We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay on the snow”
Review of Snowy Gums Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snowy Gums Chalet
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great place to stay on the snow”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here as a group recently and everyone had the best time. The rooms are spacious with really comfy and warm beds and it's location couldn't be better - right in the snow near the lifts! Meals were plentiful and tasty, we can't wait to come back. John at the front desk was very helpful and assisted us when needed. It was nice to sit by the open fire after dinner too.

Room Tip: Make sure you book parking at the chalet, otherwise you have to park about 15 minutes away and get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Excellent location in snow. Staff are all very friendly. Dinner, bed and Breakfast included. 2 nights dinner so far, great tasting, just a shame it's alternate drop, but guess it works for them. And compared to other on snow accom, $240pn is a bargain. I will be back for sure, a great family feel to the place with a happy hour every night! Well done Johno!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetset23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just got back from snowy gums and have had the best and most relaxing stay ever, the hotel staff are very nice, the chef in particular is quite easy on the eye and his food is exellent, love the atmosphere at nights and the group room we had was wonderful, have told all our friends about it.
Thanks snowy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney_girlz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just come back from our second stay at Snowy Gums in 2 weeks and have already booked our third trip late August. We love the location, good prices, happy with the food and the staff are great. A special mention about Jono the reservation manager, he is fantastic and couldn't be more helpful. We booked our return trip based on the service we recieved on the first trip and the second one proved even better. The first trip we had heavy snow falls and being from the city, we needed alot of help and advice about our car and chains etc. Jono was great. He also made sure our daughters dietary requirements were catered for. The rooms were well heated and clean, great fire place in the bar and the kids had the best time playing games with all the other kids at the lodge!!!! Like I said this will not be our last trip to Snowy Gums, and would recommend this lodge!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It helped that the Snowy mountains had recently had the best week of snowfall for years, but what I think helped more was the recent change of ownership and management at Snowy Gums since we stayed here last year. We stayed with 5 other families and the ambience has improved. The food has also improved, with now adequate portions for adults, although still not for the kids. The service has improved -in general- and there are signs that effort is being made to improve the chalet itself, such as the new snowboard storage. Some signs of cost cutting are still evident, such as the 1 light bulb rule. Overall, an obvious improvement on last years Snowy Gums.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJand3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked snowy gums last minute because we usually stay at smiggins hotel and it was full. The manager Jono was so nice and welcoming and the rest of the staff were lovely. The place is warm and comfy and you feel like you are at home at the end of a days skiing. There are no televisions in the room but we had a great time sitting in the communal tele room as the guests that go there seem nice too a lot of them are regulars and I can see why. We will go back there and the food is fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: We found the king bed and two singles good for a couple with two children. We found it very quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent the opening weekend at Snowy Gums
The chalet was well located with extremely friendly & helpful staff. The food was excellent cant wait to return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiggin Holes
6.3 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
1.3 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sponars Chalet
Sponars Chalet
#8 of 22 in Kosciuszko National Park
57 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Gums Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Gums Chalet

Property: Snowy Gums Chalet
Address: Plum Pine Rd, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Smiggin Holes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowy Gums Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowy Gums is located in Smiggin Holes (part of Perisher Ski Resort) and only 120m to the ski lifts. It has outstanding facilities such as massive spa, sauna, games room, drying room with boot dryer and guest laundry. Relax after a hard days ski around the huge fire as you enjoy a drink from the Cascades Bar and enjoy a fully cooked breakfast each morning and a 3 course dinner each night from the popular Waterfalls Restaurant, as part of your nightly room rate. You can drive right to the front door and unload all your ski gear and there is also limited parking at the chalet itself - so much better than lugging your gear up ski tube or loading and unloading into oversaw transport. Snowy Gums welcomes families and provides fun entertainment at night to make your stay in the snow a complete on-snow experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Snowy Gums Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing