We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
89
66
26
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
66
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful place craft shops b bs restaurant pub swazi candles family room nice atmosphere beautiful room cooked breakfast event venue full english return trip next morning clean rooms staff was very friendly grounds swaziland
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 190 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We were an elderly couple on a nostalgic round trip to Swaziland and South Africa with our 2 sons and their families. Malandela’s B&B was the first out of 9 reservations we made because we have such good memories partly from our permanent stay in Swaziland back in the seventies and partly from later visits to the country.
But we must admit we were a bit disappointed. The gardens are still beautiful and well kept, but the buildings and rooms are now rather run down.
However the breakfasts were still the best. The young waitress was bright and most friendly.
Also the restaurant was a disappointing experience. The staff seemed rather uninterested and not very friendly (the restaurant was very busy, so that is perhaps why). And the excellent food we remembered was rather poor. There definitely must be a new chef who could need better training. Besides it was very cold in the restaurant colder than it ought to be even in winter time.
Malandelas is not up to its former standard

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwaziTRAV, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear SOSSIlkeborg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

Thank you for mentioning our breakfasts, we are glad you enjoyed it!

It brings us concerns us that you feel our standards have dropped. It is quite the opposite as we have upgraded all of our services and room amenities. We recently won Best Guest House in eSwatini in 2017.

We would like to offer you a complimentary dinner at the restaurant upon your next visit and we hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Malandela's Guest House, we wish you safe travels ahead and many more adventures!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We stayed here for a night as a couple plus friend in just one room with bathroom en-suite. The room was large and the 3 single beds very comfortable. Some nice decor touches of local woven baskets and reed ceilings. All very clean and with an effective heater. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable price and was scrumptious! We went for the full-on cooked breakfast, but a couple of other options were available.
The setting is lovely, with lush gardens around the guest accommodation, plus a cosy restaurant and pub with outside seating overlooking pineapple and sugarcane fields. There is an annual music festival here and the various buildings associated with it have strong artistic ties to the Owl House in Nieu Bethesda. Altogether a good experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwaziTRAV, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear Valerie G,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you explored our center! Thank you for mentioning the surrounding and the decor in your room.

We would like to express our gratitude for choosing Malandela's Guest house and are very pleased to have provided you with excellent service and a fantastic experience.

We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you many adventures ahead.

Safe travels further and kind regards,

Malandela's Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018

It was great staying at Malandela's, each room is unique, clean and comfy. It is right next to an event venue, so some times there's loud music playing over the weekend. we didn't mind that, but may be something to consider for light sleepers. We enjoyed it a lot and will stay there again next time we visit Swaziland.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018

We visited again Malandela's, because of the lovely setting. We enjoyed the garden and the restaurant.
We booked 2 rooms, which my husband and me, were accomodated in the Lime room.
This is a very small room, with a low and very small bed. This has nothing to do with a 4 star accomodation.
Trees Stege

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trees S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwaziTRAV, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear Trees S,

thank you for taking the time to write us this review.

Thank you for mentioning our lovely setting, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the lime room, we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are currently in the process of upgrading this room and hope you return in the near future to see this development.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Malandela's Guest House.

We wish you safe travels further.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

The rooms are really nice and big. It has a nice atmosphere when you walk in and it even smelled like fresh brownies (maybe that was just by chance). Nice location and quiet place! I will say, the wifi isn't the fastest, so if you're coming here to get work done, bring your own hotspot.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travisbluemling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwaziTRAV, Guest Relations Manager at Malandela's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Travis B,

Thank you ever so much for this lovely review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews