We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy cottage in a Cotswold village”
other travelers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
amac55
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage in a Cotswold village”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We took our puppy on his first little holiday to Hope Cottage. Journey from the London area is really easy, and we couldn't believe how beautiful the area around the cottage is. Lots of good walks on the doorstep, and Sarah had left a good information book with more detailed maps etc. Hope Cottage was ideal for us - well appointed but quaint, with a beautiful sitting area upstairs from which to relax and gaze at the scenery. Sarah had left tea, milk and biscuits for us and a dog bowl for Angus!
We eventually got the hang of parking our rather large car - would say the space is better suited to small cars - but this wouldn't put us off going back.
The area is quite dog friendly, we easily found some lovely old inns for us to eat / have coffee etc.
All in all a great break !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming back to the coziness of the cottage after a day out.
Liked least: Nothing - all perfect!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaShar
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned from a short break in this fantastic little cottage and can honestly say it was perfect! The cottage was immaculately clean and had a very homely feel. We were looking for a peaceful, cosy cottage with rustic charm and that is exactly what we got. Would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoucheRo
1 review
“Wonderful get-away”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely quirky cottage, well-equipped and great service - set in a beautiful hillside village with windy narrow streets

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubykush
1 review
“relaxing trip in the UK in a fab cottage”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was spotless and comfortable, the location was perfect with access to great walks and pubs. The locals were friendly. defiantly one of my favorite relaxing destinations. looking forward to visiting again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C
2 reviews
“A delightful and sparkling clean cottage in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was my first experience of a holiday rental and I thought Hope Cottage was just lovely. Set in a quiet lane, with wonderful views and a friendly pub just four minutes walk away, it could not have been better. The cottage has been beautifully converted, was easy to stay in and was well-equipped. During our short stay, I walked in the lanes and fields with my dog and also had time to visit the beautiful Cirencester Cathedral, where even he was made welcome. Happy memories. I look forward to my next visit.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
452Rachel...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awesome little hide out!”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just a cracking little place, in a stunning village. Everything you'd want and more, its total peace and quiet. The cottage has everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay. Sarah your host is fab, and communication is great.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth A
2 reviews
“Perfect location for a quiet weekend break”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fantastic little cottage in a very peaceful village, ideal escape from busy life. Very conveniently located for exploring the Cotswolds. The cottage is warm and welcoming with everything you need available.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing