We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation near Port Arthur”
Review of Abs by the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abs by the Bay
Ranked #2 of 2 Taranna B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed in a one bedroom unit which was absolutely spotless and well stocked with little things that showed how considerate the owners were. The bathroom was very clean and extremely spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Overall, the unit was furnished in a very homely and comfortable manner.

There was also a BBQ and small outdoor setting which was great. The only very minor downside was that there was no general store in the immediate vicinity.

The grounds of the property were spotlessly maintained with beautiful plants and homegrown produce. There is access to a small private beach which was nice. Though we only met the owners when checking out, we found them to be very friendly and accommodating.

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

A very thoughtful provision and hospitality service; very cosy and homely arrangement with home growth vegetables. The landlord is very friendly and the funiture provision is above normal hotel standred. The location is connected to a very beautiful seashore with canoe provision.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This is a great base from which to explore the Tasman Peninsula. The accommodation comprises a large, modern bungalow divided into 3 self-contained units. Ours was for 2: very spacious throughout, scrupulously clean and new, large, comfortable double bed, fully equipped kitchen, bath and shower, private parking, BBQ and more. The most impressive thing that struck us about Abs is just how new and well equipped everything is: the owners have really done an outstanding job at maintaining this property. Overall we rate this place as the best we stayed in during our tour of Tasmania. The Peninsula is really beautiful (on a sunny day) - great for walking and scenic driving.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We had a lovely 3 nights in a beautiful self contained unit. With two teenagers it was perfect as it was roomy enough for them to have their own space. Even though it rained for much of our visit we had a great visit to Port Aruthur which is just 10 km away. Stewart and Veronica were just delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The unit had everything you could ask for and the local knowledge of the hosts was fantastic. (Love the fish and chip van at the blowhole- YUM!!) Good value in a lovely location- Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikingtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Really friendly hosts, great rooms, and just next to the bay (just as the name says). The whole setup is cozy, quiet and private. The house had everything we needed. Room was a bit too cold at night though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

A very pretty place with lovely gardens, gorgeous beach right at the doorstep and everything you could possibly need!

Close and convenient location and Stu and Veronica made every effort to ensure we had a wonderful stay!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelaidian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed here recently at the end of a three week holiday in Tasmania. This place is great. It's relatively new, very roomy, very comfortable, extremely clean and had everything you could want in a self catering place. All furniture was of excellent quality and it was definitely one of the best of the dozen or so places we stayed in. It was also the cheapest place we stayed in! The hosts are very helpful and give excellent advice about what there is to see in the area (and there is a lot) so make sure you stay at least 2 nights!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranna
3.8 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
401 reviews
8.1 mi away
Storm Bay Guest House
Storm Bay Guest House
#2 of 2 in White Beach
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
90 reviews
1.9 mi away
Taranna Cottages
Taranna Cottages
#3 of 4 in Taranna
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masons Cottages
Masons Cottages
#1 of 4 in Taranna
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abs by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abs by the Bay

Address: 5730 Arthur Hwy, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Taranna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Taranna
Price Range: $84 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abs by the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abs by the Bay provides contemporary apartment accommodation set in attractive gardens with access to waterfront of Little Norfolk Bay on the Tasman Peninsula just 10 minutes from Port Arthur. Choose from spacious one or two bedroom apartments each with their own fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom and outdoor barbeque area, or a one bedroom studio suite with tea/coffee making facilities. With its modern style, convenient location and affordable rates, Abs by the Bay is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers to just relax, unwind and enjoy what the region has to offer, it is a popular tourist destination, renown for its sheltered rainforests, unspoilt natural beauty, spectacular scenery of rugged ocean cliffs, surf beaches, wildlife, adventure and heritage of the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abs by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abs By The Bay Tasmania/Taranna, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing