We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, decent food”

Chiang Dao Nest Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Chiang Dao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice people, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice people and a lovely garden setting. Seems to get quite busy with tour groups stopping for lunch so the farang ratio is very high. That said, the food is good, the prices reasonable and the menu extensive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited Nest 2 restaurant for lunch whilst on a day tour of this area. Loved our lunch there - interesting Thai menu, well presented and delicious food, all at a reasonable cost with friendly service. We ate in the gardens with beautiful mountain scenery and felt so relaxed! Would consider staying there if lucky enough to return to this area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casual fine dining in Chiang Dao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The quality and variety of food at The Nest are impressive and consistently good. This restaurant is not in an urban area; it is one hour north of Chiang Mai near the mountains of Chiang Dao District, so the chef cannot easily pop down to the supermarket to restock the kitchen. I have eaten there three times over the past three years, and each time I have left fully satisfied and amazed at how they conceive of the unusual dishes on the ever changing menu and then find the ingredients for them. On my last visit, my tuna steak was nicely seasoned and expertly cooked. The chef did a nice job on the salmon croquette appetizer, which was unusually light and fluffy. Save room for a dessert. I ordered pear poached in red wine, but they had run out. The chocolate fudge cake was a perfect substitute and not at all like many cakes in Thailand, which sometimes taste like sweetened sawdust. The serving staff was plentiful, pleasant, and exceptionally efficient. The dining area was outside on a covered terrace and was surrounded by pleasant gardens and beautiful landscaping, including some massive bamboo trees. There are cabins and a swimming pool for overnight guests. Eating at The Nest is a perfect way to relax in beautiful surroundings on a visit to the Chiang Dao area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanuman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great variety of well-cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The menu is extensive and sophisticated. The food contains good fresh produce, creatively cooked and presented. The drinks and snacks and desserts are all excellent, and the ambience - open sided restaurant with mountain and garden views - is simply great.

I would have given this restaurant an "excellent" if it had comfortable chairs, or cushions on the existing hard wood chairs, and if the cook had not been petting a dog in the kitchen! When we asked for an extra helping of zucchini fritters, it did not arrive. No one bothered to tell us that the kitchen had run out of zucchini! Such lapses in communication make for disappointed customers.

Despite these gripes I would certainly return because the food is really good. But, please keep the pug out of the kitchen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

After reading all the reviews, I decided go with my husband for our anniversary lunch at Chiang Dao Nest. We loved it so much! The food was fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. It was very reasonably priced too. The staff was so pleasant, and they were able to answer all of our questions about the menu and were very helpful in giving us suggestions on places to visit. The whole environment, the surroundings is so beautiful. Will definitely be back in a few weeks. The drive is so worth the trip there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tpjmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Dao Nest Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Dao, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Dao, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Dao, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Dao, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Dao, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Chiang Dao Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing