We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet cottages in a great location for visiting the peninsula.”
Review of Taranna Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taranna Cottages
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for one night in February 2013 while visiting Port Arthur and other sights around the Tasman Peninsula. The service from the host was excellent. She was very welcoming on our arrival and very helpful in providing information and recommendations for the area. (Ask to see her ghost photos from Port Arthur! )
The cottage we stayed in was very nice. We were told by the owner that they are old apple pickers cottages. It was quite large in size and therefore would be a good option for a longer stay. There was a kitchen, living area and a decent size bedroom. The bathroom was quite small however.
Location was very convenient for a visit to the peninsula. Port Arthur was only 10 minutes down the road, and Eaglehawk neck about the same distance in the opposite direction. Most of all the location was extremely quiet and peaceful. One of the best sleeps I had during my time in Tasmania.
Price was very reasonable and breakfast can be arranged for a small additional fee.
We were very happy with our stay at the Taranna Cottages and would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 66 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked all three cottages for a one-night stay as we were travelling with a family group of eight adults. The cottages were all cosy and with lots of character, and we were all able to snugly fit in the larger cottage (schoolhouse) for a relaxed boxing day dinner in the loungeroom with the log fire. The bushland setting was very peaceful; unfortunately we could only spend one night in Taranna, so we didn't get to enjoy the property as much as we would have liked. It was a convenient ten-minute drive to Port Arthur, where we got the "Bronze Pass" including an informative guided tour, a boat cruise, and entry to all the buildings which are worth spending several hours wandering through. Recommend a stop at the "Doo-lishus Food Van" at Eaglehawk neck - we stopped here for the freshest seafood lunch (massive fisherman's cones, great curried scallop pies!).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It took us a while to find the turn-off from the main road, but we were content when finally arriving to find the host lady informative and friendly. Our cabin was old in style, but spacious and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the open log fire complete with kindling and a hefty supply of perfectly shaped wood to keep the flames burning all night.

We only stayed the one night, and the position was fine for us to visit Port Arthur, first for a walk around the grounds, and secondly for the ghost tour, which was a shocking waste of money.

We felt safe, clean and would stay again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegutterpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A relaxed country cottage far away from the city stresses. This cottage was precisely what we wanted , all the things you could need in the modest country kitchen, a well stocked woodfire in the cabin , comfty bed and peace and quiet. The only downside if you are picky is the shower which kinda kept falling down - but for the value for money and the peaceful nature of the accomodation - it's perfect. The owners were warm , welcoming and perfectly hospitable. It's close to everything - the wildlife park , port arthur and the chocolate factory. Definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie3_3_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranna C, Owner at Taranna Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review about our cottages. We really appreciate your kind words about our hospitality too. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the lovely peaceful and quiet surroundings. Thank you for bring the shower to our attention, Colin is on to it as we speak. Hope to see you again one day. Regards Marje and Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were doing the ghost tour at Port Arthur so wanted somewhere we could park our camper for the night that was close to the site. This place was perfect. There were not any toilets or showers but for self contained campervans its cheap and is in a lovely setting. There are loads of wallabies jumping around the field that you stay in.

The lady that owns this place is lovely. She stayed up to welcome us that night and in the morning greeted us before we left and showed us some of the photos taken at Port Arthur that may have caught a spirit. In one picture it does look like you can see a little girl.

There is even a map of the world that you can place a pin in to show where you have come from which we thought was quite interesting.

We didnt stay in the cottages but if we return would defo like to as the surrounding area and cottages do look lovely. She is planning a museum at the location as well which isnt finished yet but is well underway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank welltravelled23feme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

After extensive research to accomodate a family of seven I stumbled across the Taranna Cottages. Host's Colin and Marje went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant one. The Cottage was very clean and cosy. Sitting beside an open fire on Christmas night was an added bonus. Port Arthur was an easy 10 minute drive. Excellent Value for Money and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Port Arthur.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Having booked four nights in what was described as a reclaimed apple-picker’s cottage, for a modest $95 a night, we wondered what our accommodation would be like. We needn’t have worried. We were greeted by friendly hosts Colin and Marje and our cottage turned out to have all mod cons. The kitchen was well equipped, with fridge, table-top stove, kettle and toaster and a separate recycle bin (a nice touch). The bathroom, accessed by sliding door from the kitchen, had shower, toilet and wash-hand basin. The queen bedroom was charming and the separate lounge had provisions for a log fire, which my husband enjoyed lighting on the chilly evenings. The cottages were serviced daily.

The property has extensive paddocks, meadow and woodland. It is a haven for wildlife. A pair of wild Cape Barren geese lives here. We wandered around with a flashlight at dusk and after dark and were rewarded with good views of Bennett’s wallabies. My husband spotted a possible Tasmanian Devil disappearing into undergrowth. Unfortunately, I missed it!

Colin is a professional carpenter and is currently restoring late 19th and early 20th century farm equipment and carriages. He was kind enough to show us some of the impressive collection, housed in a large barn. He also took us on a tour of the grounds and showed us a wombat den in nearby woodland.

Teraki Cottages are a good peaceful base for exploring the Tasman Peninsula. Bring supplies, as the nearest small supermarket is a ten minute drive away. The Tasmanian Devil conservation Park is close by. Port Arthur, now a crowded tourist trap, is about ten minutes away. Colin suggested that we also try the Coal Mines Historic Site. This has free entry and we had the convict-era ruins, coastal paths and native wildlife almost to ourselves. A worthwhile recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubadiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranna
5.7 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
388 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
351 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
607 reviews
6.3 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
97 reviews
1.8 mi away
Masons Cottages
Masons Cottages
#1 of 4 in Taranna
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taranna Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taranna Cottages

Address: 19 Nubeena Rd | Corner Arthur Hwy & Nubeena Road, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia (Formerly Teraki Cottages)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Taranna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Taranna
Price Range: $81 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taranna Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three cosy cottages in a bush and farmland setting with on site coffee shop and heritage museum. Located just 5 minutes from Port Arthur Historic Site and central all other attractions, scenic walks and hikes, beaches, fishing spots, and boat jetties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Taranna Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taranna Cottages Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing