We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altitude - The Lodge Smiggins
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have been travelling to Perisher/Smiggins for a few years now and stumbled across the Lodge on our last stay. I am so glad that we did, I got a great deal that made it almost half the price of other places we have stayed.
The rooms are small when you have 4 people in them but everything is clean and the family room (we were 4 adult friends so family room was cheaper than 2 rooms) was great, it had a loft for extra storage so made it easier.
The dinner every night was outstanding! 3-4 course meal which was terrific.
It is a little bit of a walk up the hill of an afternoon after skiing but if you arrive back around 4-5pm the Lodge staff will drive you and all your gear back up, they will also take you down the hill in the mornings.
I definitly recommend the Lodge if you are happy to have somewhere that is clean and tidy without all the fancy stuff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Location - it's 'on snow' so that's convenient, but The Lodge occupies one of the higher parts of Smiggins so it was an effort to walk the distance from the snow to the front door in ski boots & carrying gear, although free transport is provided by the Lodge between certain hours in the morning and evening.

Like a lot of the other accomodation here at Smiggins, The Lodge has seen better days with old and in some parts, falling apart facilities. The rooms are small, the bathrooms have old fittings and generally an odd colour scheme throughout. Not sure if my sheets were changed from the previous occupant ??? In house shampoo ect below average so bring your own.

Seperate gear room with no facillity to lock your equipment, open to anyone, so bring a cable & lock. Same for boot drying room.

The staff were mostly just doing their job and not going out of their way to be all that friendly, although when engaged did appear to be helpful.

The food was usually of a very high standard from a set menu, but Sunday morning breakfast was distinctly ordinary with some hygiene issues and small servings without a smile. It was a case of 'first in best dressed' with regard to seating arrangements for dinner, so if you have a large group and want to be seated at the same table then turn up about half an hour early.

Overall, not as good as some of the other accomodation here, but if you are here for skiing and just want a value for money place to sleep and eat then The Lodge is for you.....

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor with resort views for the best room - saves walking up those stairs after a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatnSleepMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been travelling to Perisher/Smiggins on and off for 25 years. We have tried out every possible way to stay in the area eg Jindabyne, Perisher and Smiggins. In the past ten years we have concluded staying on-snow in Smiggins Holes is the best option. We have tried a number of different establishments and now have a good idea of what's great and what's not. Hire gear on-snow so you can change fittings if you need to. Easy to return.

This is a comfortable, warm and friendly lodge. Rooms aren't huge for a family of four but a loft area is able to store excess baggage. Beds are comfortable. No tea making facilities in room but you can get this in the dining area. Bathroom - toilet lid did not stay up - not great when you have a family of boys. (This was an issue in other rooms as well). Some cleaning issues here as well.

Dinners were to a high standard. The only problem for us was that we were a large group and could not sit together due to the configuration of tables. No flexibility here and it was a first in first served basis. As this is our annual family get together (coming from different areas) we wanted to be together. This could be a factor in deciding where to stay next year.

Also an issue was the split times for children's and adult meals. We had to upgrade our younger teens to adults to enable them to sit with us. (Other families we spoke to did not like this arrangement as well). Instead of having children sit at 6pm and adults at 7pm why not have two family dinner times. One for the families who want 6pm dinner slot and one for families at 7pm as run at other lodges. Maybe worth a try.

Staff were helpful and nice apart from the above inflexibility. A great feature of this lodge is their pick-up service between 4-5pm in the afternoon to take you back to the lodge. (Also run a drop off in the morning). On site parking if you book ahead and pay extra. This lodge ticks most of the boxes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ged4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights last season. We were picked up on arrival at Perisher ski tube and transferred to the Lodge at Smiggins. It was only a 5 minute drive down the road. Checking in was easy and hassle free. The room that we were given was really nice. It is not that big, but it was welcoming after a long day of travel and most importantly it was clean.

Although it is not in Perisher itself, there was no problem getting there. There is a free shuttle from Smiggins to Perisher and the staff gave us a lift down to the shuttle bus stop after breakfast. After a day's skiing in Perisher, we took the shuttle back to Smiggins. From the bus stop, it is about a 5 minute walk up to the Lodge, however we were pleasantly surprise to see the Lodge staff waiting at the bus stop to take us back up to the lodge.

The service was impeccable and the best we have ever seen in the industry. The food was one of the best we have had in the mountains and a highlight of this resort. Lisa and her team is highly professional and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pryss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The rooms are clean, very neat and tidy not that we spent much time in there when the snow had our name on it. The Staff at the Lodge are very Friendly and most helpful. Of a morning they dropped us down at the snow, after the Fully laidout breakfast and then picked us up in the afternoon. The bar is open at 5.30 and the fire was lit and waiting for us all. The children sit down to there beautiful, yummy, and filling dinner. The 4 course dinner is prepared by Head Chef Andrew and staff and is of world class standards these are served to you every night. The Childeren are well looked after By Manager /Teacher Lisa. Anyone looking for a wonderful family stay or a place to meet your friends for a great holiday /get away on the snow this is A MUST place to stay 10/10 for Lisa and Staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiggin Holes
0.2 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
0.1 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
55 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altitude - The Lodge Smiggins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altitude - The Lodge Smiggins

Property: Altitude - The Lodge Smiggins
Address: 13 Plum Pine Rd, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia (Formerly The Lodge at Smiggins Holes)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Smiggin Holes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Smiggin Holes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altitude - The Lodge Smiggins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for an “experience” in the snow, then Altitude - The Lodge Smiggins is the place for you. Great location, delectable cuisine, an affordable wine cellar, caring staff and an intimate atmosphere produce responses from our guests like: “exceeded all expectations”, “awesome”, “top quality”, “treated us like family” and “best lodge experience I’ve had”. We call this: “The Altitude Natural High” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altitude - The Lodge Smiggins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing