We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$59
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bazna(Medias)
$40
$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sighisoara(Sighisoara)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Savri(Sighisoara)
$170
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$53
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Imperial Inn(Tirgu Mures)
$80
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
246
23
13
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
23
13
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalea verdepiece of heavengreen hillsbeautiful countrysidegourmet experiencehis wifesaxon villagetrufflefabulous foodteam buildingsmall villagemagical placequiet placecentral heatingrelaxing stayhighly recommend this placewine tasting
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 297 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2016

I went here with high expectations, as they promote themselves as a very special location, with refurbished traditional farmhouses. It seemed like the right place for a long weekend escape.
My expectations from any accommodation is to be clean, well, this was so not case! I have added some (horrific) photos! While I can understand the concept of refurbished house, it is, under no circumstances, acceptable to have piles and piles of dust under the bed. It was disgusting! The bathroom smelled horrible from the second we arrived until we left because the draining system is probably poorly done. The shower curtain had mold on it.
They take great pride in their dishes. They are good, but not quite excellent! And, it is relevant to mention that they only serve dinner with multiple courses. Breakfast is pretty common and the lunch was something so poor! They only served one entrée, which consistent of 2 slices of prosciutto or something simillar, 2 slices of zucchini, 2 of eggplants, a couple of carrots and, as main course, risotto with ramsons (leurda or Allium ursinum). I have added a picture of that no-so-yummy dish. While I can understand that they want to have dinner as a highlight, they could at least serve something tastier for their ‘light lunch’.
In terms of wine, they have a selection of medium wines, not ‘exquisite’ how they put it on their website. It is correct that they charge you for a glass of wine the same amount as for the entire bottle of the exact same wine (if you buy it online (40 lei)); which I believe is over the top. Maybe if you don’t know so much about wines, you could believe, judging only by the price, that it is something outstanding…
The only advantage is that the scenery is great and it is peace and quiet, however, I might find these in an endless number of locations in Romania.

Stayed: April 2016
4  Thank Evelina_Rom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

We were a group of 9, spreading 3 generations and nationalities , kids from 3 to 11 years old ... And we all had fun.

Highs:
-large grounds , spacious accommodation ( house Ressendorf with huge garden), well equipped for self catering (we did our own Orthodox Easter midnight spread); nice living room for chilling during the rain;
- wine tasting menu was amazing each time ( we met the wine expert too on our stay)
- some truly well thought out menus ( think gourmet, small portions means you can sample 5 dishes without getting stuffed);
- fresh rolls ( served hot) with each meal , good nespresso coffee ;
- evening bonfire with great wine and cheese served ;
- NATURE - take a bike and go out there ... It is magnificent and unspoiled.

Lows - not many but if I had to nitpick:
- food - we liked some dishes more than others ( small kids ended up having pasta pretty much non stop but this is also our fault);

Take heavy duty clothes and shoes - the dress code is FARM - this is not Sibiu !!! Go out there and enjoy the muck

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank shueaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016

We stayed at Kartmann house for 3 days, not the best accomodation conditions but the view and the food make up for that. Great menu at the restaurant (fixed menu not much to choose from). Recommended for family time, away from the hectic city (no phone coverage). Tips on making your stay better :

- bring your own supplies such as water, tissue paper and other drinks ( there is only a small shop which does not have anything useful);

- bring lots of clothes if visiting during rainy days because there is a LOT of mud and grass;

- ask for a cart and horses ride and relax by the pond;

- leave your criticism and worries at home and enjoy your retreat in the romanian countryside !

Room Tip: Ask where your room is located, they have locations throughout the village.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

This is the second time we go there on a gastronomic trip and we wanted to share the experience and recommend the place. We know that for many the short 3 or 5-course menu does not sound very appealing but if you are interested in fine dining and a fabulous nature retreat, this spot is just amazing. The food is balanced in everything and the location enhances each culinare choice. There are games which you may play outside or take a walk around the place. Our 1.6-year old was delighted to explore every corner outside. You should book your table in advance, it's safer. We warmly recommend it for an exquiste while very back-to-nature escape!

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank silviacobusneanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Had the huge pleasure to be guest of the Valea Verde. It was one of the best experiences of this period! We were very lucky also because we had the best weather possible. We drove between these nice little villages on the beautiful countryside, and then when when you think you reached the end of the world, you find yourself in heaven :) The resort is placed between beautiful green hills, where you can feel the call of the healthy and ...i would say happy nature :)
The hopsitality is also remarkable and so are the guest houses too! In the rustic countryside you will have all the comfort that you could possibly imagine! :)
I could write pages and pages about this experience but better you try it for yourself. I really think that you just cannot go wrong with this choice! ;) (and I didnt tell anything yet about the superb kitchen and the incredible wines that they have!! :) ... )
Thanks dear Jonas and Ulrike for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Every room is special, so you will enjoy for sure :)
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zagonielod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews