We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to relax and recharge your batteries”
Review of Cotswold Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chalford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Yurts
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at Westley Farm in Sapperton Yurt for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend to celebrate our 2 year anniversary.
Despite the typical English weather we had an amazing time in this special space.
The highlight was definitely the outdoor bath inside an old horse box, which came complete with fairy lights, bubble bath and candles and overs the woods. I believe that Sapperton Yurt is the only one with a bath so it’s worth paying the extra to stay there.
We visited the farmers market in Stroud on the Saturday morning to pick up fresh produce to cook in our outdoor kitchen and for breakfast on the Sunday.
Within walking distance is a lovely pub (The Crown at Frampton Mansell) where we found the beer, food and staff to be excellent. We also walked a bit further on the Friday night (3 miles) to the Bell at Sapperton which was also brilliant.
We felt a million miles away from London and left feeling incredibly relaxed.
If you’re a light sleeper do take some ear plugs as the owls and dawn chorus are quite loud!

Room Tip: Choose Sapperton Yurt for the amazing bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVT1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 50 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Despite the damp british summer, our stay at westley farm couldn't have been more relaxing. A break in the weather enabled us to cook on the open fire on our first evening and the hot embers were then taken inside as we sat in front of the wood burner. Saturday was filled visiting the market where we bought all local organic produce for the evening. A bath in the converted horsebox, looking out into the woods was magic and my chosen location to propose to my now fiancee. A lazing Sunday morning was followed by an afternoon of horseriding then our second and final open fire supper before retiring back in front of the indoor wood burner. The worst part of the weekend was having to leave. A huge thankyou to Graham and Blue for being the most welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in Oakridge Yurt from Friday afternoon until Monday morning. There were three of us, which is what the Oakridge is designed for and there was plenty of room. The site is stunning and the yurts are spread about so are totally isolated and private. It was lovely to sit on the decking outside in the evening sunshine and feel completely relaxed. The beds are very comfortable and there are plenty of extra blankets if it gets chilly. We finally managed to get the log burning stove going which made things very cosy indeed as we had mixed weather. We all agreed that we would definitly go back again but would take a fully sized cafetiere, teapot and kettle as the ones supplied only make one cup at a time. The compost toilet for Oakridge is a bit of a challenge to get to, being down a slope, but using it is fine and the view through the window if wonderful.
Important to know that you can only pay the balance by cash. They do not have the facilities to pay by card. The nearest ATM is Stroud or thereabouts so make sure you have the cash ready prior to leaving the site.
We would definitely go again and would recommend this site.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsquirrelBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We've just got back from a positively fantastic long weekend at Westley Farm.

If you want peace and quiet, time to think and oodles of time to kick back and relax then this is the place for you ! Greeted with a cup of tea and a slice of homemade cake we knew the experience was going to be top class.

The Yurts are privately positioned in a small wood & have beautiful interiors, with a big comfy bed and plenty of bedding incase there's a nip in the air. Theres a wood burner too to crank up on a particularly cold evening or just to give that little romantic touch...Fairy lights adorn the kitchen area and inside of the Yurt too for that extra special touch.

You have your own small kitchen outside on a decked area too, so you can easily make a cuppa, or cook breakfast. Tea towels, wash pads, washing up liquid and handwash were all provided.

Next to the Yurt is an outside fire area that can also be used for cooking on - and just up some steps was our very own compost loo - not in the least bit smelly by the way - with a lovely bowl, handwash & jug of water for your hands.

A short walk away is the communal kitchen where you can enjoy a hot shower and borrow ice packs to chill that Champagne you're yearning to pop !
I've been to many Yurts and teepee sites over the years and I have to say this is one of the best so far.

If you want to leave the rat race behind for a few days then this really is for you - it'll be an experience that will live with you forever,
Thanks to Blue and her lovely fella for their vision in creating this haven for all to share. We'll be back !!!

Room Tip: All the yurts are very private and secluded so choose any for a peaceful break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenbrown911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at Westley last year, and it was our first time in a yurt. We were amazed at how big they are inside, and how cosy they get with the wood stove on. These yurts have decking outside with a decently equipped kitchen, and there are hot showers and a large kitchen which you can use back at the farmhouse. You also have an area for a campfire, and stuff that you need to cook on this.
The bed as comfy and there was lots of bedding and warm blankets available. There are 4 or 5 yurts, but each one is in its own glade, and so they are really private! We stayed in Lillyhorn, which was lovely, and really good value.
Blue was really helpful taking our things to the yurt and also in finding us biking routes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliebabs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at Westley last year, and it was our first time in a yurt. We were amazed at how big they are inside, and how cosy they get with the wood stove on. These yurts have decking outside with a decently equipped kitchen, and there are hot showers and a large kitchen which you can use back at the farmhouse. You also have an area for a campfire, and stuff that you need to cook on this.
The bed as comfy and there was lots of bedding and warm blankets available. There are 4 or 5 yurts, but each one is in its own glade, and so they are really private! We stayed in Lillyhorn, which was lovely, and really good value.

Room Tip: Sapperton Yurt has a bath-tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliebabs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Lillyhorn Yurt this Summer and it was amazing! Such a beautiful place, very quiet with lots of wildlife. We cooked on an open fire or on the gas rings in the outdoor kitchen, which was kitted out with everything you need. The yurt itself was beautifully decorated with lots of rugs and blankets to make it feel cozy, and we soon got the hang of the wood burning stove for the evenings! We cooked on the outdoor fire one night and sat out with blankets stargazing. We also went for walks, chopped wood, picked apples and stroked the donkeys nearby! The compost toilet was the nicest one I have ever used, with solar lights to guide you at night and has a lovely jug and bowl to wash your hands. I would recommend this to anyone, it didnt even feel like camping! Amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sally_B277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cotswold Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Yurts

Address: Cowcombe Hill | Chalford, Chalford, Stroud GL53 OAX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Chalford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chalford
Price Range: $84 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge & Sapperton yurts available for holidays in your very own garden or special place. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing