We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing little Jewel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in La Turbie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A great little restaurant on the terrace in La Turbie above Monaco.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing little Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Well what an amazing restaurant on top over looking the Riveria. Fantastic service and food amazingly good. The steak Tartare was incredible. Enjoyed every second.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    60
    17
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good view and OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a big restaurant next to the school overlooking the Mediterranean. While the view is extraordinary, the food is not quite as amazing as the other restaurants in the immediate area. Service was good and the atmosphere maybe a little bright. The lights from the schools soccer field impede the view a bit at night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Condamine, Monaco
Level Contributor
176 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch there several times. Food is very basic, but of good quality. Always feel welcome even if you do not speak french. Prices are fair and value for money. Will be back again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of our local favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We are regular visitors to Monaco, and we love driving up to La Turbie for the tartare, the beef and lamb dishes, and the salads and pastas. "Très sympa" as the French say. The charming owners and the amazing view don't hurt either. Very well priced, well-prepared traditional fare. We highly recommend La Terrasse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpsgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor reviews we selected La Terrasse for lunch and we’re thrilled by what we found after a two hour drive from our home in Italy. My wife and I find ourselves craving a piece of beef cooked over high heat (brown on the outside and pink on the outside) as opposed to the typical gray boiled meat preferred by the Piemontese. I would have to say our meal was just about perfect.

We both had beef tenderloin, pommes frites, and a green salad along with half a liter of house wine (a nice Merlot by the way) and a large carafe of cold tap water. It was suggested that we try the local water before spending money on bottled water. That was a pleasant surprise and good advice as well.

The menu is quite extensive and reasonably priced but it took only a moment for us to spot the simple piece of beef we were seeking. We asked if they could crumble some Roquefort cheese on top of our salads and we braced for a negative response. “Sure” our waiter replied, “I’ll be glad to”. That made us smile.

The food arrived promptly but the beef was a little under-done for my wife’s taste. Truth be told, we were so excited over finding what appeared to be a great restaurant, we failed to give them any guidance as to how we wanted our beef cooked and it was indeed quite rare. My wife hates to send food back, especially in France, but she decided to ask the waiter to put it back on the grill for another minute. Contrary to what some reviewers have said about the service here, the waiter responded to this request with a smile and he actually seemed happy to provide us with exactly what we wanted. None of that snooty frown or scowling disdain one might expect in Paris. And the chef didn’t show that he was highly offended by burning the filet the second time around. He returned the plate quickly with the beef cooked exactly as she had requested, pink but not purple. This sounds like a small matter, but a rude wait staff can ruin a meal no matter how good the food. In this case, we experienced not just adequate service, but a genuinely warm reception that enhanced a great lunch.

During lunch, we interacted with the owner Jacques as well as three different waiters. They could not have been more friendly and accommodating as we spoke an amusing mixture of Italian, English, and French. Jacques even offered to check our Email and arrange for a free telephone call to the United States; we declined, but if one were traveling this might be a real bonus.

The deserts were nice and to top it all off, the total cost was a real bargain; mission accomplished.

On the way home, we discussed how anyone might write a negative review on this restaurant. I can only guess they must come from a jealous competitor. We have put La Terrasse on our “must visit again” list. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing