We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it here!”
Review of Chiang Dao Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Dao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chiang Dao Nest
Ranked #1 of 14 Chiang Dao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taurnaga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We loved it here!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The nest was set in a stunning location with majestic mountain peaks in the background. Cool, peaceful, environmentally aware, and so relaxing. Nest 1 served lovely food, but we preferred to dine at nest 2, where the menu was Thai and a little easier on the budget for a family of five.Service at both was very friendly and helpful. This is a great spot for a family as the children have lots of space to explore and play. Our bungalow was spacious, comfortable and clean. The location was a short walk from the most beautiful monastery, and we followed a rather adventurous bush walk to the Chiang Dao cave. It was lovely to escape the crowds of Chiang Mai and enjoy the peace and beauty of the mountains. We had two nights here, but wished we'd have booked three and done another trek in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    114
    27
    14
    21
See reviews for
89
241
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The nest was amazing! Extremely friendly and helpful staff (who also spoke VERY good english), who greeted us immediately and helped with everything from our luggage to showing us a map with all the hot spots in twon were. Had a nice pool (very cold, but god for the heat!) a ping pong table, plenty of places to lounge about the property, and an amazing restaurant. I left my passport by accident forgetting to pick it back up as a deposit for the motor bike rental, and they brought it to me the next day all the way to chiang mai. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is headed to the area. Bath rooms were clean and the showers wicked hot.

Room Tip: I would book in advance as they are very popular, but in no way did i ever feel crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mads G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Chiang Dao Nest was our 2 pit stop on our self drive tour of northern italy. Timing was off and we arrived late in the evening, in august (so off season and raining9 - it was pretty difficult to find to advise getting there while you have daylight.
Just what we wanted, nothing too modern, a getaway from the modern comodities.. immersed in nature.. relaxing atmosphere. Room was a lovely quaint hut at the end of a pebbled track in the middle of the wild.. i loved the use of natural materials. I chose CDN 2 over 1 as it is where the 'renowned international restaurant' is found. The food in fact was great..highly recommended. the atmosphere in the restaurant with all the patio's doors around open, the sounds of nature by night (not actually that quiet.. alot of stuff going on out there!!) Chiang Dao is based in the mountains at about 700m so there is more nature than humans. there is a lovely area for relaxing which has foutons and cushions and it just makes you want to chill after dinner. Very cosy and comfy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricriMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Great service and value. Bungalows are modest but have everything you need. Food is delicious and the staff at Nest 1 very warm and hospitable. You can walk to Nest 2 for good Thai food but Nest 1 is where you want to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi-ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnt Green, Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped at both chiang dao nest 1 and 2, both had their appeal. Chiang dao nest 2 is the quieter of the two, thai meal in the evening is excellent as was the breakfast. Only one person spoke English but was ok. Accommodation is rustic, don't expect immaculate as you are in a wooded area so occasional ant or two will share your accommodation and did sometimes smell musty but saying all that felt it was a great experience so much so we returned for another night this time at chaing dao nest 1 which we preferred as had more going on. The staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. The western food was excellent and reasonable prices. The accommodation here was more rustic ants again, but only 895 baht for two of us with private bathroom so can't complain. A great location, staff and food .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harley573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to Chiang Dao Nest for an overnight visit. We stayed in a lovely 2 bedroom cabin with comfortable beds. The scenery from the window was breathtaking. Our dinner was a barbecue--everything was delicious, especially the grilled vegetables and shrimp. Breakfast was outstanding--terrific apple and banana crepe! The 550 step walk to the Buddhist Temple was exhilirating--the buddhist affirmations along the walk were very meaningful to my family.

Room Tip: The cabins at Chiang Dao Nest 2 were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metoo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Food was superb. Definitely going again next time in Thailand
Will stay as well as northern Thailand is beautiful and the people are lovely
We will try the full restaurant menu next time
As we had set menu with a tour through Chiang Dao nest 1 which was wonderful. Our tour guide was great and he was the same person both tours so you knew him

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheleaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Dao hotels
3.5 mi away
Rim Doi Resort
Rim Doi Resort
#1 of 2 in Chiang Dao
22 reviews
4.7 mi away
Huan Chiang Dao Resort
Huan Chiang Dao Resort
#2 of 14 in Chiang Dao
102 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa
Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa
#4 of 14 in Chiang Dao
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chiang Dao Hut
Chiang Dao Hut
#5 of 14 in Chiang Dao
61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chiang Dao Roundhouses B&B
Chiang Dao Roundhouses B&B
#3 of 14 in Chiang Dao
43 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azalea Village Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Dao Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Dao Nest

Property: Chiang Dao Nest
Address: 144 / 4 M.5, Ban Tham, Chiang Dao 50170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Dao
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Dao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiang Dao Nest 1 & 2 are situated about 90 min north of Chiang Mai near the famous Chiang Dao Cave. Chiang Dao Nest offers simple but clean and comfortable accommodation, designed to detract as little as possible from the natural, mountainous beauty surrounding it. Chiang Dao is an area that offers many of Northern Thailand's highlights to visitors, not least of which can be found at the award winning restaurants at Chiang Dao Nest 1 & 2. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chiang Dao Nest Hotel Chiang Dao
Chiang Dao Nest Mai
Chiang Dao Nest Hotel Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing