We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beachfront resort!”
Review of Kota Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kota Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A beachfront resort!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at Kota Beach almost a year ago with 3 of my friends when we were in Bantayan Island. What we loved about this resort is the beachfront. There are other resorts around the area, and we also tried to explore them (their surroundings at least) during our stay. Most of them, if not all, probably offer even better accommodation options than Kota Beach, but Kota has the better beachfront in that area. I loved the view during sunrise and sunset! It's really peaceful and serene. We woke up a little earlier in the morning and stayed a little bit more outside before twilight because it was what we originally wanted to see before we booked a room here.

Although it's more expensive, we stayed at one of the cottages fronting the beach so that we could take advantage of the view. Aside from that, there was nothing special about it. It was average to say the least. The cottage is actually a mid-sized room with a bathroom plus a small porch outside where you can chill and spend lazy afternoons reading a book or drinking coffee if it's your kind of thing. Aside from the beachfront, the free round-trip port transfers pretty much sealed the deal. The port is not too far however, so you may take a tricycle or "potpot" for example. Most of the beach resorts here offer free airport transfers by the way, so you have a lot of options. In Kota, there are also other accommodation types aside from the cottages, so you can choose the type that would fit your needs and budget.

At that time, I'm not sure if they already offered free Wi-Fi, but they did offer the basic amenities like towels and toiletries. The hotel also has a restaurant near the lobby. The prices are reasonable and the food palatable, but there are a few restaurants and bars outside the resort (within walking distance) where you can dine. They offer more options, and you'll be able to see a lot of tourists in that area also. The resort has bikes for rent for those who would like to explore the place more. It was in my bucket list, but we weren't able to do that because we chose to go island hopping and snorkeling for the most part. Nevertheless, there's a lot to see. Although small, the island is beautiful. I would like to go back some time in the future. :)

Room Tip: Choose the beachfront cottages for a fantastic view during sunrise and sunset :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingEray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    88
    61
    21
    12
See reviews for
44
74
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice beachfront resort. Beach beds are provided. Shore is actually clean and quiet. Sand is not as fine as I expected but good enough.

Bar: Just by the beach, nice and clean with billiards table provided and free wifi. Relaxing and good too.

Restaurant. Average. Food is okay, but a few to choose from. There are many restaurants outside just walking distance away from the resort so If you ever got tired of ordering the same food, you can actually just go out.

Rooms: Outdated. If you are a simple traveler, I think, this won't be a big deal. Rooms are clean enough but with dim lights with super old windows. Towels, soap and bathroom tissues are the basic toiletries provided. No hot water in the shower.

For the price of this resort, I think you're getting more than what you paid for as it is actually cheap. So if you're on a budget, a simple traveler who wants a peaceful environment where you can relax, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Me, my Husband and some of our friends stayed here for 4 days last Nov. 23-25 2012 on their Deluxe Cottages...Some says rooms are ordinary yes I agree to that, but the cottages facing the beach is money worth yes again they are not like those resort that gives full luxury but what we feel here is relax which is more important when in vacation.. we never regret chosing KOTA BEACH Resort because first, its away from the Sta. Fe port which may possible that Ferries can oil spill around, 2nd the waves here in the side of KOTA Beach are not big compare the beaches along sta. fe port theres a lot of seaweeds and smalls boats....3rd restaurants are near KOTA Beach...trust me we bike around sta fe and those resorts like container van rooms are just plain resort not beachfront alluring....lastly 4th, around Kota beach it gives you both the view of sunrise and sunset...the other side it will just give you the sunrise view!!! m

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malabon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A beachfront resort. We stayed in a nipa-hut room which looks so nice outside but inside, so ordinary. Bathroom doorknob was broken. Airconditioner is fine.

Their food is just okay. The staff is not that friendly and they would not even smile. I would definitely try other resorts when we go back to Cebu.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Room we got was the Amihan. It is a very basic room but very big. It had 2 Queen Sized Beds with a Mattress which felt like it has not been changed for years. The area surrounding the room lacked maintenance. The resort looked like it had seen better days.

The beach front though is a plus, their food here is cheap and delicious.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KingRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were supposed to go to Coron (Busuanga), but the route got cancelled. The airline offered a full refund, then came a new seat sale to Cebu - let's go!
We were looking into the usual Maribago area - quite pricey and we wanted to be at the off-the-beaten path places.
Moalboal was suggested as it was popular among local Cebuanos.
Malapascua was also considered, but we opted for Bantayan Island.
We chose Kota Beach as it was recommended by a friend.
It was great to be on beach front cottages. The resort has a wide shore line with fine white sand.
We got a room with a double plus 1 single bed. We paid P1,700/night.
The food was terrible. It's better to eat at the nearby market where restaurants abound.
The good about Bantayan is it gives you a good feel of nature, afterwhich you can also get the taste of the city of Cebu after.

Room Tip: Get the beach front rooms for easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrip092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny philippines
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in Kota Beach Resort during the holy week and we were very fortunate enough to get rooms despite the peak season. I've been a regular of this resort since the '90s. Coming every now and then. This time, its been awhile since I got back and during this visit I was disappointed to what's happening to the resort. Here are my thoughts.

Pros:
1. Best Beach Front in Banayan
2. Affordable rates and big rooms (but offset by the cons)
3. Walking distance to the restaurants
4. You can have canned goods cooked and the marmalade on the toast tasted really good.

Cons:
1. Cockroaches in the room and outside (really really a deal breaker here. I hope they weren't crawling on our beds)
2. Whenever we used the faucet, it smells like the sewage. We had to use the shower to brush our teeth and all. Smelled awful.
3. The cottages are really old. They look the same as they were in the '90s.

The Cons were really bad that it really offset-ed the Pros of this resort. I hope they can improve their facilities since they really have a good beach front that they can capitalize. Such a waste.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ram_dlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bantayan Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bantayan Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Anika Island Resort
Anika Island Resort
#1 of 10 in Santa Fe
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant ...
#3 of 17 in Bantayan Island
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ritzy Lothar Beach Resort & Hotel, Inc
0.2 mi away
Marlin's Beach Resort
Marlin's Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bantayan Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kota Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kota Beach Resort

Property: Kota Beach Resort
Address: F Roska Street, Sante Fe, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kota Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kota Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kota Beach Hotel Bantayan Island
Kota Beach Resort Bantayan Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing