We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You haven't lived until you have experienced their kitchen!”

El Patio de Lajares
Ranked #13 of 17 Restaurants in Lajares
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
St. Clement, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“You haven't lived until you have experienced their kitchen!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The restaurant and the hotel is most beautifully decorated, situated in the tranquil village of Lajares, ideal for getting away for a couple of days.
Well, what can I say, the food is created by Rainer, a master magician with extreme standards when it comes to his craft. An excellent wine cellar to boot. Hanna looks after you better than your mother did !! Value for money? How can you rate a restaurant like this? Their set 3 course lunch was less than €40,- , + wine, so recon around € 50,- per head. However, if the fun starts at 1300 and continues, as with us, until 1830, I would say good value! Both the host and hostess joined in the spirit it was meant to be. Highly recommended. I shall visit again as soon as I can.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary by availing ourselves of the Gourmet Meal and B&B package. We had a great time - excellent accommodation and a fantastic evening meal. Our hosts Rainer and Hanna made us feel very welcome in their unique style. Rainer is a brilliant chef and Hanna very attentive as host - we had a great all round experience followed by a good night's sleep and excellent breakfast. We will return possibly very soon for their Sunday lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnejCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been to El Patio on several occasions and have always found the food to be of exceptional quality. We went there last November for my husband's birthday and had the most wonderful fillet steak we have ever had. Ingrid and Chef Rainer are wonderful hosts and you will most definitely have a memorable lunch or evening meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caversham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Worth the short trip from Corralejo”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Small hotel with restaurant run by a lovely German couple. No choice menu as what we have is what we serve but the food was excellent well cooked duck main course and great value for money. One of the best meals on the Island and we have eaten here many times.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qprgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb dining and excellent hosts”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to El Patio de Lajares to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and Chef Rainer and our hostess Hanah Ingrid truly made the evening something to remember. The food and wine were excellent and tremendous value at roughly 50 euro per person for a fine dining 4 course meal with wine. As importantly, the Chef was absolutely superb in accommodating our special request for a vegetarian version of the set menu for our daughter, and our hostess was warm and friendly with a waiting hand crafted birthday card and celebration champagne upon our arrival. This is gourmet dining with a truly personal touch, the flowers on the table picked from the El Patio garden and the Chef chatting with us throughout the meal. They also have rooms available and our only regret was that we didn't reserve an overnight stay! It is easy to get to from anywhere on the island and absolutely worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio de Lajares also viewed

 
Triquivijate, Antigua
Lajares, La Oliva
 

Been to El Patio de Lajares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing