We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again.”
Review of Taranna Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taranna Cottages
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We recently stayed here whilst attending a wedding in the area. To say that our stay was unpleasant would be an understatement. On arrival the host didn't believe that we had already paid for our accommodation and was rude and sarcastic. The "cottage" was dirty, I had to prize the coffee cups off the cabinet shelf! The open fire smoked us out and set off the alarm several times through the night. Suggest you get it cleaned. The shower was pathetic, had to run around to get wet. When it was time to leave the next morning, the "Host" came in and asked us if we were ready to leave yet, how rude ! and the wife stood at the end of the drive way with her hands on her hips waiting for us to leave. For $176.00 for 1 night I expected much more. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcintas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranna C, Owner at Taranna Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

It’s unfortunate that when people do the wrong thing we bear the brunt of their frustration as an internet review. The reservation had been made by the bride for her guests together with another cottage. We had other guests from the same wedding who absolutely loved their cottage. Unfortunately Karen was very rude to us and questioned having to pay for extra guests when the arrangement with the bride was for extra guests to pay on arrival. The total cost was $173 for four people. It was a very windy day and they had left a glass outside on the picnic table, cigarette butts thrown on the ground and a very large pine log about 18 inches by 12 inches by the door ready to go onto the open fire, which we removed. Pine gives out lots of sparks and is something we do not use on open fires. We provide enough wood for an overnight stay and guests have no right or need to wander through our property picking up pine logs which are in the process of being removed by us. They arrived back from the wedding at 10.30pm. The reason we know the exact time was because we saw them do a burn out at the end of the road and then slid into our driveway leaving tyre marks on the road and pushing up the grave to just a couple of feet away from our sign. We have photographs as proof. We did consider ringing the local police. The following morning we were still annoyed about the behaviour from the night before and at 9.45am another vehicle arrived at their cottage. We do have a sign in the driveway which clearly states “only guests beyond this point”. As check out is 10am they were still there at 10.15am with no sign of them packing up so we advised them of the check-out time. We also confronted them about the burn out and damage to our driveway but they wouldn’t answer us. After they had left we found a broken glass and a wine glass missing too. We tried to ring the bride a couple of days later as we didn’t want to spoil her wedding but there was no answer and we haven’t phoned since. We were glad when they left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

It may have been the wet cold weather we were having that made this place so good. Rustic is a good way to describe it but it has everything needed to make your stay comfortable. The host were very friendly and helpful making sure we had all that we needed.
When we booked we saw that it had open fireplaces and we never thought we would need those in January but we did and we had a very pleasant evening sitting around the open fire enjoying a glass of wine.
Port Arthur is not too far away which was a main reason for choosing to stay here but supermarkets etc are about a 15-20 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

yew beauty! Great hosts couldn't of been more friendier and helpful, excellent local knowledge. will be recommending to family and friends. Was great to show my beautiful fiancé all of the native wildlife.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The cottages are old Apple Packers Cottages which are very cosy, warm and quite quaint. The cottages have open fire places, very clean and tidy. we enjoyed sitting in front of the fire having a quite drinks. You could almost image the olden days living in these cottages. there was all facilities of a good hot shower as well as everything for cooking our meals. We found the owners to be very lovely friendly people who went out of there way to ensure we were very comfortable and provided lots of information on the sites of the area. I would recommend these cottages to anyone wanting a enjoyable vacation experience

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delighted64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very rustic and quite the experience.
These cottages are left as authentic as they could so they are cold inside and not well insulated.
Thankfully starting the fire took with one match and was blazing hot! Don't forget to keep it lit though. You may need to wake up to throw some more wood on your fire cos in the morning you'll find yourself chilly if you didn't!
It's pretty dark inside once the fire goes out so give your partner breadcrumbs when he leaves for the loo in the middle of the night.
Colin was very helpful and couldn't have done more for us.
Handy location.
If you were like us and looking for cute little b&b's to stay in, this one will not disappoint, but keep the fire going all night !!

Room Tip: The fact that it is rustic is it's point of difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4LifesDelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The cottages are old Apple packers cottages and really quaint. The open fire place is really romantic, and warms the cottage nicely. (Kept setting of the fire alarm in the bedroom however) . Look its basic but all you need is there. Its a bit of an adventure to stay there as it is very different to staying in tradition type accommodation. We sat outside for a while at night and lost count of the number of possums etc we saw.
The hosts are great and very friendly and helpful.
My only comment for my host and I'm sure it was an oversight - Initially there was insufficient wood for the fire but this was rectified on request. I was initially advised however that there was an extra charge for extra firewood. (Please Marj, don't spoil your great hospitality by doing that)
I would highly recommend Taranna Cottages as a really great experience with great hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here and had a booking for two nights as soon as we arrived we knew we had made a terrible mistake, all the decor was dirty mismatched and old. The open fire didn't warm the house at all, we were freezing, and also the smoke filled the loungeroom. I think I could have urinated faster than the shower. There was appoxiametly 4 books in the loungeroom one a dusty old novel and 3 magazines that were dated in the 80's. The review online makes it sound so rustic and tranquil but couldn't be any firther to the truth. It was quite expensive also and when we approached the caretaker teh following morning no refund or apology or question was given. The host loved to tak about Raptors but that was about it. Very Basic and highly dissapointing for a very pretty and highly visited tourist area. Being a Tasmanian I was disgusted with the level of cleanliness and also the level of accomodation for the cost in general. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranna C, Owner at Taranna Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We are shocked and disappointed to know that Kelly could post a review like this so far after the event, given our hospitality, as Kelly seemed to be happy and friendly at the time. She booked our accommodation for her son and a female friend as a recommendation through a colleague of hers and who is a friend of ours, and as such we provided our accommodation at a reduced rate. There was no indication to us that she was not happy with the accommodation and she certainly did not request a refund of any description. The first we knew of their departure was at 6pm the following evening when Kelly rang us to say that they had gone to Hobart and they wouldn’t be returning. As they had already received the accommodation at a reduced rate and it had passed the time of tourists being available to fill the vacancy we did not offer a refund and neither did they ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranna
5.7 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
377 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
404 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Masons Cottages
Masons Cottages
#1 of 4 in Taranna
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taranna Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taranna Cottages

Address: 19 Nubeena Rd | Corner Arthur Hwy & Nubeena Road, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia (Formerly Teraki Cottages)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Taranna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Taranna
Price Range: $78 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taranna Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three cosy cottages in a bush and farmland setting with on site coffee shop and heritage museum. Located just 5 minutes from Port Arthur Historic Site and central all other attractions, scenic walks and hikes, beaches, fishing spots, and boat jetties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Taranna Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taranna Cottages Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing