We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tranquil, peaceful retreat nestled in the...”
other travelers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Haydyn P
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tranquil, peaceful retreat nestled in the country”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fabulous couple of days here for our 5th wedding anniversary. The cottage was charming, immaculate and the views stunning. We thoroughly enjoyed the surrounding area and the out of the way location.

Sarah was easily contactable, and feedback was spot on.

We will be coming back next year, all being well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property
Liked least: no dishwasher
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnblack...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with lovely views”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I came here with my wife for a short honeymoon and it was perfect, the cottage is very tidy, surrounded by country walks and a great local pub at the end of the lane. Sarah was extremely helpful and made sure we had basic provisions for when we arrived and included lots of leaflets and maps for everything you'd want to do in the area. Would highly recommend this cottage for a getaway!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccakins...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival at the cottage we found an information booklet from Sarah which helped us plan out week, and also a welcome pack which was a lovely gesture.

The area was very quiet and relaxing, and we enjoyed visiting the local pub, along with towns and cities nearby as recommended in the booklet.

The cottage itself is delightful and charming, with the penguin books tucked away on the stairs and the loft space above the bedroom.

Thank you Sarah for letting us stay in your lovely cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thescapul...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tiny and quirky - almost perfection”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Loved staying for a couple of nights in this cosy cottage. Generosity is what we experienced about the stay, as it is well-furnished and fully equipped, (lacking only a dishwasher - but how much washing-up are you going to produce?) comfortable bed, efficient heating to take the chill off late summer evenings and mornings, and a little welcome pack that was very thoughtful.
France Lynch is a sweet little village and there are plenty of walks that mean you can leave the car behind (in the very modest parking space).
Lavender Bakehouse in Chalford is unmissable for its sensational cakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historic character; location
Liked least: Awkward kitchen, ground-floor bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy welcoming comfort inside and the view outside.
Liked least: The car parking took some wriggling, but at least it was private and the road was virtually traffic- free.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoeyStaff...
Stafford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage, idyllic location”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Hope Cottage is a delightful, quirky, cosy and very homely quaint cottage. Set in the idyllic village of France Lynch it really is picture postcard English countryside. The cottage itself is tastefully decorated and furnished throughout in keeping with the period of the cottage retaining it's original beams and exposed stonework. My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful two night stay in this delightful cottage particularly enjoying the south facing garden with lovely views of the meadows and surrounding cottages and made the most of the wood burner of an evening as we enjoyed a glass of wine all cosy by the fire. It really is so charming and The Kings Head Pub is literally a two minute walk away which serves real ales and delicious food. The surrounding area is just breath taking and we thoroughly enjoyed the shops and cafes of both Cirencester and Nailseworth which is well worth a visit. The locals very friendly and welcoming. We would highly recommend Hope Cottage as it is a rare gem and Sarah the host is very hospitable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyArm...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spot to relax with friends”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this cosy cottage as a base to visit friends in Tetbury. We were on a budget and were really pleased to have found such a lovely place to stay. Very clean and presentable, mixture of modern amenities with traditional features. Loved the beautiful countryside and quiet neighbourhood, relaxing in the sunny garden with a cup of tea was idyllic (though we did get a little sunburnt so perhaps we should have brought a parasol!) We visited the friendly and welcoming pub at the end of the lane (good food and garden, dog-friendly) and also the Lavender Bakehouse on the main road for tea and cake. Lovely area to explore - we followed the footpaths and found two large parks nearby with play areas. We paddled in the shallow stream in the park by the High Street to cool off before heading back up the hill! (The paths can be steep in some areas so good for the calf muscles!) Owner was very helpful and accommodating, quick to respond to emails etc. Hope Cottage is a great place to just relax and take in your surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cosiness, decor
Liked least: Due to the structure the bathroom has a low ceiling, so taller people have to stoop in the shower a bit.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing