We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A backpacker's inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yooneek Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yooneek Beach Resort
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A backpacker's inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Yooneek is just a few minutes drive away from the port.

For P2,100, the room was clean and big enough for a group of 7 (had to request for additional beds). Room for two is at P1,650.

It didn't have TV, but was okay since you're in Bantayan to enjoy the beach or go caving, etc.

If you're traveling with a senior citizen, don't stay at the second floor. Their stair/steps not oldie friendly.

Yooneek also has a bar, lounging chairs, picnic tables, a cottage, plus free WiFi.

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast meal was kindda expensive @ 195, but you can ask them to cook food for you (they charge P25 per viand). You can also ask them to get you a tricycle.

Best of it all, the two storey inn was a stone throw away from the beach. During high tide, sea is right next to the picnic tables/lounging chairs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PidjangaTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's a really nice place to relax, you can go swimming in the sea. However, the beach here is not the very best, there are some bigger stones in the water and partly rocky sea floor. It's advisable to go swimming during high tide. The amount of litter at the beach is within reasonable limits.

The Vista Grande Room on the upper floor towards the beach offers a great view on the sea and the neatly designed resort. The condition of the resort could be better, but was still good. The A/C was kinda loud, but we had the same problem during other stays of our trip. A normal sleeper should be fine with that. The shower had warm water, though the water pressure was somewhat too low.

The staff was friendly and even arranged a private island hopping tour (there will be extra costs for admission to Virgin Island, food and cooking, rental of snorkeling equipment, so plan ahead if you're on a budget) and a tricycle tour around the island (if you're going to visit one of the caves, bring some swimwear and towel).

There are a range of international dishes on the menu, but we sticked to meals typical for the country and under this aspect, the choice was a bit limited. You should plan for a longer wait until your meal is served, but that's apparently the case on the whole island (or at least on all the other 5 places where we ordered dishes).

In Santa Fe you can find a lot of places to dine and drink and you can buy everyday items at the convenience stores. You will see a lot of tourists and the locals are used to them. If you need some cash from an ATM, you'll need to take a tour to Bantayan, where you can find the PNB (Philippine National Bank) ATM right next to the plaza, which is the only one accepting international credit cards. Foreigners are less common here and some locals may look at you curiously. There's also a big market place near the plaza, if you like take a stroll.

To get to Yooneek Beach Resort from Cebu City, you can take a bus ride (I highly recommend to take one of the air conditioned buses, watch out for the AIRCON sign, it's only PHP 160 per person) from North Bus Terminal in Cebu to Hagnaya Port. You have to account for a duration of at least 3 hours or more, depending on traffic.

Ferries go hourly from Hagnaya Port to Bantayan Island, but only during daytime, so make sure you don't arrive too late. There are different kinds of ferries and they will need different amounts of time to cross over. On our trip there, it took us 1 hour and 45 minutes, while on our trip back, it was only 1 hour and a couple of minutes. The ride is about PHP 175 per person.

It is highly advisable to contact the hotel before your stay to arrange for a pick-up from the port, since the porters and drivers at the port are very intrusive - particularly when they see a foreigner - and may overcharge you. Backpackers could also take a walk to the resort, it's not too far.

Room Tip: The Vista Grande Room toward the beach has a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blubberdiblub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Pros
The staff are warm, friendly and courteous.
The fruit shakes are good and just right for the price. Try banana-papaya or banana-mango shake.
Try also their potato dishes.
The resort is just a five minute walk from the church.
There is free Wi-fi.
The view from the resort is just breath-taking. The clear waters of Bantayan coupled with good weather take a whole lot of stress.

Cons
Food service especially on breakfast time needs improvement on speed. If you travel in a big group like us you may want to arrange ahead of time your breakfast/meals especially when the resort has many guests.
There should be enough power supply on stand by especially in brown-outs.
Improve on pest control.
I hope the transportation from the port to the hotel and vv. would be improved too.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jaah09bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, that was the Boracay 25 years ago. Everything is going very slowly but also anything that does not bother. Waiting for the food, the ants in the room, low water pressure, cleaning room is u duty(to remember u that u must one day go back to work),frequent power cuts .... u just calm down and letting it flow. Breakfast right next to the beautiful sea repay it all. Food is surprisingly good. In any case, it is necessary to visit the Virgin Island. buy sea food at local market and they will cook for u on island. Bantayan city is worth to visit, just rent the motorbike, u will be surprised. Santa Fe city has some very good restaurant and on saturdays live music. The trip from Cebu city is a little bit stressful bcs of the traffic jam but u can see the country side of island. Very diffrent comparing to Cebu city. I will definitely return. The staff is very friendly. They make the best mango shakes. I fell like a new person after one week.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The real attraction is the beach-front drinking/dining! What a beautiful beach it is. Dinner was really quite good, more than I expected. Bantayan was one of the most incredible places I have seen in the Philippines, and I have seen quite a bit! It's a very sleepy and picturesque island...people here are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IDreamedOfThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

i understand that we all have different opinions but based on my experience, my stay there was worth the price! the beach/shore was clean, room was clean and the staff were really2 friendly..the only con i can say about the resort is that they have limited choice of food..but it was ok, we were satisfied eating their lechon kawali anyway..:) overall, i would really recommend this place..btw, we stayed here may 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keysandstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

For the price we paid I think we fairly got what our money's worth. The location of the resort is excellent as it is a beach front property so that alone made us booked for this resort. Just like most resorts in the island of Bantayan, Yooneek is a small family-run resort so service is personalized and good as long as you don't expect a 5-star service that you will get in those generic resort chains. They serve very good pizzas and pastas aside from the usual local dishes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kegler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bantayan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 8 in Bantayan Island
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Maia's Beach Resort
Maia's Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Sulangan
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anika Island Resort
Anika Island Resort
#1 of 10 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kota Beach Resort
Kota Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Bantayan Island
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlin's Beach Resort
Marlin's Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yooneek Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yooneek Beach Resort

Property: Yooneek Beach Resort
Address: Santa Fe, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yooneek Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yooneek Beach Hotel Bantayan Island
Yooneek Beach Resort Bantayan Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing