We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Bantayan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Reviewed January 1, 2011

If Cebu is in your travel plans (and it should be) you need to be sure and make your way up to Bantayan Island which is just off the northern coast of the island. I took my first trip to the Philippines in October 2010 and chose Cebu because I'd heard so many great things about the beautiful beaches and how many fun things there are to do.

I wanted to get out and see what the island had to offer so I made my way up to Bantayan Island for a weeks stay at Beach Placid which is only 5 minutes if that from the pier. It is a great place to stay and in an ideal location right on a pristine stretch of white sand. The staff were all very friendly and took care of everything I needed right away and even came by to check on me to see there was anything they could get me.

The cottages are great, the food is fresh and made to order while you wait, the view and beach is stellar so I fully recommend it to anyone. Joan is the owner and she'll take care of everything you need, just a couple of emails is all it took to get me setup and on my way. Two thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankrizzo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 247 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2010

Fantastic, clean resort with friendly helpful staff set on the best stretch of pristine white sandy beach on bantayan island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oziboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We definitely had a great stay at Beach Placid.

We're impressed by the excellent service of the staff from the time we sat our foot at the Sta. Fe ferry port, until we stepped back to the ferry to bring us back to Cebu Mainland.

There was enough room for the four of us.

Water was not an issue.

There was also a bar bridge that you can put your stuff on, considering that the rate isn't high.

And, to top it all, my favorite seafoods are available everyday.

And, let's not forget the waters, we had fun snorkeling, chasing schools of fish.

We look forward to another stay at Beach Placid very soon...

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

A 5 days trip to Cebu and went to Sta. Fe, Bantayan Island.

Getting to Bantayan Island on a 3 hours bus ride from north terminal of Cebu to Hagnaya port and an hour of boat ride to get to this beautiful island was an awesome trip. We stayed at Beach Placid in Sta. Fe, Bantayan and had an over night stay though it was too short. The resort was like a paradise for us, we enjoyed the panoramic view of the horizon with no slippers on to feel the powdery white sand of the resort. Now, it's time to order our first meal of the day. our lunch was amazingly delicious and affordable that made our impressions last. The resort also had a internet connection that also made my vacation complete due to working online. We also rented a scooter bike so that we can explore the island and went "passalubong search" outside. This resort offers a lot that can accommodate local and foreign tourists i highly suggest if you want to visit Bantayan Island stay at Beach Palacid and experience their tasty food and a wonderful scenic view by the shore as well as their friendly staff. so what you guys waiting for? book your tickets and visit Bantayan Island now.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beach_bumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We spent 2 nights there and it was enough I do not deny what people wrote previously but you have to know that if you rent a Beach Front Triplex (I don't know about others) you will shower almost over the WC (see photo). Flush was not working and we needed to use a bucket as you can see on photo.
The beach is also quite dirty with garbage that the sea is bringing.
It could be a nice place if they put 2 square meters more for a descent shower.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravelFrGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giging, Manager at Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

The bathroom in question has been fixed. It is our goal to make the customer happy. If they are not satisfied with anything, all they need to do is let us know and we will either fix the problem or transfer them to a bigger and better room for the same price. We have other cottages that have larger restrooms and larger area in the room. The Triplex is designed for inexpensive, single or couple guests on a budget. We we will be renovating the Triplex this year to make the restrooms/showers larger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

It may be that the bigger rooms (cottages/duplex) are the source of the great Tripadviser reviews that brought us here, but the room we were stuck in...well, those are a different story, at about 10' square - including the bathroom. Perhaps it was to be expected that there was no hint of this when we called to ask about room availability - we were told only that a "deluxe," or some such nonspecific term, was available. Compared with elsewhere in the Philippines and on Bantayan these are not a good value - in fact, that's the case even in comparison with those other new (booked) rooms we can't get in to right here at Beach Placid.

So - look around before you commit, as I wish we'd done.

Unlike some other resorts, the rooms are plunked down apparently where there was space, and with nothing like a long-term plan in mind, no landscaping, more like a campground with cabins. I did like that there was nothing between our front door and the ocean, but as I said, there was barely any "room" there to begin with, and the carpet has probably never been dry, ever.

The thing is, unless you're more successful in ferreting out a detailed map of the Santa Fe area before you get to Bantayan than we were, you won't know where or how far the other options are. We just wanted to grab hold of whatever we'd reserved from afar, since we had bags with us and were anxious to get perched somewhere...it was tolerable for a night, but in our case, no more than that. There are other close-by options in the area - near competing "Yooneek," which in itself seems much more attractive now that we've seen it, and at lower prices (in my opinion not getting a fair shake in these reviews at all - do we really think that "Yooneek" must be entirely "unique" in order to meet our expectations as a nice place to stay? [--])

The beach itself: I can't judge fully since we didn't stay at Beach Placid long enough to get a representative sense, but I can say that the beach here looks nice from a distance...but walking on it I found it hard-packed; and right now it's got a lot of debris and the water looks a bit green, trashy and cloudy - not inviting. We're moving ASAP to another hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
6  Thank 808Pants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We arrived mid January and expected to stay five nights - we stayed over five weeks, which probably says it all! Joan, the ebullant owner and her team were just marvellous, nothing was too much trouble and everything was fun.. the location, right on the white sand beach, was perfect. We ate most evenings in the little friendly village of Sante Fe which was either a twenty minute walk or a short ride in a bicycle taxi - it all seemed very safe. Week days were generally laidback and peaceful, weekends were party time.. everyone was friendly..

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martin_della
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bantayan Island hotels
1.0 mi away
CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
170 reviews
4.9 mi away
Maia's Beach Resort
Maia's Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Sulangan
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anika Island Resort
Anika Island Resort
#1 of 10 in Santa Fe
401 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kota Beach Resort
Kota Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bantayan Island
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Bernard Beach Resort
St. Bernard Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Bantayan Island
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar

Address: Santa Fe, 6047, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bantayan Island
Price Range: $32 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best and longest stretch of beach in the area, Beach Placid is happy to host guests throughout the year. Beach Placid is a recepient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award for 3 year's in a row. We also won the "best beach" award in Bantayan Island in 2011. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and satisfaction. We have various types of cottages to cater to different needs and walks of life. At beach placid you enter as strangers and leave as family. Beach Placid also accommodates special requests and events. So what are you waiting for? Come join our family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant And Bar Hotel Bantayan Island
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant And Bar Bantayan Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing