We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice but remote”
Review of Baan Famui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Famui
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights from February 6th 2013. Leaving Doi Ang Khang for Chiang Dao, I thought that Baan Famui would be close to the national park at Chiang Dao but was surprised to find that it was a long way from the entrance. My fault entirely. I should have paid more attention to the detail. Baan Famui is about 20km from the town of Chiang Dao and 30km from the national park. So early morning walks aren't realistic unless you get up early and miss breakfast. We didn't do either.

Baan Famui is named after the owner 'Famui'. Her and her partner have built a house and four brand new chalets on a hillside in Muang Na, each with a nice view over the countryside. It is a nice, quiet rural area but a long way from anywhere. If you are coming from Doi Ang Khang, it would be a nice place to stop if you were intending to carry on to Chiang Mai. Each chalet has a main bedroom, a toilet and a modern bathroom area with double sinks, and a shower with the choice of two shower heads. The beds are big, soft double beds and the room has a décor of red and cream, very pleasing on the eye. I had asked for a low pillow and the ones provided were fine.The open bathroom area was modern and clean. There was a flat screen TV that took some working out but did have English speaking movie channels. Outside the sliding door was a patio are with chairs and a table, then steps down to the breakfast area and further steps down to the small car park. I didn't see wheelchair access but I didn't particularly look for it either.

The owner spoke good English and during the three days that we stayed, cooked a nice egg and bacon ham breakfast and there was a toaster and tea and coffee. Breakfast was served around 7am. That meant that by the time you finished it and had driven to the national park at Chiang Dao, it was 8.15hrs....so quite late for birding. However, if you just want a nice place to stay, then Baan Famui is fine. As is common in northern Thailand, there was no room safe and the wardrobes had no shelves. More of a problem was the lack of air conditioning. The electricity supply wasn't adequate to run anything other than fans. We managed, but it wasn't ideal. The fans were quiet enough anyway.We chose to eat in Chiang Dao but Famui was willing to cook an evening meal had we required it.

As a place to stay it's fine, if a little out of the way.

Room Tip: All the chalets are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Staying in Baan Famui was very relaxing and peaceful, the bungalows are brand new and very well decorated, Damien and Mui (& con-con the cat) are very good hosts
and If you like thai food you won't be disappointed, Mui is a very good cooker.
Chiang Dao is a very good point to discover this part of Thailand near Myanmar

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauretravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Toblerone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank attaphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die günstigen Zimmer sind meiner Meinung nach völlig ausreichend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matitipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013
Thank jolanda66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikThai91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Dao hotels
13.7 mi away
Rim Doi Resort
Rim Doi Resort
#1 of 2 in Chiang Dao
23 reviews
16.0 mi away
Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows
18.5 mi away
Bura Phat Resort
Bura Phat Resort
#11 of 24 in Chiang Dao
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa
Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Chiang Dao
141 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Teak Resort
The Teak Resort
#20 of 24 in Chiang Dao
5 reviews
18.4 mi away
Yang Tone Farm Stay
Yang Tone Farm Stay
#3 of 24 in Chiang Dao
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Famui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Famui

Address: 423 Moo 3 | Mueang Na, Chiang Dao 50170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Dao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Dao
Price Range: $33 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Famui 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four luxurious bungalows in a big tropical garden with mountain view, jacuzzi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Baan Famui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing