We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in La Turbie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A great little restaurant on the terrace in La Turbie above Monaco.
Paso Robles
Level Contributor
159 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stopped at this restaurant after reading about it in Rick Steve's book. Rick was right...the owner is the friendliest restaurant owner we have ever met! He gave us the free wifi code, offered to let us use his phone to make calls (!!), and even took a picture of the two of us without being asked to. Oh, and by the way, the view is stellar and the food excellent!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyPasoRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    59
    17
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hospitality, honest tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I loved the special Easter menu with smoked salmon platter, roast leg of lamb with French flageolets and Provençal zucchini squash. The decadent desert was an assortment of adorable Easter eggs and strawberries with fresh whipped cream. Owners Jacques and Helen were a joy to chat with (in French and in English). Can't wait to return!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Parked in the public parking that is right next to the "La Terrasse" restaurant. As we were walking by we noticed that they had a special of the day. So we decided to stop in. Ask to sit in the back of the restaurant outside because the view there is fantastic. The menu price is in very reasonable and the food was fantastic. Jacques who is the owner speaks several languages and takes great pride to lend you his "satellite phone" at no cost to you so that you can call back to the USA to wake your loved ones to say hello.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I and another couple had gone to La Terrasse for lunch only to be told that the restaurant was expecting a tour busload of hungry travelers at any minute and there was, regretfully, no room in the restaurant for us. The owner, Jacques, was extremely sorry that he couldn't accomodate us but he told us this as nicely as possible. I chatted with him on the way out the door and he asked where we came from. I told him that we lived in Seattle and he said that he liked that area of the US very much. As I turned to leave, he said, "Wait a minute, I will make room for you." And he did. We were seated just as the resaurant was filling up with travelers from the tour bus. Despite now having a table, we were concerned that our service would be eclipsed by the larger group. That thought couldn't have been further from the truth as we were served our wine and food promptly and well in advance of the large group.

Jacques' wife, Helen, served us and took the time to welcome us and tell us a little about the story of how she and Jacques met and wound up in La Turbie, all this despite the fact that the resaurant was packed. The food was remarkable, the service spectacular and Helen and Jacques made us feel very welcome indeed...true French hospitality.

We will definitely return to La Terrasse again. Thanks to Jacques and Helen for making the lunch memorable!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rstevemeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific!! We had wonderful meal in a wonderful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled across the great spot after a day in Monaco. Our table had a beautiful view and the meal was excellent. The owner/chef took a few minutes to visit with us along with some others who were enjoying their meals. La Terrasse is a great location for families or for a romantic night out.

Helpful?
Thank Ccs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing