We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
109
49
13
3
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
49
13
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwhite lionsteak and kidney pielovely friendly atmospherefabulous eveningsky tvlongleat safari parkpleasant gardenselection of beerssmaller roomevening foodsunday roastvaried menuhomemade breadtea and coffee facilitiescomfortable roomstwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 185 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2010

excellent stay landlord really welcomng,nothing was to much trouble we were staying to go to a wedding nearby beds are so comfortable food excellent all staff friendly and such a beautiful setting wish we had stayed longer and will defintley retuen

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trace4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Great place. Very welcoming, food and drink was excellent. We stayed over to choose a band for our wedding later this year and landed right in the middle of 'Cider Fest'. The people were friendly, the bands were varied and talented. Paul, the landloard was a star who dished up a cracking breakfast on very little sleep.
We will be back later this year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed here for a friends wedding and were thoroughly surprised at how great this little find was. It cost £50 to stay for the night including breakfast. The room we were in was quite small but had everything we needed including an en suite and a very comfortable bed. Homecooked fry up the next morning with friendly service throughout. Would love to go back to try the evening food as it looked a very friendly pub.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We visited Longleat for the day and stayed here for one night. The food, beer and wine in the pub are great. There was a fantastic atmosphere and lovely feel to the place, we only wish that we'd booked to eat in the restaurant... We stayed in the larger room, this is an old building so low ceilings and uneven floorboards with split level from bathroom to bedroom. The only bad thing I could say about this stay was the shower - there isn't one. Apart from that I would recommend to anyone. Breakfast was lovely! Loved this place.

PS. Mind your head on the beams from the bedrooms down to the restaurant!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This is a listed pub with 2 rooms above used for B&B. We stayed in the smaller room, which has an en-suite shower, and although the room is quite small, it's also cosy and has character. The room was cleaned to a very high standard each day (including fresh towels), tea and coffee facilities were provided in the room, and the full english breakfast was really good. It's also worth noting that the road outside the pub was quiet, and noise from the pub itself didn't seem to travel up to the room.

We chose this B&B because of its location (close to Longleat and very close to Stourhead) and because it was better value than most other B&Bs around the area. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend - particularly to people looking for a good value, clean, friendly B&B close to Longleat, and with more character than a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve_and_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews