We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Port Arthur”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mussel Boys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mussel Boys
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Port Arthur”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Decent location, facilities were good with spa. However there is limited food shopping facilities in this area. The tiny tv was hardly sufficient with no dvd's, as this area is not for a raging night out, felt that the facilities did not match and there was no service at all, merely a note stuck to receptions front door.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The cabins here were so lovely and just a short drive from Port Arthur. Very well kept, with a very comfortable bed and we really enjoyed a spa bath after a long day on our feet. The host, Eloise was also lovely and very approachable. Wish we stayed for more than one night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zak L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as these cabins were only 10 - 15 minutes from Port Arthur. In the cabins efficient use of space makes them user friendly and there is plenty of useable space inside the 2 rooms. The bathroom/ laundry had a shower, washing machine and a dryer. The main room housed the big king bed, a spa tub, kitchenette, a very small TV, chairs and a kitchen table. A small balcony completes the cabin.

Ceiling to floor windows provide ample light and allow you to look over a road onto some water views and some green lawn/grass. The kitchenette has pots/ pans and a stove top so simple meals can be prepared. The cooking utensils supplied were minimal so if you are planning on cooking lots of meals check to ensure all you need is there. Rooms are not cleaned or restocked during your stay so you would need extra supplies if you were staying for any length of time.

Overall, the cabins were very basic with no frills, refinements or real personal touches. We booked online and had no contact with anyone from Mussel Boys.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Mussel Boys is a handful of modern cabins set in sleepy Taranna, about halfway between Port Arthur and Eaglehawk Neck. The cabins have great triangle spas in the room itself and are perfectly set up for couples. The owners are friendly and helpful and very respectful of your privacy. The value for money is just unbeatable for a spa cabin. I'd definitely recommend this place to couples for a romantic break. It's true that the TVs are very small but if you think holidays are for watching TV - you might as well save your money and stay home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my other half stayed here for a night and wished we could have stayed a few more nights. We really liked the room and the clever use of space, and were pleased to be able to make use of the washing machine and dryer- although make sure to bring your own washing detergent.

Bed was large and comfy however could have done with having some new bedding. Big windows made it light and airy with views overlooking green space and road with a nice balcony with seating. Had to shut blinds though for privacy due to the road. Overall we would definitely go and stay here again, and the owners were lovely. Great place to stay whilst sightseeing with a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brontosaurus_neck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Cabins are surprisingly modern with floor to ceiling windows, open floor plan, kitchenette, laundry, and spa tub. Owners are kind and helpful. Wallabies at night and rabbits in the morning out the windows.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arloparanhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night for our first wedding anniversary. We were very happy with the room - it was clean, spacious and modern with nice decor and good kitchen facilities. The small deck was perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine and enjoying the view of the river. Spa and comfy king size bed were great too. Thought the location was good - just over an hour from Hobart and about half way between Eagle Hawk Neck and Port Arthur. The owners were lovely and very accommodating - nothing was a problem, even checking in early and checking out late, so we were able to make the most of our night away. They gave us a bottle of sparkling and a lovely card for our anniversary, which was a very nice touch. Probably only criticism is that the units are quite exposed to the property and road, so you have to keep the blinds down if you want privacy during the day. Overall it was an excellent spot to get away for a night, but would also be a good option for tourists wanting to stay a few nights in self contained accommodation with a touch of luxury after days of sightseeing. I would happily go back - maybe for our next anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranna
5.9 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.5 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mussel Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mussel Boys

Property: The Mussel Boys
Address: 5927 Arthur Highway, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Taranna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Taranna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mussel Boys 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern self-contained spacious open plan studio apartments conveniently located in Taranna, central to all the attractions of the Tasman Peninsula . The units all have king size beds, with tranquil views of Little Norfolk Bay. All individually furnished accommodations feature LCD TVs with DVD players, and you can enjoy private spa tubs, washers/dryers, and furnished balconies.At The Mussel Boys, you'll be 0.6 km from Tasmanian Devil Unzoo and Federation Chocolate Factory. A short drive from Eaglehawk Neck and Port Arthur Historic Site is within 10km. The perfect location to stay a few nights and enjoy exploring the Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mussel Boys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mussel Boys Tasmania/Taranna, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing