We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very interesting piece of history”
Review of Trophee d'Auguste

Trophee d'Auguste
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.14*
and up
Full-Day Electric Bike Tour of French Riviera from Nice
More Info
$123.17*
and up
Small-Group Full-Day Tour to Eze, La Turbie, and Monaco from Cannes
More Info
$610.01*
and up
Cannes Shore Excursion: Private Tour of the French Riviera
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in La Turbie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alpes Trophy, the only remaining example of such triumphal architecture, was erected in the 1st century BC to honour Augustus Caesar’s victories against the tribes of the Alpes. This structure has been restored thanks to an American patron and it towers above the old Via Julia Augusta and the whole of the French Riviera from Esterel to the Italian coast. The monument features an exhibition of engravings, plaster cars, models, a video display and panoramic view. Open:> 19th May to 20th September: from 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. and from 2.30 p.m. to 6.30 p.m.> 21st September to 18th May: from 10 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. and from 2.30 p.m. to 5 p.m. Last admission 30 minutes before closing time. Closed:> Mondays.> 1st January, 1st May, 1st November, 11th November and 25th December. Admission fees: Adults : 5,50 €; Concessions (18 to 25) = 4 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
Vence, France
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A very interesting piece of history”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Overlooking Monaco (breathtaking views of Monaco and of the coast off to Italy), the Trophee is a wonderful ruin that had been reassembled through the last century thanks to the passion of a few people. The Trophee in itself is impressive but you can walk around a nice garden plus there's a museum in which you can see some of the original marble stones used in the Trophee and learn everything about its history.
You can climb the Trophee, weather pending, and on my visit there was this amazing guide (Michel) who explained everything he knew about Auguste, the Trophee, mythology, etc... It was an amazing day up there. You should also pay a visit of the village : very quiet and flowery and also very different from its neighbour : Eze that is full of shops!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    71
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not open all hours”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is an amazing attraction with huge historical significance and amazing views over Monaco and monte Carlo.
However you should know that sensible people in hot regions like the south of France take a break during the hottest hours of the day, generally between 12.30 and 14.30, when they eat lunch, sleep or make love to their mistresses.
This means that if it is true that only mad dogs and englishmen go out in the midday sun (true in my case) you may find that this attraction is closed and that you cannot find a reason beyond trip advisor..

Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Trophee is one of those things that take you by surprise. A roman ruin, partly reassembled a century ago, provides a fascinating backdrop to the village of LaTurbie, and is well worth a visit. We paid our admission and were initially the only people in the reserve, a staff member met us halfway up the Trophee and gave us a tour and explanation, and then opened the museum which has various artifacts and a video recreation of the history of the site. While it could be argued more could be done to neaten the site up, the rudimentary set up makes it feel that little bit more unique. The attraction offers great views to MonteCarlo and the ocean below, as well as the town itself.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Roman monument and views!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a little difficulty finding this place as our guidebook referred to it as the Trophee des Alpes but once we found our way we were pleasantly surprised. It is located on quite a large parcel of land, just off the grand corniche, in the small town of Turbie - the views from here were fantastic, especially of Monaco nestled below.
Part of the admission fee included a guided tour and climb up the side of the Trophee d'Auguste (via some stairs) and we learned some very interesting information about this attraction and its surroundings. The views from atop this monument were even more spectacular. There is also a small museum here, explaining the monument in more detail, as well as the process by which it is being restored. A definite worthwhile visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChitchatCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful View on the Grand Corniche!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband studied Latin in high school. He truly enjoyed the Trophy of the Alps! I was interested in the scale model and the movie explaining how it was restored. I could follow the French in the movie. After we watched it, we discovered a rack of equipment which provided simultaneous translations in other languages. EnglIsh for sure, also German, probably Spanish and Italian. You can always call and check. Then there was a tour clImbing up on the restored monument. No railings, so I skipped it, since climbing down would not have been fun! The guide while we were there spoke in English and French. Again, my husband enjoyed it. Either way, the views from this high vantage point were incredible! Before the admission gate there is a lovely plaza we explored while waiting for the monument to open. Even without an interest in Roman history, you can visit the plaza at no charge, unlike the other "view" attractions in the area. Make sure you drive up to Eze and continue on from there. On our first try our GPS took us up a very narrow (two-way!) road which turned out to be closed partway up. Not fun!

Helpful?
Thank travelontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trophee d'Auguste also viewed

La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Trophee d'Auguste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing