We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place For All Ages!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
“A Great Place For All Ages!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

No matter if theres snow or not Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments do not disappointment with entertainment, service and the beautiful staff. I have stayed here a couple times now and even though unfortunately there was minimal lifts operating at Smiggins, I still had the best of time thanks to the great facilities and service that Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments has on offer. They provide various entertainment on each day of the week that never fail to amuse! For example, at the beginning of the week, they have the magician/comedian/illusionist Adam Dean, and I know that all ages look forward to his acts. Then, there is the pool competition...a night to show off your hidden talents and win awesome prizes! There's also Karaoke Night. It doesn't matter what standard your vocals are or what age you are, it's all about having fun! Their entertainment accomodates all ages!

Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments never fail to disappoint. The manager and her staff should have a pat on the back for their well deserved efforts to facilitate and never failing to entertain such a large house!

I would highly recommend this place to anyone! Go there and I promise you will enjoy it, I did and so did everyone else staying with us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s-j0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights At Smiggins Hotel in the NSW snowfields.
We were in a party of 6 families comprising 20 adults and children
Even though there were only two of us, we booked a room in the chalet apartment so that we can stay with the group.
Upon arrival, we were greeted with a slushy, unsealed parking lot at the front entrance which does not befit an expensive hotel.
The Chalet Apartments are in a separate building about 200 meters up the hill from the main hotel.
The Chalet is in good condition. The common room, the corridors, the carpet, as well as our apartment, were clean, fresh, and well presented.
Our 3 person apartment is the size of an average two person hotel room. The size of the bathroom and shower reminds me of one I once saw in a submarine. "Arnie" will not fit in there! The room has a well equipped kitchenette which even has a dishwasher, an uncommon luxury in short stay apartments.
Other amenities are less generous. There is no tea, no coffee, no mini bar, no snack, milk or drink, no shower cap, no shampoo, no face towel, no safe, no computer connection, no sofa or soft chair, and no full length mirror.
Imagine this scenario:
You have just checked in at 5 pm after an 8 hour drive from Gosford. You would like to relax in your room and have a cup of coffee while your child wants a cold drink. There is no coffee or cold drink in your room. The nearest Woolie is 30 km away and there isn’t a Seven Eleven round the corner. No matter, tap water is healthy and does the job of quenching your thirst. You would like to wash your hair and have a shower before dinner, but you discover that there is no shampoo. OK, you decide not to wash your hair, but you discover that there is no shower cap! Wash your hair with no shampoo, no big deal! After shower, you wish to check your email, but there is no internet connection. WiFi service can be purchased from the reception desk, which is 200 meters down the road, but, you have been told that the modem is also situated there, which means your reception isn’t going to be too reliable. Fine, you have come to ski, don’t worry about email, just get dressed for dinner. You find that there is no mirror with which to adjust your attire! Fine, fashion is not important in the snowfield and nobody cares what you look like. Just hope dinner is less disappointing!
Luckily the dinner does not disappoint. There was a set menu which changes every night. For $50 a head, we had a three course meal which was professionally prepared and presented. The quality is as good as one would expect from any 4.5 star hotel. Even the coffee was made properly. This was a real saving grace for an otherwise disappointing experience.
Staffs at the hotel and the dining room were all very friendly and helpful. We later learned that all the things that we needed were available on request at the reception, or can be purchased from a little shop at the chalet if we had arrived earlier. Free coffee and tea were available in the common room.
Overall, apart from the meal, we find our apartment to be poor value for what we have paid for.
It would cost the hotel very little to provide some basic amenities. A bit of capital cost may be needed to refurbish the bathrooms and the car park and then it would be a really nice hotel. We have stayed in other hotels in Perisher and Thredbo at comparable cost. Smiggins Hotel Chalet Apartment is the most disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kittyhawkCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for this second time because it is RIGHT at the lifts, has everything needed for your ski trip on site as well as conveniently located lockers for storage and parking on site. Unfortunately it also has PAPER THIN walls so you will get to know your neighbours most 'intimate' moments and hear every nuance of their conversations. The food is average pub fair at snowfield inflated prices, and at lunch time during peak season today we waited in an extraordinarily long line for 50 minutes to be served. then we were told they were out of the 3 menu items requested and we waited a further 10 minutes for the items to be made available again. All this for very average food- Fish and chips ($14.00), wedges with sour cream ($7.00) and a slice of pizza ($5.00). There is no room service option, and alternatives are a take away restaurant on site, another within a 10 minute walk, or bus to another ski field up the road.
Last year they allowed us a late check out of 11:30am (regularly 10am) which was also a great incentive to return. This time around we were very rudely and abruptly informed by a male receptionist who obviously wasn't in a mood to be working, to be out by 10am with no exceptions.
Needless to say, we won't be returning to the Smiggins Hotel where we stayed last year, nor the Chalet Apartments where we stayed this year with the hopes of a little more privacy (unfortunately this wasn't available in this location either). They also informed us today that they don't provide any more assistance than a shovel if your car is snowed in, so part of your on snow time on your last day will need to be spent doing this if you've experienced heavy snow, as we have). The chalet apartments are a small walk from the main hotel, but in heavy snow and strong winds you'll regret even that small distance, especially in quite slippery conditions.

Room Tip: All rooms are not sound proofed and offer no privacy at all. Keep your voices low and bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KhrystynaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We would thoroughly recommend staying at Smiggins Hotel! What a fantastic winter holiday and the perfect location for families. From check in to check out our stay was wonderful. The Smiggins staff were always friendly, smiling & helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived early & were able to park right next to reception for the duration of our stay. We were given a locker to use while we waited for our room & the lovely ladies at reception called us when our rooms were ready. We had interconnecting rooms for 2A & 4C (age 7-11) queen bed & 4 singles. They were reasonable size hotel rooms but most importantly they were so clean, warm & comfortable! The rooms had compact but lovely clean ensuites with heated towel rails, good storage & wonderfully hot showers. Our rooms had comfortable beds, a really good size bar fridge, TV & a great amount of wardrobe storage. Our included breakfasts & dinner were all lovely. The kids enjoyed their supervised kids meals at 5.30pm & (free!) kids club 6-9pm each night where they enjoyed a variety of games & activities and looked forward to going in there :) my husband & I enjoyed drinks in the guest lounge, on comfy sofas in front of the fire before and after a lovely dinner each night. In addition to being a great hotel, Smiggins is located on top of a small shopping arcade, perisher ticket office & ski hire .. So convenient!! Picking up our on-line tickets & kids ski hire was very easy and the staff were also very patient & helpful. Our eldest loved his lessons & smigg kids all day program. All of our kids can't wait to go back and stay for longer next time. Everything about our stay was wonderful, we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had rooms 6 & 8, right around the corner from reception / hotel entrance. Great for returning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked the beginners package for adults and children. Because there was not much snow being the beginning of the season, we were given the opportunity to transfer our booking to another weekend. We appreciated the option to change however were not able to therefore took the risk and went on our booked date. On the first night we were the only family booked in and received first class service, we were treated like "royalty". That night the snow fell for the first time since May and we woke to a pretty coverage of "white" in the morning. The rooms are well catered for and warm. The dining and bar area was nice and comfortable. All staff were exceptional at Smiggings Hotel. The staff still provided all services i.e. kids club regardless of the limited number in attendance. A minor factor is the ensuites are small and one may be disappointed if excepting a larger bathroom with a bath. Due to limited snow at Smiggins we skied at Perisher which fulfilled our needs as beginners. There were mixed experiences with the staff at Perisher, with some who were friendly and helpful i.e. when being fitted for ski boots skis etc, but unfortunately a few were rude and arrogant which was not expected considering the nature of the business.
I would not hesitate to return to Smiggins Hotel and recommend it for families or couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec12Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wonderfully warm and friendly atmosphere, great presented rooms and amenities.
I was there for the long June weekend's music festival. Pity there was no snow, but the music around the whole resort made up for it.
The self cooked food from the bistro, along with the salad buffet was fresh and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet left nothing wanting, impressed that the hot food was being cooked in small batches, so it was always fresh, nice touch.
It says a lot for the quality of management when all the staff are genuinely happy and courteous.
Did miss SBS on the TV, but the layout of the lounge, encourages residents to chat to each other, it's not just the wood fire that's warm

Room Tip: The hotel is in the mountains, I don't think anyone would be disappointed with the views from an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Smigs is an excellent ski-in, ski-out hotel which makes it ideal for families and couples alike. Our experiences are always positive, as it is run like a well oiled machine by Belinda Shore. The location is ideal, the rooms are spotless and cleaned daily, the amenities like the lounge and the actual pub are great value as are the different entertainment offerings. Breakfast is included and is stock standard. Dinner on the other hand can be had at the bistro or dining room where the food is excellent. Smigs run 'Smigs kids' and children are well looked after. The staff are very courteous, helpful and friendly. Would we recommend it? Definitely. We wouldn't keep coming back otherwise. One small suggestion is that despite having a sauna, a spa or indeed an onsen (!) would be awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paularedWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiggin Holes
0.5 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
66 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
69 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sponars Chalet
Sponars Chalet
#12 of 22 in Kosciuszko National Park
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments

Property: Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Address: Corroborree Road, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Smiggin Holes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiggins Hotel is ideally situated on snow at the base of the Smiggins ski lifts. Smiggins has 9 ski lifts for beginner to intermediate skiers. The Link T-Bar provides direct access by either Telemark T-Bar or the Interceptor Quad Chair to Perisher, Blue Cow and Guthega ski areas. Smiggins Hotel is renowned for friendly and efficient service, fine food and a warm and comfortable atmosphere. And for the children, it's lots of fun at Smig's Kids Club each evening! The Chalet Apartments enjoy the perfect location right opposite the Smiggins Hotel. The Chalet offers a range of modern studios and spacious one bedroom apartments. Guests staying at the Chalet Apartments enjoy all the facilities of the Smiggins Hotel including on-site parking and the comfort and convenience of a self-contained apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing