We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Famui
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rim Doi Resort(Chiang Dao)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
18
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal marketchiang maitranquilityhostsescapethailand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 22 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and baby and I stayed for two nights at Baan Famui after spending two weeks in Chiang Mai. What a difference! We felt immediately the peace and tranquillity of the place (and had two solid nights of sleep). What really made our stay special was Damien and his family, who were very friendly and welcoming. We were lucky enough to be there on a Friday, so Damien took us to a local market that we would have never found otherwise. The landscaping and food are also excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at Baan Famui and wish our stay had been longer. After more then 2 weeks of over stimulation visiting cultural and urban centers in Thailand it was time to relax in the country. Reaching Baan Famui from Chiang Mai was easy: local buses to Chiang Dao leave every half hour from the bus station and Baan Famui's French owner Damien picked us up and drove us to the Nawai village where the inn is located.

The inn is fairly new and accommodations are in 4 separate bungalows which are spacious and beautiful. These were probably the best accommodations we had in Thailand if the natural setting is also considered. Damien's wife is a great cook and talented gardener. One can enjoy her delicious meals while surrounded by exotic plants and flowers in the octagonal open restaurant . We ate here every night as there did not seem to be many options in the village and we did not really feel like moving. Damien was a great resource for helping us understand the contemporary Thai culture.

This was without a doubt the least touristic part of our trip and for that reason one of our most favorites. We are both landscape painters and spent 2 days sketching in the rice paddies in splendid isolation. The only regret was that we had only drawing materials and no paint. The fantasy of returning is definitely there.

Non artists would still appreciate walking around the village and surrounding area. The locals are not jaded (yet?) by tourism and are welcoming.

Baan Famui is a perfect place for those seeking to rest and re-charge, experience the northern Thai landscape and just be lazy for a while. It was great!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We took a bus from chiang may to chiang dao. A bit stranded, some international guys known Damien, the owner of the hotel. Normally he was going to pick us up, because the hotel is 20km away. The guys drove us their and we had a beer together. Damien helped us out, showed us the way to the national park.... His wife cooked for us..... What a nice way to have a vacation. We booked a day extra, because it is so beautiful their and the hospitality is a 10/10

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pvandessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a find -- charming bungalows with huge beds, lovely bathrooms, a balcony to survey the rice fields in the valley. You have to climb stairs to your bungalow but the shy houseboy will schlep everything up and down with a dazzling smile. The bungalows are built far enough apart that there is real privacy.

We appreciated the warmth and personal attention from owners Damien and Mui. They knew when to give us space, but seemed to always be around when we needed advice or a cold beer. With ex-chef Mui in the kitchen, you can choose authentic Thai cuisine or basic western favourites. There views from the restaurant are fantastic, so make sure to enjoy a couple of beers or wine while Mui whips up your food.

Damien recommended a Yunnanese eatery in Arunothai, a little town 10km away. OMG the gyoza were the best we have ever eaten (and we know our dumplings, having lived in China and eaten our way from north to south) we recommend the 'khao soy' (northern thai crispy noodles in curry sauce) to go with the gyoza. Everything else was excellent though, the cabbage wonton soup, rice noodle soup etc. The Tayong Noodle House is opposite the big "So Good" supermarket which has lots of parking space, a Siam Commercial ATM, and well-stocked with everything you might need. So its also an idea to pop in for groceries.

Tip: the Friday morning market in Arunothai is colourful and interesting, with tribal people selling their wares or coming down to shop. Unlike the Shan village where Baan Famui is, the people in Arunothai speak Mandarin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights from February 6th 2013. Leaving Doi Ang Khang for Chiang Dao, I thought that Baan Famui would be close to the national park at Chiang Dao but was surprised to find that it was a long way from the entrance. My fault entirely. I should have paid more attention to the detail. Baan Famui is about 20km from the town of Chiang Dao and 30km from the national park. So early morning walks aren't realistic unless you get up early and miss breakfast. We didn't do either.

Baan Famui is named after the owner 'Famui'. Her and her partner have built a house and four brand new chalets on a hillside in Muang Na, each with a nice view over the countryside. It is a nice, quiet rural area but a long way from anywhere. If you are coming from Doi Ang Khang, it would be a nice place to stop if you were intending to carry on to Chiang Mai. Each chalet has a main bedroom, a toilet and a modern bathroom area with double sinks, and a shower with the choice of two shower heads. The beds are big, soft double beds and the room has a décor of red and cream, very pleasing on the eye. I had asked for a low pillow and the ones provided were fine.The open bathroom area was modern and clean. There was a flat screen TV that took some working out but did have English speaking movie channels. Outside the sliding door was a patio are with chairs and a table, then steps down to the breakfast area and further steps down to the small car park. I didn't see wheelchair access but I didn't particularly look for it either.

The owner spoke good English and during the three days that we stayed, cooked a nice egg and bacon ham breakfast and there was a toaster and tea and coffee. Breakfast was served around 7am. That meant that by the time you finished it and had driven to the national park at Chiang Dao, it was 8.15hrs....so quite late for birding. However, if you just want a nice place to stay, then Baan Famui is fine. As is common in northern Thailand, there was no room safe and the wardrobes had no shelves. More of a problem was the lack of air conditioning. The electricity supply wasn't adequate to run anything other than fans. We managed, but it wasn't ideal. The fans were quiet enough anyway.We chose to eat in Chiang Dao but Famui was willing to cook an evening meal had we required it.

As a place to stay it's fine, if a little out of the way.

Room Tip: All the chalets are the same.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews