We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
107
48
13
2
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
48
13
2
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwhite lionsteak and kidney pielovely friendly atmospherefabulous eveningsky tvpleasant gardenselection of beerssmaller roomsunday roastreceived a warm welcomehomemade breadtea and coffee facilitiescomfortable roomstwo night stayfull englishshort break
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 181 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

4 of us had lunch here on a rather hot weekday. As one of our party was wheelchair bound we elected to sit inside and had the restaurant to ourselves. We had starters and mains all of which were well presented, tasty and enjoyable. The service was attentive without being over bearing. My only reservation is that while the garden was busy we were the only occupied table indoors.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank wizard1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We stayed here for just 1 night on a Friday, arrived early and made ourselves known. We had lunch in the pub garden, good food and surroundings, money been spent on it and done well. The room wasn't large, but had everything we needed. The evening meal was just as good as lunch, as was the breakfast. Would certainly stay again, very helpful and friendly staff. Good value for money

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, get in quick
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john476-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017

Had a fantastic Father's day lunch here!! would highly recommend!! Fab setting in a rural village. Cosy, friendly atmosphere. Excellent value for money. Food was just yummy and plenty of it. The best roast i've ever had. Prompt, friendly service and lovely comfy en suite bedrooms

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Maddienightout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

Three mates went for supper and it was brilliant.
The bear was good as well. Two of us steak and kidney pie which was super.
This is my local pub so I use it a lot and we are so lucky to have this facility within a mile of our house.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and it makes no difference which you get.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

Popped in to the White Lion as it is just off the A303.
What a find.
We were travelling on a Sunday and stopped for lunch. As we approached it was clear the pub was busy but we had no need to worry.
Staff were welcoming, as were the other patrons.
I ordered a Guinness as "The Better Half" was driving.
Well I'm no beer aficionado, but I've gotta say many a Dublin pub would struggle to serve a better pint.
We sat in the beer garden and awaited the Sunday Roast we had ordered, again we were not disappointed. Great value and quality.
Will we be stopping again, you bet.
A real gem of a find.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stanley-BFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews