We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Baan Tammachaat (Nature Home)!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Dao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nature Home Guesthouse
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

First, let me say that I really like Chiang Dao. The people are seriously friendly, the landscape is epic, and there are some great things to see and do.

When I arrive I rented a motorbike and checked out almost every accommodation in the area. My favorite was Nature Home for the following reasons:
1) Clean spacious bungalow.
2) Comfortable bed.
3) Very friendly owners (who don't speak much english, but their daughter does if she is around).
4) Nice orchard setting.
5) Half way between town and the more remote cave area, which I found very convenient for doing both town stuff and nature stuff.
6) Best value for money that I found (I got a multi night deal of 500 baht per night).

CD Rainbow was also nice, but in a more remote spot (although with an epic view of the mountain over rice fields).

If you stay here be sure to check out the hillside temple near the cave (Wat Than Pha Pong), it is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn_Storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Aloha, The people make the place where ever you go. Being from Hawaii and traveled the world, i have seen a lotta people and places. No there is no costly spa, not even an olympic swimming pool with a high dive and pool side bar. It is very peaceful with a wonderful family who always show me true aloha....... priceless.
The place is comfortable, clean, food is great and the coffee rocks !

Room Tip: I'm not telling which one i think is best because i'm selfish and i might want it, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsabummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Well, based on the few reviews here...we took our chances on Nature Home Guesthouse, and were SO glad we did! The rooms were fairly spacious and well-appointed (we're talking typical basic Thai), and fairly comfortable! The restaurant was reasonably priced, and the cute couple who own it (who don't speak English) were so happy to serve us. Their daughter married a German fellow (they're the ones who will answer your emails or phone calls--as they speak excellent English), and I believe they may also live on the property--as we did see them coming and going. The separate guesthouses surround a big beautiful garden (think orchard-style) of lime trees, etc. Lots of space for kids to run around and discover. Also, the owner was kind enough to build us a campfire when he saw us lingering around the big fire pit in the garden. Overall, we'd definitely return here again. It's located about halfway between town and the cave...so it's a nice middle-ground place to stay, not to mention off-the-beaten p

Room Tip: We called and requested their one room that had 2 double beds (since we are a family of 5...one bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingOutsideoftheBx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I like the north of Thailand, and every time I am up there, I visit Chiang Dao Nature Home. My first time was in november 2011. I used my computer and said: Let me try. Now I have been there three times. I love this place and the people. It has become like a home for me. My next visit will be in november 2012.

Nature Home is run by two very nice elderly people. They can not speak english. But that is no problem. They also have two daughters in Chiang Dao, who can help. There is a restaurent at Chiang Dao Nature Home, where also local people are coming. The father cooks very nice thai food.

There are six basic but nice bungalows. They are all with western toilet and hot shower. The bungalows are placed in a beautiful garden with fruittrees. The place is so peaceful, and the same are the three nice dogs. I will call Chiang Dao Nature Home a local place, where also tourists are coming, and they have very reasonable prices.

It is very easy to get to Chiang Dao from Chiang Mai. From Chang Puak Bus station there is a bus every half hour going from Chiang Dao to Thaton. The price to Chiang Dao is 40 THB. It is just to go to the bus station. At Chiang Dao Bus Station you can either walk the two km's
to Nature Home, or the people can pick you up.

The nature around Chiang Dao is very beautiful, and there are many different things to do. At Nature Home they have bicycles, and they can also arrange a motorbike. One of the daughters (Nalinee) can also take you on some nice trips a little bit away from the main attractions.

Before twilight there can be some mosquitoes. But you can buy something in Chiang Dao or Chiang Mai.

Chiang Dao Nature Home has all the things I prefer, so to me it is a 5***** place.

Best regards.
Evan Nielsen.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank EvanNakskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

this great place may not be as trendy as others in chiang dao but if you want a quiet setting and great hosts, that is where to go: mam and jurgen took really good care of us including our kids (2 and 4); the food is really fresh and well priced (really good brown bread), the bungalows lovely and clean and an evening dip in the hot springs with local families is a must.
the fast internet connexion from our terrasse was very convenient and we keep great memories from our stay

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totogerdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlivierI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Dao hotels
0 mi away
Dreamhome
Dreamhome
#6 of 25 in Chiang Dao
10 reviews
0 mi away
Chiangdao Good View Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Baan Thanatchanok
Baan Thanatchanok
#18 of 25 in Chiang Dao
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Huan Chiang Dao Resort
Huan Chiang Dao Resort
#2 of 16 in Chiang Dao
106 reviews
0 mi away
Mon Kiang-dao Resort
Mon Kiang-dao Resort
#19 of 25 in Chiang Dao
1 reviews
0 mi away
ChiangDao Country Retreat
ChiangDao Country Retreat
#9 of 16 in Chiang Dao
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Home Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Home Guesthouse

Address: 233 M.12 Bann Rong Vua | Chiang Dao, Chiang Dao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Dao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Dao
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing