We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Spacious and Great Hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masons Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Masons Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, Spacious and Great Hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night with 4 adults and were amazed at the rooms. Even before we saw the room the owners were very nice people and were happy to have a chat. There was 2 spacious bedrooms, a clean bathroom, a kitchen with everyone you could possibly want, sofas, BBQ area and you can even borrow board games from reception. Had a heater in the room but wasn't required as the temperature was 34C while we were there (there was a pedestal fan in the room), Only about 13km from Port Arthur. All this and they have very reasonable rates!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I got stuck with my son in south eastern Tassi waiting for a radiator to be built for an old valiant I had purchased near Eaglehawk neck. After one night staying at Masons cottages we just kept staying on because the place had a beautiful ambience right next to the water and a minute from the Tassi Devil farm. The owners Kathy and Werner are fantastic people. On our last morning there my son Luke and I were sad to be leaving.
This review is not exaggerated these guys deserve it - hope to stay with you again one day, Take care - Shan and Luke

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Masons Cottages are self contained with a full kitchen - There are only 4 cottages - we had a 2 bedroom unit - The bathroom is roomy enough - For a family these would be a very economical option - Better than a motel or resort

We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with the choice - highly recommended

Room Tip: No need to be selective - all units are quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bundaberg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Masons cottages for two nights on our way around Tassie in August last year. Not knowing what to expect, we were more than pleasant;y surprised on our arrival. Fantastic clean cottages and great heating (this was particulalry important given it was about 3 degrees throughout our stay!) And hosts that could not do enough for us! A great little hideaway that is not too far form the rest of the world and handy to Port Arthur and the convict coal mines. I can strongly recomend the Federation chocolates factory and store just up the road from the cottages too!!!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

With so many services provided these days that fall well below par it was a surprise and delight to find this place, so much so that I felt compelled to give back through some positive feedback. We found the unit spotless, much bigger than expected in the rooms and in an excellent position. The gardens and lawns surrounding were immaculate and illustrated the high standard obviously maintained by the managers. Our extra requests were granted with no trouble and made our stay with our toddler so much easier. We would stay again in a heartbeat and recommend to anyone touring around the south east coast area. Excellent value for money also and prompt and polite communication leading up to the stay. Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

The units here are large, clean, attractive, comfortable, well appointed, well positioned and best of all are well worth the money - better than the pictures suggest. The owner was also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We arrived at the two bedroom cottage in the afternoon, a smiling and friendly Werner welcomed us with freshly picked cherries and good advice for experiences during our stay:)
They were genuine and wonderful people, their advice gave us the most memorable nature adventures a family from Norway could ever want!
We recommend this place for everyone who is looking for a quiet, clean and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranna
3.8 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
7.5 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
6.4 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Cottages

Property: Masons Cottages
Address: 5741 Arthur Hwy, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Taranna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Taranna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Masons Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best value for money in Taranna, just ten minutes from the Port Arthur Historic Site. Two bedroom cottages suitable for families or travelling couples. Studios available for singles, couples or small family, eg, 2 adults and 1 child. Central to all the delights the Port Arthur area has to offer. All units are fully self contained, with guest laundry and BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Masons Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Cottages Tasmania/Taranna, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing