We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on-snow family location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great on-snow family location”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in the Chalet apartments (part of the hotel, a short walk up the hill in a separate building) in June with our 3 children. Our accommodation consisted of two roomy inter-connecting studio apartments, one with a king bed and a single, the other 3 single beds. Each room had its own kitchen (with dishwasher, microwave, fridge, and stove top) and bathroom. The latter were small (think tiny ensuite), but serviceable, albeit without the little packets of toiletries that motels/hotels usually supply (shampoo, shower gel, etc). Each bathroom did have a heated towel rail, which came in quite useful for drying wet gloves, etc. Which brings me to one small problem: no clothes airer was supplied, and reception simply pointed us to the tumble dryers in the apartment building's laundry. However, I don't fancy putting wet ski gear in a dryer and risk it shrinking! So, wet gear was draped over every conceivable piece of furniture in the room (and the heated towel rails). There is also no tea, coffee, or milk supplied in the kitchen. Not a problem for us as we brought our own, plus the lounge room of the hotel does have complimentary supplies available. A small shop operates out of the apartments for one hour each evening selling essential supplies such as bread, milk, etc. We stayed on a dinner, bed, and breakfast package so did not need to self-cater. Overall, the rooms were spacious, warm, and comfortable. Each apartment has its own locker for skis, etc, both in the chalet building and down at the hotel. It is truly ski-in, ski-out (season and snow permitting). The beauty of this place is that it is one of the few 'on-snow' accommodation options in or near Perisher where you can park your car overnight (and yes, the car park is unsealed as pointed out by one reviewer, but it's flat and well kept. If it snows, just be prepared to park on, in, or under the snow!). This avoids the trials and tribulations of lugging ski gear and luggage up on the ski tube or on over-snow transport from your car to your accommodation, a real hassle with kids. One of the major 'wins' for us with this hotel was how extremely family-friendly it was. A complimentary kids club runs each evening, providing good quality food and lots of entertainment for the kids. Our 3 children (aged 10, 7, and 4) couldn't wait to go each night. This had the spin-off benefit of allowing us, the parents, to enjoy a quiet civilised meal together for the five nights we stayed. We opted for the set three course a-la-carte dinner which was of an outstanding quality, truly good restaurant standard food. I am a fussy diner, and this exceeded my expectations by a long shot. All hail to the chefs! Breakfast (variety of basic cooked food, toast, and cereals) was ok without being outstanding. Smiggins is a lovely spot to ski, one of my favourites. Lessons are available right outside the hotel, including for the little ones. If there's sufficient snow, you can ski directly to Perisher or Blue Cow via the Link T-bar (yes, even during the rubbish 2013 season for a little while). Failing that, there is a shuttle bus - Perisher is only a few kilometres up the road. All up, this is a great property to come to if you are a skiier or boarder with children, wanting on-snow accommodation, and looking for food and service of a high quality. It isn't cheap, but we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were booked in for 7 nights end of July into August. Unfortunately during that time the snow levels were rubbish and we ended up going home early after I did my ACL and meniscus in a fall at Blue Cow.

How ever the Smiggins Hotel was a great place to stay and i would recommend it to others. Our room was very quiet being located at the very end of the corridor. Thankyou Belinda and the other very helpful and friendly staff.

The room was like most lodges on the snow consisted of original retro style 60's or 70's bathroom fittings. But this was no problem as the room we were in was in such good condition, clean had really nice good quality lined, carpet etc. As a plumber I actually enjoyed seeing some of the old bathroom fittings and decor.

The rooms and general appearance was vey high and everything looked freshly painted and clean.

Meals were exceptional.

The only suggestion I would like to make is that given the number of small children; this is a very family friendly place, it would be good to have a designated area for famlies with tiny tots etc. As they do disturb the peace of breakfast time with crying and general little kid type behavior.

Other than that we would like to return someday. See how my knee operation goes. PS take out Ski insurance.

Room Tip: End of corridors gets less traffic and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gas000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year when we went skiing in Australia for the first time and enjoyed it so much we booked again on checking out for the 2013 season.
The hotel is in Smiggen Holes on the slopes and easy ski in ski out. We booked a mountain view room the same one as last year which has a Queen size bed plus a single bed - we like space. The en-suite is quite small but certainly no problem. The room has an electric radiator which gets very hot. The room was very hot on accasions so we turned the heater off at night and had the bathroom window slightly ajar to let in some ventilation.
We booked the dinner bed and breakfast package and the evening meals were excellent as they were last year. The breakfast food could be hotter but then again I've always found buffet breakfasts to be luke warm. Mind you there was a good selection to chose from.
Entertainment was provided on each evening, ranging from a magician, karioke, trvia night, fireworks (weather permitting)
We like this place so much we have booked to go back for the 2014 season, hopefully there will be more snow next year although I think we had the best week of the Australian skiing season so far.

Room Tip: We like room 28 as this is a mountain view room and is lovely and sunny in the afternoons
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Smiggins hotel is situated directly in front of the Smiggin Holes ski area, which is great for new skiiers. If you're looking for an easy in and out skiing and are not experienced, the location can't be beat. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and the food at breakfast and dinner was generous and good. The main common room with the fireplace was a great place to relax with a drink in front of the fire. The hotel is also extremely kid friendly and despite the number of kids the noise at night was not a problem at all.

The downside of Smiggins is the rooms, which were extremely basic for the room rates. We took a 2 room family suite which brought back memories of college dorms, with very small bathrooms and not much room beyond the beds. At a lower rate this wouldn't have mattered at all, but given the (especially high season) rates at Smiggins we were disappointed in the rooms.

If you're a new skiier looking for a great location and not worried about the rooms (or the cost) then Smiggins is a good choice. If you're looking for more advanced skiing then we would recommend Perisher itself as it has more going on restaurant and bar-wise and then you're staying right on the ski slopes and avoiding the bus to Perisher (only 5 minutes).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swisssmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

No matter if theres snow or not Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments do not disappointment with entertainment, service and the beautiful staff. I have stayed here a couple times now and even though unfortunately there was minimal lifts operating at Smiggins, I still had the best of time thanks to the great facilities and service that Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments has on offer. They provide various entertainment on each day of the week that never fail to amuse! For example, at the beginning of the week, they have the magician/comedian/illusionist Adam Dean, and I know that all ages look forward to his acts. Then, there is the pool competition...a night to show off your hidden talents and win awesome prizes! There's also Karaoke Night. It doesn't matter what standard your vocals are or what age you are, it's all about having fun! Their entertainment accomodates all ages!

Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments never fail to disappoint. The manager and her staff should have a pat on the back for their well deserved efforts to facilitate and never failing to entertain such a large house!

I would highly recommend this place to anyone! Go there and I promise you will enjoy it, I did and so did everyone else staying with us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s-j0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights At Smiggins Hotel in the NSW snowfields.
We were in a party of 6 families comprising 20 adults and children
Even though there were only two of us, we booked a room in the chalet apartment so that we can stay with the group.
Upon arrival, we were greeted with a slushy, unsealed parking lot at the front entrance which does not befit an expensive hotel.
The Chalet Apartments are in a separate building about 200 meters up the hill from the main hotel.
The Chalet is in good condition. The common room, the corridors, the carpet, as well as our apartment, were clean, fresh, and well presented.
Our 3 person apartment is the size of an average two person hotel room. The size of the bathroom and shower reminds me of one I once saw in a submarine. "Arnie" will not fit in there! The room has a well equipped kitchenette which even has a dishwasher, an uncommon luxury in short stay apartments.
Other amenities are less generous. There is no tea, no coffee, no mini bar, no snack, milk or drink, no shower cap, no shampoo, no face towel, no safe, no computer connection, no sofa or soft chair, and no full length mirror.
Imagine this scenario:
You have just checked in at 5 pm after an 8 hour drive from Gosford. You would like to relax in your room and have a cup of coffee while your child wants a cold drink. There is no coffee or cold drink in your room. The nearest Woolie is 30 km away and there isn’t a Seven Eleven round the corner. No matter, tap water is healthy and does the job of quenching your thirst. You would like to wash your hair and have a shower before dinner, but you discover that there is no shampoo. OK, you decide not to wash your hair, but you discover that there is no shower cap! Wash your hair with no shampoo, no big deal! After shower, you wish to check your email, but there is no internet connection. WiFi service can be purchased from the reception desk, which is 200 meters down the road, but, you have been told that the modem is also situated there, which means your reception isn’t going to be too reliable. Fine, you have come to ski, don’t worry about email, just get dressed for dinner. You find that there is no mirror with which to adjust your attire! Fine, fashion is not important in the snowfield and nobody cares what you look like. Just hope dinner is less disappointing!
Luckily the dinner does not disappoint. There was a set menu which changes every night. For $50 a head, we had a three course meal which was professionally prepared and presented. The quality is as good as one would expect from any 4.5 star hotel. Even the coffee was made properly. This was a real saving grace for an otherwise disappointing experience.
Staffs at the hotel and the dining room were all very friendly and helpful. We later learned that all the things that we needed were available on request at the reception, or can be purchased from a little shop at the chalet if we had arrived earlier. Free coffee and tea were available in the common room.
Overall, apart from the meal, we find our apartment to be poor value for what we have paid for.
It would cost the hotel very little to provide some basic amenities. A bit of capital cost may be needed to refurbish the bathrooms and the car park and then it would be a really nice hotel. We have stayed in other hotels in Perisher and Thredbo at comparable cost. Smiggins Hotel Chalet Apartment is the most disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kittyhawkCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for this second time because it is RIGHT at the lifts, has everything needed for your ski trip on site as well as conveniently located lockers for storage and parking on site. Unfortunately it also has PAPER THIN walls so you will get to know your neighbours most 'intimate' moments and hear every nuance of their conversations. The food is average pub fair at snowfield inflated prices, and at lunch time during peak season today we waited in an extraordinarily long line for 50 minutes to be served. then we were told they were out of the 3 menu items requested and we waited a further 10 minutes for the items to be made available again. All this for very average food- Fish and chips ($14.00), wedges with sour cream ($7.00) and a slice of pizza ($5.00). There is no room service option, and alternatives are a take away restaurant on site, another within a 10 minute walk, or bus to another ski field up the road.
Last year they allowed us a late check out of 11:30am (regularly 10am) which was also a great incentive to return. This time around we were very rudely and abruptly informed by a male receptionist who obviously wasn't in a mood to be working, to be out by 10am with no exceptions.
Needless to say, we won't be returning to the Smiggins Hotel where we stayed last year, nor the Chalet Apartments where we stayed this year with the hopes of a little more privacy (unfortunately this wasn't available in this location either). They also informed us today that they don't provide any more assistance than a shovel if your car is snowed in, so part of your on snow time on your last day will need to be spent doing this if you've experienced heavy snow, as we have). The chalet apartments are a small walk from the main hotel, but in heavy snow and strong winds you'll regret even that small distance, especially in quite slippery conditions.

Room Tip: All rooms are not sound proofed and offer no privacy at all. Keep your voices low and bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KhrystynaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiggin Holes
6.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments

Property: Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Address: Corroborree Road, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Smiggin Holes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiggins Hotel is ideally situated on snow at the base of the Smiggins ski lifts. Smiggins has 9 ski lifts for beginner to intermediate skiers. The Link T-Bar provides direct access by either Telemark T-Bar or the Interceptor Quad Chair to Perisher, Blue Cow and Guthega ski areas. Smiggins Hotel is renowned for friendly and efficient service, fine food and a warm and comfortable atmosphere. And for the children, it's lots of fun at Smig's Kids Club each evening! The Chalet Apartments enjoy the perfect location right opposite the Smiggins Hotel. The Chalet offers a range of modern studios and spacious one bedroom apartments. Guests staying at the Chalet Apartments enjoy all the facilities of the Smiggins Hotel including on-site parking and the comfort and convenience of a self-contained apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing