We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
89
66
26
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
66
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful place craft shops b bs restaurant pub swazi candles family room nice atmosphere beautiful room cooked breakfast event venue full english return trip next morning clean rooms staff was very friendly grounds swaziland
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 190 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

As a volunteer currently serving in the country, I have had the occasional opportunity to visit the restaurant and enjoy the beautiful atmosphere and food.

When my family planned to visit from America, I immediately thought to book at the B&B and couldn't have been more pleased. Each of the rooms is a unique design and work of art, and the landscaping is gorgeous. The staff are prompt and courteous and were willing and able to accommodate my step-father's gluten intolerance (something that is not well understood and considered many places). The rooms were cleaned and fresh, the pool and garden area are kept immaculate and the adjacent House on Fire provides a convenient look and access to some of the local artistry and craftsmanship.

Further, because the location between Mahlanya and Malkerns, you will be at most a 10 minute drive from Swazi Candles, Mlilwane, The Gables, or Lobamba (other attractions and destinations).

In my stay in this country and have been fortunate to have the opportunity to visit various backpackers, lodges, hostels, and B&Bs. Malandelas is undoubtedly my favorite. If you are considering stayin in Eswatini, you will not regret spending some nights here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Blake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sholto T, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Blake H,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write us this lovely and detailed review.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to have provided your family with a great experience, it brings us great pleasure when hearing from our guests!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Malandela's Guest House. We do hope to have you staying with us in the near future.

Good luck with your service, we wish you all the best!

Kindest regards from the Malandela's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Malandela’s, things didn’t start too well as they had messed up our booking so the family room we had originally booked was occupied and we were given a triple room instead. As we had booked and paid for 4 people, we asked to have the difference refunded but they wouldn’t bulge stating that the charge is per person - even though the room we got was really not comparable to the one we had booked. As we were 4 people in a triple room it basically meant that we were paying 20 eur/day for the breakfast of our 5-year old.
Apart from that, we enjoyed the place: the decor was really special, the grounds and the garden beautifully kept, full of quirly touches and with plenty of space for the kids to run around. Both breakfast and dinner were very good, with a nice atmosphere in the restaurant. It would be good to know in advance when there is something planned at the music venue as we would have loved to see a concert, but neither the website nor the facebook pages are up to date.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank manux77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sholto T, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Dear Manux77

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us.

We appreciate the finer details in this review. Firstly, we would like to apologize for the miscommunication. As your booking came through an online agent, sometimes these bookings are not clear. We have to go on what the agent has booked. Unfortunately we were not aware that your booking was for 4 people.

We are sorry for the initial confusion but are very happy to have made your stay special. Thank you for choosing Malandela's Guest House. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the center and loved the food options available!

With regards to the music venue, recently we had the annual MTN Bushfire festival. After this festival ends, the music venue closes. There are events coming up and would like to offer you free tickets! Please feel free to email us so that we can give you more info on this.

We do hope to see you again.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

A beautiful place with lovely rooms, beautiful gardens and perfect view at the valley. We enjoyed it very much. The Swazi staff was very friendly. The breakfast delicious and the nearby restaurant has good food and a relaxed atmosphere.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmeers965276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwaziTRAV, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear mmeers965276,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It brings us great pleasure when we read reviews such as this one! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to explore the centre and took full advantage of the restaurant.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Malandela's Guest House, we hope to see you again in the near future.\

Kindest regards for the Malandela's Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We were an elderly couple on a nostalgic round trip to Swaziland and South Africa with our 2 sons and their families. Malandela’s B&B was the first out of 9 reservations we made because we have such good memories partly from our permanent stay in Swaziland back in the seventies and partly from later visits to the country.
But we must admit we were a bit disappointed. The gardens are still beautiful and well kept, but the buildings and rooms are now rather run down.
However the breakfasts were still the best. The young waitress was bright and most friendly.
Also the restaurant was a disappointing experience. The staff seemed rather uninterested and not very friendly (the restaurant was very busy, so that is perhaps why). And the excellent food we remembered was rather poor. There definitely must be a new chef who could need better training. Besides it was very cold in the restaurant colder than it ought to be even in winter time.
Malandelas is not up to its former standard

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwaziTRAV, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear SOSSIlkeborg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

Thank you for mentioning our breakfasts, we are glad you enjoyed it!

It brings us concerns us that you feel our standards have dropped. It is quite the opposite as we have upgraded all of our services and room amenities. We recently won Best Guest House in eSwatini in 2017.

We would like to offer you a complimentary dinner at the restaurant upon your next visit and we hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Malandela's Guest House, we wish you safe travels ahead and many more adventures!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We stayed here for a night as a couple plus friend in just one room with bathroom en-suite. The room was large and the 3 single beds very comfortable. Some nice decor touches of local woven baskets and reed ceilings. All very clean and with an effective heater. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable price and was scrumptious! We went for the full-on cooked breakfast, but a couple of other options were available.
The setting is lovely, with lush gardens around the guest accommodation, plus a cosy restaurant and pub with outside seating overlooking pineapple and sugarcane fields. There is an annual music festival here and the various buildings associated with it have strong artistic ties to the Owl House in Nieu Bethesda. Altogether a good experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwaziTRAV, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear Valerie G,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you explored our center! Thank you for mentioning the surrounding and the decor in your room.

We would like to express our gratitude for choosing Malandela's Guest house and are very pleased to have provided you with excellent service and a fantastic experience.

We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you many adventures ahead.

Safe travels further and kind regards,

Malandela's Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews