We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Claremont Hotel Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claremont
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We got caught out by the state election with no accommodation in Hobart and got the last room at the Claremont. Very small for a couple with luggage but the rooms were recently renovated - new ensuite , beds etc
No a/c just a pedestal fan that was stored in the wardrobe.(The front deluxe doubles were more spacious.)
No fly wire on the window so I left it closed rather than risk mossie invasions.
Super friendly staff associated with all areas of the complex. Pub food was good. Full continental breakfast in the dining room was a nice bonus.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Two married couples stayed this Hotel/Motel, 1 Main Road, Claremont TAS (don't trust your GPS/navman/etc to get you there it won't doesn't recognize address) use Map (its on Main Road, Near Cadbury factory road). Had Deluxe Rooms (one with disabled show/toilet) Air Conditioned Great Meals, with many LOCALS Dining at the Hotel. Continental Breakfast supplied/ full b/fast extra but very reasonable priced. Local Shopping Centre about 2 km west of pub.

Room Tip: Standard rooms ok but not sure if air conditioned and are smaller in size however would be adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Rooms way too small, twin rooms should only have one bed in them, other single rooms very dingy and certainly would not pay the extra money for the deluxe rooms that are definately not deluxe by any stretch of the imagination.
Dinner was not too bad, however had to go and ask for sweets after waiting 1/2 hour for them. Breakfast,,, no bread, no knives, no bowls, no fruit, hated having to keep asking for items. The dark haired lady at the bar very reluctant to assist, kept sighing and tutting, her boss needs to tell her to change her attitude. Would not stay again. Lady at reception was just lovely and very helpful.

Room Tip: Dont choose one. However outside area was very nice. Clean and pleasant to be in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I went for dinner last night. The service girl justwalked off as we approached the counter. We waited gave our order - beef schnitzel with pepper sauce and veg. Steak and Kidney pie with veg for me. When meal arrived the potatoes looked and tasted as though they had been in a bain marie for the better part of a week as were the peas and corn. Beef had been deep fried in almost rancid oil and my Steak and kidney should have been Kidney and steak - 2-3 small pieces of steak and about 15 kidneys with short pastry that had not been cooked through (microwave and quick minute under the grill perhaps. For a better meal - buy a $2 pie at the local shop

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I am glad that there are some pubs in Hobart that focus on their food rather than trying to "fancy" the menu up and failing in the process. While the food is simple, the steak, sauce and accompianments are perfect. Thankyou.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank hob_tank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This is a basic 2 star hotel/motel. It is aimed at travelling workmen/tradesmen rather than tourists. It was clean and modern, although it was difficult to get any fresh air in the room without leaving the door wide open. Buffet breakfast is available (in our case included in the room cost). Meals at a reasonable price are available in the bistro. The only advantage this hotel has, is its proximity to the Cadbury Factory if you plan to do the tour (which in itself is a bit disappointing). You can do much better, closer in to Hobart city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank station
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room I was in only cost 50 dollars per night, which was good value during the main school holiday break. The room was comfy and clean. There was a small shopping centre within a 15 minute walk, and the Cadbury Chocolate factory is only a 30 minute walk. You will need to catch a bus into town, which is about a 20-30 minute ride for just under three dollars. Getting to this place from Hobart Airport will probably cost over 50 dollars, but as I had saved beforehand and budgeted properly during my stay, I didn't find this a major inconvenience. The staff were willing to discuss where things were in Hobart and were helpful around the hotel also. The weather in Hobart at that time of year was not exceedingly hot either. There is bathing facilties and fridge and television in each room.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
1.3 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
235 reviews
7.3 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
663 reviews
8.6 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#14 of 47 in Hobart
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riverfront Motel & Villas
3.5 mi away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
131 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Motel

Address: Cornenr Main & Cadbury Road, Claremont, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range: $76 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Claremont Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AHA Tasmania Best Budget Accommodation Award in 2006 and 2007, our standard rooms are AAA rated at 3 stars and Deluxe rooms at 3.5 stars. The Claremont Hotel is a friendly hotel offering traditional facilities and services. Casual Family Bistro open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, comfortable bars, gaming room and bottle shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Claremont Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Motel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing