to the massive villa everything was awesome.. the pool,service etc. try nammos beach club and also the private beach.. it was a fun time ..

Room Tip: Try Villa #38.. we had absolute privacy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    290
    98
    39
    36
See reviews for
532
386
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ambushed..that's how we felt! The evening before our transfer to Karma Kandara I was contacted by the resort to say they were overbooked & would we like to stay where we were for another night.I was very disappointed about this as we only had 2 nights at Kandara & a part of the day always gets swallowed up when moving.I said that we were very much looking forward to our Kandara experience & that we wished to book in as we had planned this for a very long time.No problem,says the Manager.On arrival at Kandara we were booking in & "ambushed" by the GM.She tells us that she's very sorry but that the pool in the villa is not up to standard & is being treated with chemicals.She assured us it was safe to swim in.Because of this she said we would receive a complimentary lunch & spa treatment to "sweeten" the deal.At the time we thought this was pretty good of them.We were told the villa would be ready in 45 minutes but that stretched out to two and a half hours.What a huge disappointment to find our villa was what we heard referred to as the Spa Office! It looked like a rush job had been done to move someone out.There were not the usual welcoming folders/directories, no safe & yes..there was a room downstairs with about 5 computers-ON ! The pool was so cloudy & dirty that we couldn't even see the steps.We were so hot by now that we ventured in but the bottom of the pool was so slimy that we very quickly exited! It didn't take long for the monkeys to arrive & they never really left.There presence made us have to stay indoors.The racket of them on the roof all night made for poor sleeping.In the morning the pool didn't look any better & the deck area & pool were covered in monkey excretement.We had been told we would be moved & that eventually happened.But guess what, that pool wasn't ready for us either.Apparently the people before didn't want anyone to come in and do pool maintenance & so they had to empty the pool, refill & put chemicals in.We were so over it, so hot & disappointed , that we sat in the pool anyway.Once it filled up & started to clear, then we started to relax.This villa was more like what we had been expecting & if only we hadn't had the last awful 24hr experience.The balinese staff were lovely, the food excellent.Drinks too expensive.The Spa & staff were magnificent, such beautiful gentle people & I absolutely say go for the Hot Stone massage with Puspa.
We had been looking forward to this for so long and Yes it has the WOW factor, but the experience has been overshadowed by what we went through.We never did see the GM again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Came to visit Karma Kandara private beach at the recommendation of sister villa, Karma Jimbaran. We did not stay here but I have to shout about the stunning views of Karma Kandara!

Stepping into Karma Kandara is like being transported to Santorini in Greece. The resort has a Mediterranean touch to it with it being on a high cliff and its white facade against the deep blue sea and sky. The sea view is simply breathtaking, the infinity pool just seem endless! The inclinator ride down to the private beach was painful as we couldn't contain ourselves with the beautiful view of the sea calling out to us. The kids loved snorkeling and playing in the clear waters. I couldn't stop taking pictures of the place! Our hungry stomachs were so contented and satisfied by the delish food served in Nammos beach club and Di Mare. We loved the place so much we came back the next day.

I highly recommend Karma Kandara to anyone who wants to view Bali with a difference. This place is it! I will come and stay in Karma Kandara when I come back to Bali.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purrlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What can I say about Karma Kandara apart from simply amazing. I have stayed in many resorts in Bali but have to admit that this one wins hands down.

Generally I feel the need to be adventurous and hits the streets for some bargains but here at Ulu's on the Bukit Peninsula I had succumb to the relaxing environment surrounding me.

This is a place that you will want to share with your friends and family. The food in Di Mare and Nammos is like a party in your mouth and the cocktails divine. Nammos beach club is awesome to unwind on Karma's private beach.

You will find yourself never wanting to leave this place and I can't wait for my return.
See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel_travelled33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is absolutely wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to go for a romantic getaway. We stayed one evening in a lovely 2-bedroom villa and the staff switched us to a villa closer to the restaurant & beach club upon request. The rooms were spacious and clean, complete with indoor/outdoor showers, bathtub and private pool. room service was prompt and delicious. Unfortunately for us the night we stayed there was a wedding which took place at Nammos beach club which meant we were unable to enjoy a chilled evening on the beach but the stunning infinite poolside set up made up for it. You can explore the beach itself and enjoy snorkelling and other beach activities. Drinks and food were delicious and fresh - we enjoyed Nammos and di Mare dining. The gym is 24 hours, and the spa has an excellent view (although you'll be hard-pressed to find a villa with an ocean-front view) though we didn't have time to try them. Make sure to check the distance of your villa to the restaurant/reception or wherever you wish to be close to, as well as the privacy (some villas are overlooked by the main restaurant, di Mare). The staff are accommodating and professional; even after 1 night you feel completely spoiled and well-rested.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xinmei55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

check in progress didn't go so well,
we booked 2 four bedrooms villas from 4th to 8th oct,
but they said the booking is on 5th to 8th.
need to wait more than 2 hours to get our villas ready.

but it's all worthy When we get our villa.
spacious rooms, neat & tidy, quite complete kitchen eqiupments prepared.
pool is not too big, but clean.
each villa has different room arrangements.
villa #3 is good. nice view, big pool, near the breakfast place.

not too much choices for food & beverage.
they only have 2 restaurants.
tastes quite good.
price just ok.

public pool scenery is so beautiful, directly facing the sea.

the beach is not too big but so beautiful.
nice place for snorkling.
the water is so clear, beach also clean.

staffs are friendly and helpful.
they're auch a good asset for the property!

really a good choice if you want to escape your city life.
on the other hand,
place quite far from heart of city.
not suitable for you who needs night entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freya88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. Unfortunately i didnt actually stay at the resort, as discovered it towards the end of my Bali Holiday, but myself and 4 friends went up for the day. We arrived early at around 9.00am, and started our morning with a coffee at the main restaurant. For anyone that travels to Bali often you will know that good coffee is hard to come by, especially at a hotel or a resort, but the coffee was perfect, just like home.

We then took the inclinator down the side of the cliff, and headed to Nammos Beach club for the day. Wow the view was breathtaking!!! As we arrive at the bottom of the cliff, we find ourselves on a magnificent secluded beach with the most amazing clear water.

And although on the beach as part of the Nammos club, you have all the luxuries at your fingertips. A great bar - that coincidentaly makes great cockails. There was a DJ on the decks playing great chill out music, and our very own personal bunch of life guards to help you stay safe when swimming!

We had lunch at Nammos, and were lucky enough to sit in the VIP Tree hut, which was just breathtaking. The service and food was beautiful! Ahh and the view!!!

After lunch we were all booked into the Spa for treatments, the spa is seriously one of the best i have ever been to. Private spa rooms sitting on top of the cliff overlooking the amazing ocean views, After our massage we had booked into the infra-red sauna - which was made entirely of glass so when sitting and sweating it out, you of course enjoy the ocean views!

I will be back and next time i will be checking in, a beautiful resort, and the staff are so friendly and attentive! highly reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julz_2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
1.1 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort BALI
4.0 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Kandara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kandara

Property: Karma Kandara
Address: Jalan Villa Kandara, Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Karma Kandara 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Kandara 5 Star resort villas epitomize Bali's exclusive private pool villa experience. Globally renowned as the place to be on 'Billionaire's Row', Luxury Karma Kandara Resort is an ideal destination for friends, family and incentive group gatherings. Discover captivating views, world-class dining and Karma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Kandara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Kandara Hotel Ungasan
Karma Kandara Hotel Denpasar
Karma Kandara Denpasar
Karma Kandara Bali/Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing