We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, relaxing stay”
other travelers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea F
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed here for a long weekend. The cottage is in the tiny village of France Lynch, but there are two pubs within walking distance ( one allows dogs)

The cottage is quite small but is very cosy, has everything you need and has been presented very well. It was immaculately clean with some really thoughtful touches, like slippers in the bedroom.

There are lovely walks straight from the door step. I would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful and restful location to relax and unwind

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane P
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Charming little cottage with all you could need provided, beautiful bedding and towels, tea/coffee and even complementary biscuits!

stunning surroundings offering walks galore and a quiet little pub 200 yards away.

Perfect for a quiet getaway from it all break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josmyth06
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage!”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at Hope Cottage for a couple of nights in order to do the five valleys walk and it was lovely. Sarah really went the extra mile, dropped off extra kindling for the wood burner. Tea making facilities and even some hobnobs were on hand when we arrived. Sarah also made it clear she would be easy to get hold of and answer any questions and she was. Plus a handy lift to the station. The village is lovely and the pub does great grub with a friendly bunch of staff and locals. Great stay all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel J
1 review
“Cosy and cute in the cotswolds”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Myself and my best friend Sarah was looking for somewhere to stop whilst we visited the horse trials close by. When we turned up we were delighted to find the cottage was more than we could have imagined. It was in a beautiful setting and had such a cosy and cute feel that we wished we'd have had more time there.
It had a local pub perfect for an evening walk to and surrounds villages which ticked all the boxes.
Sarah was so helpful and friendly nothing was a issue. Top marks all round!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentD1...
1 review
“Marvellous”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beautiful cottage,stunning views over the valley..have no hesitation in booking this accommodation although I would advise you take the smallest car you own..the lanes in France lynch are designed for horse and cart

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage for a quiet country escape”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This beautiful cottage is tucked away in the village of France Lynch and is the ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need for a self catering break and has great views over the countryside. Nights by the log burning stove are a real treat, as a drinks at the nearby pubs - only 2 minutes to the closest one. I used the cottage as a base for local walks, and there are plenty of options. Sarah is an excellent host and accommodated my schedule for arrival and departure, and left tea and biscuits for arrival. Thoroughly recommend a trip to Hope Cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, Scenic, beautiful cottage, its the perfect getaway!”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage is beautiful, in a lovely peaceful surrounding yet a reasonable walking distance to the shops and pubs with amazing scenic views. Cottage is well equipped with everything you need to cook up your own feast and plenty of local pubs that surround the area, the Kings Head is just up the road (about a 2 minute walk if that) which is perfect for a nice cosy evening meal and a few drinks! There are plenty of walks and maps that Sarah kindly provides in a very handy information pack, if you get the time I would recommend paying a visit to the Hobbs House Bakery in Nailsworth for an afternoon tea and cake. I couldn't have asked for any more from Sarah great communication throughout and very accommodating with check in & check out times, I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing