We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite spots in New Zealand!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wedderburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots in New Zealand!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a great place to spend a night on the rail trail! Cute cottages with a killer view and the morning's breakfast in the fridge. Yeah, life is good!

Rolled in for our second night on the trail and couldn't believe how nicely the property has been developed. A short walk down the hill brings you to the Wedderburn Tavern and the best roast lamb platter in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have done the rail trail twice and the Wedderburn cottages are by far the best deal for B&B we have had so far. Lovely and clean and new. Amazing setting and view. Excellent continental breakfast. Perfect for rail trailers! So glad we stayed here. Biked all the way through to Middelmarch form here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Loraine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We cycled the Central Otago Rail Trail and spent one night at The Lodge which is a lovely old house. The house is self contained, has three bedrooms, a couple of living rooms, small kitchen and bathroom. There were five of us and so we had the whole place to ourselves. The kitchen and bathroom were basic but fine. A good breakfast was included. There is a very good heater in the centre of the house which kept us warm at night as the outside temp did drop. We ate at the local tavern. And there are great sunset views from the house.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Very tidy clean cottages right on the Otago Rail Trail with beautiful views and friendly framing hosts. Great pub meal close by at the Wedderburn Tavern, highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bung91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Billed as self-contained cottages, we expected a stand-alone unit, but most actually contain 2 units, so you share a wall with a neighbour - we listened to ours laughing and droning on for hours, and every time they opened their door or walked on the deck it was very loud. The cottage units area all quite new, but too small to be comfortable. There is a tiny kitchenette with microwave and kettle, but the only table and chairs to sit and have a meal are outside on the deck, which is not much help if it's cold or rainy. With lots of kids running around, it was not exactly a peaceful spot, despite the nice views of rolling hills and those lovely Otago skies. They are almost completely geared towards the rail trail, and to be honest if you spent the day getting tired and sweaty on your bike, this would probably seem be a great place to spend the night, as long as you wanted to have your meals at the tavern and not in your room. Frankly $150 felt like too much for the amenities and setting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

After 40km of riding the Otago Rail Trail most beds look good but the cottages at Wedderburn make the end of the day a treat.
The rail trail passes through the middle of the cottages so it is possible to only have to go 10 metres from the trail to your room. The cottages are self contained with their own bathroom and kitchen. The furniture choice in our room was unusual with one chair and a footlocker (I guess if it is wet or snowing you could bring in the small table and chairs from the deck).
The only choice for eating in Wedderburn is the tavern which does huge reasonably priced meals but don't cross the owner, he has got a sharp tongue.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BJroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2010

best place we stayed on the rail trail. wonderful set up. like little rail cottages. deck faces east, so brekkie is in the sun looking out over the big sky that is central otago. we didn't eat at the wedderburn pub, as we were booked to go curling at Naseby and then dinner at the Ancient Britton pub. that was great. curling is a must. the owners of the cottages are wonderful and "dad" is fountain of info about the area. highly, highly recommended.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zanycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn

Property: The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn
Address: 85 State Highway | Central Otago, Wedderburn 9355, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Wedderburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wedderburn
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing