We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Hotel in a Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Chiang Dao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salviac, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet Hotel in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here in December on our cycle tour of Northern Thailand. It is an easy ride outside of Chiang Dao and convenient to visit the area by bicycle. The resort is on beautiful grounds and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We accepted the lowest price room during our emails because of a 2 night stay during the holiday weekend. When we arrived, we found we had to walk through the workers' quarters to get to the room. It just wasn't what we expected. The manager heard the disappointment in our voices and offered us a better room which we gladly accepted. The room change made all the difference in our stay. The restaurant is very good. The manager and staff are available throughout the day to help clients and offer to do so. The manager advised us on tourist sights, where to stop for coffee, cycling routes, and dinner. We were very pleased with our stay and recommend Marisa Resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    40
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
75
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We drove pass chiang dao and decided to stay over there. After some checking around the area for the place. We were unintentionally found this resort. The location is a bit far from the main road and we didnt sure whether we could find any place to stay at first (the sign is very small and doesnt match the size and quality of the place).

We finally reached there though. And the receptionist doing the best job to welcome us and offer the very good room with reasonable price. And we love it! We got the room next to the pond and we can here the sound of river all night. The surrounding area is also very well built up. Right into the nature of chiang dao. Very impress.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RayGcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here while touring the area. It is a lovely place. The rooms are mainly in separate villas, ours was over a bridge with a terrace which jutted out over the lakes. It was very quiet, we were the only guests, but still offered us the full menu. Big excitement when giant salamanda was on our terrace and had to chased off by gaurds. Both had a Thai massage, and it was excellent. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Behind the pool on the island
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarisaResort, Manager at Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear VJCS,

Thank you for staying with us and your review in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear, that you had a good time and an excellent Thai massage at our resort. We all are looking forward to welcome you both again in the near future.

Best regards,

Anthony Dijkman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed a night here en route to Fang from Pai. The hotel is located off the northbound highway 107 amidst lush greeneries. There is nothing much to do, nothing to shop, see or do, except paying a visit to the spa, which is within walking distance from the baan (hotel). The massage isn't that great but the hospitality of the staff is to be commended. To dine, you hav to walk to the main restaurant which is constructed like a big wooden tent on stilts that has a stage and band instruments.
It was raining hard the night during my stay and while opening the rear door to have a glimpse at the pouring rain, I spotted fire flies right outside the door - a rare glimpse for anyone from urban cities.
If you drive here, be sure to top up your tank at Chiang Dao, located about 5 km south before you reach the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biker863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Biker863,

Thank you for staying at our resort and review in Tripadvisor. As mentioned in our website, we are located in a 80 000 m2 park/valley area with only a few bungalows/houses/villa' s and as a result it's quiet at the resort. We prefer the nature and therefore you even spotted fireflies just in front of your room.
We also want to thank you for your compliments of our staff. I will inform them accordingly.
It was our pleasure having you at our resort and hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future.

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

An usual resort of large villas and small cabins scattered over a wide area in a semi jungle setting. . We went just out of season and we were the only ones there but the restaurant still served a full a la carte menus of great food - the spicy fruit salad for an appetizer should come with a health warning - not for the faint hearted, it was superb as was the rest of the food. The cabin was spacious and comfortable but no air con only a fan, but that did not matter It had a good sized balcony although the ballustrade could have been better secured - great view over the jungle. We had a car and it was useful to get from the restaurant to our cabin as it was about 500 metres and no street lights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarisaResort, Manager at Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Ashley,

Thank you for your nice review and that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant very much. I will inform the cook and staff accordingly.Indeed our resort is located in a park/valley of 80 000 m2, so it is quite large area. I hope you also enjoyed the sky at night seeing the stars, as Chiang Dao means City of Stars. Once again thank you for your review and your stay with us and hopefully we can welcome all four of you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My and my girlfriend came to this resort just a couple days ago and loved it!!!! The entire place was fresh and relaxing! We stayed in the Baan Bennida, which is a smaller room, but everything about the place just what we needed to escape the brutal big city lifestyle! The entire place was made of wood, which was very welcoming because it gave us a sense of difference. The weather was beautiful and everyone there was very helpful and friendly! Every cabin was in its own secluded area which was great because it felt like we were alone. This is definitely a place I would recommend to anyone and they can be sure that I will keep coming back! Thanks Marisa for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarisaResort, Manager at Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Jeffrey,

Thank you very much for your review. You have expressed it perfectly. To escape the brutal big city lifestyle. That is exactly our goal. Our guest should enjoy the real Thai country life. Peacefull and relaxing at our resort. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rørvik, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My girlfriend and me stayed in resort for 2 nights
We are very satiesfied with the stay
We stayed in Doi Luang, a cabin with plenty space and huge balcony
Staff are very helpful and serviceminded.
Breakfast is good

If you want to stay countryside, this is a perfect place.
We had our own car to go sightseeing with friends, so we recommand to have your own car or rental car, thats easier

Best regards Sukanda and Michael

Room Tip: Try Doi Luang :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael Hartvik k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarisaResort, Manager at Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Michael Hartvik,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you at our resort and we are looking forward to welcome you both again in the near future.

Best regards,

Anthony Dijkman
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Dao
7.0 mi away
Huan Chiang Dao Resort
Huan Chiang Dao Resort
#2 of 15 in Chiang Dao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chiang Dao Hut
Chiang Dao Hut
#5 of 15 in Chiang Dao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phumanee Home Hotel
Phumanee Home Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fang City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Azalea Village Wellness Resort
4.8 mi away
Chiang Dao Roundhouses B&B
Chiang Dao Roundhouses B&B
#3 of 15 in Chiang Dao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
4.3 mi away
Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 304 Moo 4 Ban Mae Khon | Muang-Ngai Subdistrict, Chiang Dao 50170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Dao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Dao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort has 39 Rooms. From standard to deluxe rooms and/or whole villas. Located 7 km north of Chiang Dao (the City of Stars) and only one hour drive from Chiang Mai City at route 107. Set in a lush tropical environment, where the river flows by and surrounded by beautiful mountains, with excellent quality service, that makes Marisa Resort & Spa a world of relaxation and well-being. Rooms decorated in luxury wooden interior design with Northern Thai atmosphere. Most rooms are air-conditioned.Enjoy the great view of Doi Luang Chiang Dao. Relax at the swimming pool, having a massage at our Spa or discover the unspoiled area by bicycle. The famous Chiang Dao Caves and Cave Temple are nearby. In the evening your hunger can be stopped with a typical Thai dinner at Marisa's Restaurant and when walking back to your room have a look up to the sky and you will understand why Chiang Dao means City of Stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marisa Boutique Hotel
Marisa Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing