We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Snowy Gums Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snowy Gums Chalet
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent the opening weekend at Snowy Gums
The chalet was well located with extremely friendly & helpful staff. The food was excellent cant wait to return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have skiied in Snowy Mountains on and off over the past 10 years - I used to stay at the Ski Rider (a budget place just inside the national park) but last year stayed at Snowy Gums on a recommendation of a friend. Have to say the difference for a really decent price was amazing!

Staying at Smiggins was terrific - its a great ski to and from the front valley and the setting is really idyllic. We expected it to be quite quiet but the pub has a good night life - with a lot of the guys who work on the mountain heading there after work. The restaurants are also generally cheaper and we found the food really good at Snowy Gums. All the characters running the place are laid back and ready to please. The place has a great atmosphere and we will definitely be going back again this year (ski season permitting!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cloba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have stayed twice at Snowy Gums with family and friends. Great dining and a friendly host make this a special place. Improvements are gradually taking place like comfortable beds etc. Bathroom lighting could be better. Rooms do not have television but hey, you should be too tired from skiing to notice. Spend quality time with your friends in the cosy bar area with the open fire. Loft rooms not for little children though. Great location and has on-site parking if you book ahead.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ged4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it so much we bought 4 more couples! Its a great position in the snow. We have spent over 20 years going to the snow. Some of the places we've stayed have been wonderful and some awful. This suits us the most. The lounge areas are warm and inviting with an open fire and bar. The meals are good quality, (can improve on the breakfasts) the spa and sauna are well maintained. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. There are always little things that can be improved upon however Mel listens and takes these things into account. They sometimes have entertainment, easy listenening. They had a wine and cheese night while we were there. Its great to have the car handy although this needs to be booked if wanting it on site. I would highly recommend this chalet. A good tip is to book directly with the lodge. That way you'll always be assured of getting all the right information.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are similar however if extras staying, some rooms have a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunnyDebW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

The chalet is quite well located just a short walk across the carpark to the snow. It has parking on site for a fee and booked in advance. We were a family of 4 adults sharing a room with a king bed (2 singles pushed together) with a mezzanine level and 3 single beds. The shower had heaps of hot flowing water, the beds were large and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. In the main our dinners and breakfasts were very good. Plenty of seating areas for us to congregate before and after dinner and the ambiance of the hotel is very nice.
I have to be honest and mention a couple of things where improvement can be made!
At breakfast time everyone wants a cup of tea or coffee and there is only 1 jug which has to be boiled and a queue of 10 people can be found impatiently waiting - and rightly so!
Two of the 3 mornings there was plenty of food, but our last breakfast they were really struggling to provide food - no bacon, no pancakes, no fruit and of course the coffee queue!
In our room the lighting was very poor - no bedside light and impossible to read.
When your paying $450 a night per couple and you ask for an extra bread roll I think it should be forthcoming quick smart!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Staff were extremely accommodating and even though the travel agent had mislead us with our car parking facilities, the manager was extremely helpful in resolving the issue. Warning to anyone that does book with travel agent; if paying for car parking ensure you ask if this is onsite or offsite. Offsite is obviously cheaper but you will not be able to use your car, without catching the hotel shuttle, as the car park is 9km away. Also, if parking in the national park you will need to pay the national park fees for the full duration of your stay.

The rooms were simple yet clean and comfortable and the food was divine! We had 3 course alternate drop dishes each night & I could not fault any of them.

Easy access and close to slopes. Just want you need after a full day in the snow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FizzyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Snowy Gums is an awesome place to stay! My husband and I stayed here this year with our toddler and enjoyed good food, great service and had a wonderful time! The rooms are warm with comfy new beds and my husband made sure he enjoyed a daily dip in the sauna after a day on the slopes. Snowy Gums is in a great location. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and we enjoyed entertainment suitable to all ages. Great TV room upstairs and internet kiosk available. We wouldn't stay anywhere else! I stayed here last year with a toddler in tow after my husband's business committments prevented him accompanying me. I couldn't fault the staff/service and facilities last year and the staff made sure what could have turned into an arduous task was an enjoyable holiday. Snowy Gums can boast family friendly facilities that are also great for a romantic weekend away or groups. We will be back again before the end of season and are already thinking of the best time to travel to Snowy Gums next year. Thanks to Mel and her team for making my second trip to Smiggins so awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat255331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiggin Holes
1.4 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
6.3 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sponars Chalet
Sponars Chalet
#12 of 22 in Kosciuszko National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Gums Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Gums Chalet

Property: Snowy Gums Chalet
Address: Plum Pine Rd, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Smiggin Holes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowy Gums Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snowy Gums Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing