We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute heaven”
Review of Karma Kandara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karma Kandara
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Absolute heaven”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. Unfortunately i didnt actually stay at the resort, as discovered it towards the end of my Bali Holiday, but myself and 4 friends went up for the day. We arrived early at around 9.00am, and started our morning with a coffee at the main restaurant. For anyone that travels to Bali often you will know that good coffee is hard to come by, especially at a hotel or a resort, but the coffee was perfect, just like home.

We then took the inclinator down the side of the cliff, and headed to Nammos Beach club for the day. Wow the view was breathtaking!!! As we arrive at the bottom of the cliff, we find ourselves on a magnificent secluded beach with the most amazing clear water.

And although on the beach as part of the Nammos club, you have all the luxuries at your fingertips. A great bar - that coincidentaly makes great cockails. There was a DJ on the decks playing great chill out music, and our very own personal bunch of life guards to help you stay safe when swimming!

We had lunch at Nammos, and were lucky enough to sit in the VIP Tree hut, which was just breathtaking. The service and food was beautiful! Ahh and the view!!!

After lunch we were all booked into the Spa for treatments, the spa is seriously one of the best i have ever been to. Private spa rooms sitting on top of the cliff overlooking the amazing ocean views, After our massage we had booked into the infra-red sauna - which was made entirely of glass so when sitting and sweating it out, you of course enjoy the ocean views!

I will be back and next time i will be checking in, a beautiful resort, and the staff are so friendly and attentive! highly reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julz_2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    306
    101
    40
    38
See reviews for
558
401
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wow what a hotel! As soon as we arrived we knew this was some place special. We stayed in a Three bedroom villa as part of the Royal getaway Promo. The villa (number 40) had a master bedroom upstairs and two bedrooms below. The pool was a infinity pool and as always in bali a fav spot for our lil girl to play. Lots of room for 5 of us and a huge U shape couch to rest after all the shopping.
The kids club was fantastic and they did a huge range of activites for our lil 5 year old. the girls are really nice and they made necklaces, went fishing(for tadpoles :) ), made her a flower crown. She cried when we left.
The Restauant "DeMari" was our breakfast spot and we couldnt get enough of the Nasi gorang, birchir museli and fresh pineapple juice. The view every morning made us smile.
The beach club was fantastic and the special lift down was a joy. The beach club menu is mainly pizza and beach nibbles. We went to a movie night on the beach and they put out the screen on the beach and give popcorn to the kids and parents. Remember to pack some goggles as they charge an arm and a leg to rent. Book the round bamboo table on stilts for lunch as this gets the breeze flowing on a hot day. They do satay on the beach but is not in the menu so just ask :)
As others have said it is out of the way from everything but Bali is not a huge place and is easy to do day trips to Kuta, seminyak and nusa dua. We used a driver for our stay and he was Fantastic. The best part he lives very close to Kandara and can pick u up very quickly. Mr Gede Aldiano is/should be a Bali ambassador. We went to Ubud, volcano,rice fields with him and he was a wealth of knowledge. We used him for the rest of our stay for day trips to Kuta, jimbaran bay and Seminyak. He can speak perfect english,speaks japanese,german, indonesian and balinese!!! We paid him extra just because he was a joy and went out of his way to help us with any concern. USE HIM it will make your trip alot of fun and save u lots of money.
His details:
Gede Aldiano
phone: 0818351610
email: gede_sepang@yahoo.com
The resort is not close to any shops so ask your driver if you are being picked up by Karma to stop in Jimbaran to pick up some supplies. They will probaly stop at Pepitos(a bit more expensive grocery store) but has the snacks and things u will need. Or up the road is another bigger local grocery shop on the other side.Much better for $$
They are fixing the road just near the airport and it can take some time if the traffic is bad to get back to Karma if you go to Seminyak or Kuta so be careful with Time. We left Seminyak at 4.45pm and didnt get back to Karma till 6;15 so plan ahead :)
You will have a great time and maybe see a monkey or two in the afternoon.
If you want any more info on anything contact me and i will tell you about what i can.

Room Tip: The walk from recepetion to the three bedroom villas is very steep so if you want you can get the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WolframBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently returned from a trip to Bali with my family. Karma Kandara was one of the hotels we chose. Having travelled to Bali at least 11 times over the past decade it has become more and more difficult to find a resort that satisfies us in the same way Bali did on our first visit. Bali is after all a building site. The traffic is horrendous. The footpaths have never improved but the people we find are just as enchanting as they always have been.
Karma Kandara was a totally new experience for us.
We arrived having left the magnificent St Regis. St Regis typifies the symmetrical design and beauty of many first rate Hotels. Alila Uluwatu is another example. Simply beautiful in this same ordered way. We love them both.
Karma Kandara on the other hand was linitially less impressive. The reception is very simple. Think a new art work wouldn't go astray here. No water features and grandeur. Service however becomes immediately apparent. Understated but superb.
There is no other way to put it other than to say that the resort grows on you. It unfolds in the most magical of ways and finishes off enveloping you.
Over the next 24 hours we all began to fall under its spell.
Kandara is a mix of Provence meets Mexico. Simplicity at its best. Meandering high stoned walkways and bougainvillaea on mass. Simple, beautiful and international.
We spent the next four days days allowing Karma Kandara to work its magic. Lazy days spent at Nammos. What a beach. St Tropez meets Buddha Bar. Beautiful food. No buffet breakfast here thank God and the stair climb from Nammos to the top four times a day to undo the damage.My only complaint is that I do believe the sauna should be complimentary.
Karma is a funny resort. You arrive feeling that it's not so special and you leave thinking there is nothing so simply special.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and we had an amazing 3 bedroom villa with ocean views (we asked for one). All villas are very private and surrounded by lush green gardens and palm trees, each with its private and large infinity pool. It's perched on a cliff and the view is unbelievable, a very relaxing place.
The private beach at sunset is great and the view from the top restaurant is incredible.
It is a bit isolated from major attractions so you need to factor that if you plan to do a lot of shopping, the taxi fares are cheap but the journey can be a bit long especially in heavy traffic.
The food at the resort is just OK so using the kitchen in the Villa is a better option.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our fourth stay at Karma Kandara, and we absolutely loved it.

We were allocated our requested villa - which has beautiful ocean views and an amazing pool and outdoor area.
This was our first year at Karma with our 8 month old daughter, the staff were amazing with her (and us) and entertained her each day with smiles and waves, and even offered to take her for a short while when she got fussy as our food arrived! The staff are always a pleasure, very accommodating, smiling and very helpful with requests.

Di Mare is hard to fault, spectacular views and amazing food. We recommend Eggs benedict and french toast at breakfast! They make a great Cappuccino too.
Lunch and dinners also excellent, we especially liked the healthy choice menu and loved the Red Quinoa Salad.
As always - a great cocktail menu!

Nammos beach club is always great, the weekend afternoons always have great music, often international DJ's making an appearance - other times we found the pre-recorded tunes very hit and miss. We purchased the Karma CD that was available in the villa and at the boutique, a great mix which we had playing most days when relaxing by the pool.

Other facilities, like the gym - great condition with a unique view/location and never busy. The spa is a real treat, make sure to book sunset and one of the two rooms over looking the ocean.

Only minor faults picked up on this trip:
- The monkey problem seems to be getting a little worse, they are getting brave and a little aggressive at times when we tried to move them away from the pool. Unfortunately we caught 10 of them swimming in our pool one day! (Next time we'll bring water pistols!) The staff quickly came and treated the pool, although it did turn green for 3 of the days. We used the main pool during this period which wasn't a bad idea as it is quite incredible.
- There were a lot of people walking through the Di Mare restaurant on day tours which became a little annoying and there is still no dedicated way for guests to avoid long lines of 'day-pass guests' from the beach to Di Mare using the travelator.
- Some of the villa's could use a bit of a touch-up, wear and tear on the outdoor decks from furniture being moved, also noted inside around the kitchenette.

We had another great stay and always recommend Karma, we are already looking forward to our stay next year.
Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australia2Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As the other reviews say, the resort is in an absolutely spectacular location and the 'villas' are really more like houses. Not all the villas overlook the ocean but the view over the private plunge pool is still gorgeous.

A couple of things to be wary of...the resort is incredibly hilly, the pavers are very slippery and a couple of us had near misses. It would be hard for someone who was a bit older. There are monkeys everywhere so we felt a bit edgy walking around and we did see them swimming in the pools which was gross. Lastly, the food is a bit hit and miss. We had some great meals at di Mare but some which were average and our only meal at Nammos was not good at all. It is quite expensive to eat at the restaurants every day, however the villas have a great kitchen so it is worth taking snacks as there are no shops or markets nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateski84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful Resort.
Was Recommended by a friend and lived up to all expectations.
Could not have asked for a better experience.
Friendly and attentive staff. Gorgeous Surroundings. And most mportantly...........
AMAZING Cocktails !!
Nammos Beach club.......Stunning!! Just another reason to return.
Will definitely make my stay a little longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.2 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
1.1 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 8 in Uluwatu
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,496 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
4.2 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort BALI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Kandara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kandara

Property: Karma Kandara
Address: Jalan Villa Kandara, Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Karma Kandara 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Kandara 5 Star resort villas epitomize Bali's exclusive private pool villa experience. Globally renowned as the place to be on 'Billionaire's Row', Luxury Karma Kandara Resort is an ideal destination for friends, family and incentive group gatherings. Discover captivating views, world-class dining and Karma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Kandara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Kandara Hotel Ungasan
Karma Kandara Hotel Denpasar
Karma Kandara Denpasar
Karma Kandara Bali/Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing