We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting back to nature, in style!”
Review of Cotswold Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chalford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Yurts
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Getting back to nature, in style!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed in Oakridge Yurt in the first week of Sept, in beautiful sunny weather! It was a hugely relaxing stay, private, quiet and rural. It gave me plenty of time to write, or simply just sit on the decking, drinking Stroud brewery ale whilst admiring the sky.

The yurt was clean, comfortable (especially the bed) and the log fire is great and easy to use. I took along extra tea-lights but the solar-lighting is also fine. The facilities are spot on and Blue and her partner have supplied everything that you might need for a comfortable stay.

The Lavender Bake house/cafe is worth a visit nearby, as is the Crown Pub in Frampton Mansell which has the best view in the pub garden and tasty Cotswold Cider.

Room Tip: Oakridge Yurt is the nearest to the farmhouse but still secluded enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 5yr old daughter and I stayed in Lillyhorn yurt for 5 days. It was absolute heaven! Our stay was so relaxing and enjoyable, we didn't want to leave!
It is certainly 'glamping' - we had to bring very little as practically everything (towels, bedding, kitchenware, tea and coffee) was supplied. Every night we lit our log burner so we would be toasty through the night, though I can imagine it would get chilly overnight during the colder months (maybe it was just our poor fire building skills, but ours seemed to go out quite quickly!)
Electricity and wifi is available in the communal barn/kitchen where there are also some nice showers and a loo. The compost loo at our yurt was a bit whiffy, but better than traipsing up to the barn late at night!
Some of the other reviews go in to greater detail so I'll let you read them, but book a stay here - you will not be disappointed! We only wish we had booked a longer stay...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sashapet_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family have stayed at Lillyhorn Yurt, during our summer break, for the last five years. We are complete evangelists of the yurting experience, in general, and Westley Farm, in particular. We would not hesitate to recommend a week or more in the woods at this beautiful place - and often do. We will return - again and again.

Room Tip: Every room has a woodland and sky view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent two nights staying at Westley Farm in 'Lilyhorn' Yurt, it was wonderful. My partner and I are relaxed completely- beautiful scenery and being at one and so close to nature was heaven.
We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate in returning. Awesome....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 5 wonderful days in Sapperton Yurt for our honeymoon. This place is a little piece of heaven on earth! We loved everything about this place - in partcular the totally secluded surroundings, the feeling of being completely immersed in nature but still having the luxury of the yurt with its beautiful inside - fairyights, candles etc. My husband enjoyed cooking in the outside kitchen and eating on the decking. It was perfect! The bath in the converted horse box was just so wonderful, being able to look out onto the woodland is just spectacular. Other gorgeous touches included Neals Yard shower stuff & hand wash. Lovely.
All in all an incredible place - cannot recommend Sapperton Yurt more highly!!!
Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveGreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Sapperton Yurt at Westley Farm and I can think of absolutely no improvements that could be made (it's not often you can say that). The yurt is so well equipped, super comfy and get that wood burner going and it's as warm as toast! The bath in the horsebox is fantastic. The water is piping, so a semi open air bath is just wonderful.
There's power in the yurt, so you can even charge your phone (so that you can make friends jealous with your facebook photos!)

The countryside is terrific and we enjoyed some circular walks. One walk that is a must is the the Crown Inn at Frampton Mansell. It's an easy walk and the food is great.

I will most certainly return and only wish it was next weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishFish26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were looking for a holiday that would take us back to basics and would provide us the opportunity for self sufficiency - to break the mould of city living - and at the same time be able to protect our seclusion for our anniversary. This was THE place for it.

We were greeted by Graham on the Monday at 4pm where he made us tea and offered us lemon drizzle cake! He then walked us to the yurt with out bags in a wheelbarrow but instantly my eye caught the landscape! You can see past rolling valleys for miles and the skyline (esp. at sunset) is unreal!

He shows you about the yurt in a sensible and relaxed manner so you feel completely as ease bothering him with all sorts of silly naive questions and they stock the yurts up well so there's no rush to go out and get wood before the night falls in. Though I would recommend taking a lunch box with you (I forgot this) if you dont want to use the picnic hamper that is supplied (at Sapperton at least).

There's plenty of walks available through the nearby fields to get to pubs and locals. We must have done 6-8 miles daily easily. There is exceptional food at The Ragged Cot nr Minchinhampton and The Crown at Frampton Mansell. The Lavender bakehouse back up London Rd for breakfasts and lunches and The green shop up Calf way (looks like a petrol station at first) will sort you out for toiletries and everything domestic. Diesel prices here were cheaper than in Liverpool! There are two ways to get onto Westley drive.. There's a sharp drop or a long layby (with a roundabout in between). I would choose the layby to get out of westley every time because you will struggle to see or make a getaway without getting your nose or bum chopped off by a lorry!

Most roadsides don't have safe walking paths so you are verge hopping. You are safer driving but if you insist on the walks then bare this in mind. The verges are thin, nobbly and overgrown and although the traffic is mindful it's not to be taken for granted. There are alot of honesty systems to be found down this way with unmanned egg sales at driveway entries and such!! So carry change on you where possible and a little bag!

In 5 days we visited Cirencester, Cerney house gardens, Stroud, Gloucester, Minchinhampton, Chalford, Frampton Mansell, The Lavender BH, The Crown, The Ragged Cot, The Red Lion (in Chalford), Stone Henge & barrows, Wood henge and Butts farm, Lechlade and enjoyed the festival here before going home. Nearly every person we bumped into was open for a curious friendly chat, be it volunteer gardener, horserider, barmaid or neighbour whilst remaining respectful of privacy. A relief from the beehive atmosphere of city life anyway.

The yurts keep the wind and rain away but even at the end of May the nights and mornings have quite a nip so use the blankets and robes they provide to get about and get that fire started early in the evening! I would also recommend filling the water jug with warm water from the kitchen before you use the compost loo as this helps for people with raynauds like me to keep your fingers from going blue :P

I feel at this point I should mention the bed. THE BED. It nearly ruined our mornings every day because we COULD not get out of it. Double mattress, luxury douvet, two duck down pillows each, a runner, blankets left right and centre.. The freshest and softest and warmest bed I've stayed in. I suffer from shoulder pain normally which is worse in the mornings but during my stay here the ache dissappeared! I blame the bed.

At sapperton we had 2 gas stoves in the outdoor range. Which is good for boiling and frying. The fire pit a few paces to the right was great for roasting. I made a sweet potato and rhubarb with quinoa salad using the fire pit, a rhubarb and ginger wine chocolate crumble in the communal kitchen and the partner made a courgette and prosecco risotto on the gas hobs.

Will be going back if we end up down this way again!

Room Tip: Sapperton is expensive but the added extras and the seclusion make it completely worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalford
21.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
3.6 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Amberley Inn
The Amberley Inn
#1 of 2 in Amberley
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 1 in Frampton Mansell
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Yurts

Property: Cotswold Yurts
Address: Cowcombe Hill | Chalford, Chalford, Stroud GL53OA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Chalford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chalford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge & Sapperton yurts available for holidays in your very own garden or special place. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing