We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Tasmanian Devil Unzoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.31*
and up
Private South East Food and Scenic Day Trip from Hobart Including the Tasmanian...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Taranna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world's first Unzoo project is located at Taranna, Tasmania, about one hour from Hobart and 10kms before Port Arthur. The Unzoo is an innovative and holistic wildlife experience dedicated to showing you the unique animals and plants of Tasmania while taking a lead role in preserving the critically endangered Tasmanian devil. Join our guided wildlife encounters and come face to face with our famous devils and endemic quolls, pademelons, rosellas, kangaroos, possums, frogmouths and birds of prey. More than two km of trails take you through the Tasmanian Native Botanic Garden from tall tree forest to the Norfolk Bay seaside. The principle of the Unzoo is to immerse you in our natural environment so, for instance, we have removed our boundary fences so the local wild animals can come and go as they please. Allow two hours for your visit or add an hour for a 4WD research and conservation adventure to see how we are managing the last safe wild Tasmanian devils on Earth. The Unzoo is open every day (except 25 Dec) from 9am. We schedule our wildlife encounters each half hour or so, that's 15 every day.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had limited time so went in just to see the Tasmanian devils and although we initially baulked at the steep entrance fee by the end - even with our short visit we were delighted and happy to make a contribution to such a great enterprise. The set up is unlike any wildlife place I have visited and has been laid out by a progressive and renowned designer. Basically the devils are able to run around freely while we are enclosed before them. As a result they are very happy and lively and put on quite a show for us. Coming in to sniff the spectators (hoping for carrion!)One of the highlights of our trip.Keep up the great work.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank awarrJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    149
    31
    11
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

When in Tasmania you want to see devils, so having seen the publicity for the site, the wife and I called in on the way to Port Arthur. We were a little shocked to be asked for $30 each but paid and went in to what can be described as a small enclosure with a few caged birds, some lounging marsupials and yes there were devils!
It was amusing to watch them at feeding time.
My gripe is that $60 for 2 people is too much (at least Dick Turpin wore a mask)
$60 was the cost of our 2 month pass to all the National Parks and the cost of a 2 day pass to the Port Arthur site (including cruise and walking tour)
I understand that the sanctuary may need support but also consider that there a lot of young people traveling on a budget and this is an outrageous price for what you get!

Helpful?
1 Thank almipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I liked the passion of the people working here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was afraid of this being only a tourist attraction or a zoo, but the visit was warmly suggested by locals and people working for Parks Tasmania, so we went. We arrived at 4.30, on time to see the devils been fed, but quite late to visit the rest of the park. We paid 30 AUD each to enter, but we could come back the day after, in the morning, to complete the visit without being charged, and I found this very sensible and kind. I really appreciated the job they're doing here, and I'm very happy to have visited the park. The people we've met are really commited to their job and full of passion, which they're able to share with visitors in very informative and interesting talks. And the devils - some adults, young and puppies of different age - are evil as they should be! LOL!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ValGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We hadnt planned on visiting but it was on the way to the Port Aurthur site so we stopped for a quick look. We found it quite expensive compared to other wildlife parks that we went to in Tasmania but it was still worth the visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Pittwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Came here for a an hour and stayed all afternoon - what more can you say?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were initially a little hesitant to hand over our money to see the devils, but we found it was well worth our while. It was also refreshing to see that Tasmanian residents were offered a free year pass to come back and visit the park, this is a wonderful idea for locals. The devil feeding was interesting, and the staff were knowledgeable, approachable and nice to chat to (thanks Stephen for your patience!). The quolls were very cute and fun to watch. Loved the Kings of the Wind bird presentation - it has been a while since I've genuinely been surprised during a show, I could watch their clever tricks all day! Our only disappointment was the raptors display, it was very dark and hard to see the birds, but I assume their displays are part of the renovations the facility is undertaking. Finally, anyone who complained about no feed being available for the kangaroos just weren't there around feeding times - we got to hand-feed and pat the pademelons. :)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmanian Devil Unzoo also viewed

 

Been to Tasmanian Devil Unzoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing