We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Retreat for Nature and Lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Retreat for Nature and Lovers”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dear Friends,
I just spent three wonderful weeks at Malee's Bungalows in beautiful Chiang Dao - writing, trekking and enjoying their easy hospitality and great food. The garden setting, with lots of space between bungalows, is ideal - not at all expensive for what they offer: peace and quiet, friendly and caring service, and a large dining hall that exemplifies fine-quality Thai design and woodworking. And the surrounding area is lush - perfect for exploring on a mountain bike or skooter, or even walking.
For me, the real bonus is the Buddhist monastery and temple that's only 500 metres (and 500 'easy' steps) up the side of Doi Chiang Dao, the third highest mountain in Thailand. This place is beyond words - beautiful, sometimes above the clouds, and not at all a busy 'public' tourist attraction. Visitors are very welcome - but you know you're in special place.
And Malee's is right next door - what could be better? I'll be back soon - for my third stay in one of the most beautiful sanctuaries in the world. I know that's just my opinion - but if you visit, you won't be disappointed.
Have fun and "my pen lie",
Don Hansen (Byron Bay, Australia)

Room Tip: quite a range: from budget to A-frame bungalow to family cabins - no 'motel or 'hotel' s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    36
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
82
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very nice gardens in quiet place. We had simple room with shared bathroom which is quite simple, but clean and well maintained. Malee were very helpful and friendly. She also took us down to the city to bus station with her car by our check out. The swimming pool is great refreshment option after hiking in surrounding great jungle.

Room Tip: There are only 2 (maybe 3) cheap (300B) rooms with shared bathrooms - probably the cheapest ones in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiriHruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A very belated review due to family illness after we got back and then forgot about it until now! We stayed in October 2010: Arrived in Chiang Dao by motorcycle on a wet and cloudy day. We had a nice lunch in Chiang Dao but were shocked at all the rubbish EVERYWHERE after the local market - have not seen mega-rubbish like this anywhere in Asia. This left us feeling a bit doubtful about staying in the area, but decided to continue with our plans and look for accommodation close to Chiang Dao, but a bit off the beaten track.

We looked at several places down some side roads a few kilometres away and decided on Malee's as it looked private and less touristy, and also had wifi in room. We pretty much had the place to ourselves, which we liked. It's in a nice garden setting, with lovely plants and lots of beautiful orchids grown by Malee's husband, Kurt. Also, lots of interesting walking experiences very close by.

Wifi in-room was a bit sporadic, but worked ok in the dining/reception area, which is quite large, well-furnished, and welcoming. Our bungalow was adequate with large-size clean bathroom and good water pressure, however, the bungalow itself seemed dark inside and closed in. It would have been lovely to have the front door open at dusk, but not possible due to various insects/bugs (we live in a tropical climate, so expect this), but a screen door would have been wonderful so that we could look outside at this time of night and not feel so closed in.

Meal service was slow (surprising, as only a couple of other people staying at the time). Food was enjoyable but not fantastic. Malee was fantastic though and this made the whole experience very enjoyable!! She was so friendly, helpful and welcoming!! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Surrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is in a fabulous location and the owner, Malee, is extremely friendly and polite. Her Swiss husband is an authority on orchids, and many can be seen in the garden and in the covered area near the house. The room was fine - basic as one woud expect, but very clean and everything worked fine. It is very much a place to settle into (one couple were staying a month) as time floats by in such a place. It is well situated for trekking into the Doi (didn't do because of wet season) and birdwatching in the area is outstanding (>300 species). I didn't eat here so cannot comment but would thoroughly recommend this as low-cost high quality lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueseeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Planned to stay 4 days, ended up staying 7. Wonderful location at the foot of Doi Chiang Dao, the staff were very friendly and helpful. One of the staff took me and my girlfriend up Doi Chiang Dao, which is really worth the fairly arduous trek. Would definitely go back, they even have a pool to cool off in after the long climb up the mountain.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HardieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I spent one night in March in Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows. Bungalows are very clean, set in a beautiful garden. The lady owner is very nice and helpful. There is a mini swimming pool. The veranda for dinner (with excellent and cheap Thai food) is very cosy and inviting.

I am planning to go back and stay few days there, and go for trekking: the owner can help and give very precise information on the region.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aae191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful, friendly and relaxing place to lay back or to explore the surrounding Chiang Dao mountains (a wonderful nature spot with great hikes), do not hesitate one second and book a night at Malee's bungalows (actually, at least 2 nights to fully appreciate the place).
Malee knows everything about the area and will give you all the advice you need.
You can explore the area or get to the starting points of the hiking routes by renting motorcycles or bikes at the bungalows.
Rooms are very good, maybe a bit pricey compare to the average in Thailand. But after having enjoyed a very tasty breakfast in a cosy wooden armchair listening to bird songs, you will forget these extra pounds for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandreM91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Dao hotels
4.6 mi away
Huan Chiang Dao Resort
Huan Chiang Dao Resort
#2 of 15 in Chiang Dao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa
Marisa Boutique Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in Chiang Dao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Dao Hut
Chiang Dao Hut
#5 of 15 in Chiang Dao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Teak Resort
The Teak Resort
#7 of 23 in Chiang Dao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yang Tone Farm Stay
Yang Tone Farm Stay
#3 of 23 in Chiang Dao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chiang Dao Roundhouses B&B
Chiang Dao Roundhouses B&B
#3 of 15 in Chiang Dao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows

Property: Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows
Address: 144 / 2 m.5, Chiang Dao 50170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Dao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Dao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows befinden sich 1 km nördlich der Chiang Dao Höhlen in Richtung Wat Thum Pha Plong. Genießen Sie eine entspannte Atmosphäre dieses kleinen Paradieses inmitten unberührter Natur am Fuße des dritt höchsten Berges Thailand's Doi Luang Chiang Dao. Der kühle, erfrischende Dhala Pool befindet sich in einem gemütlichen Garten, wo unsere Gäste die prächtige Natur geniessen können. Familien mit Kindern fühlen sich in unserem ruhigen Ort wohl. Seltene Vögel werden häufig in nächster Nähe gesehen, was diesen Ort ein Mekka für Vogelbeobachter macht. Andere Aktivitäten an diesem Standort sind Trekking, Höhle zu erforschen und Mountain Biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malee`s Nature Lovers Bungalows Hotel Chiang Dao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing