We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of La Pillebourdiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pillebourdiere
Ranked #1 of 2 Oisly B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a superb B&B and Sue is a lovely host. The bedroom was very comfortable and roomy - decorated tastefully with a lovely sitting area. The bathroom was beautiful with an amazing walk-in shower. Our breakfast was served in the equally comfortable dining room and was also really good - we particularly liked the range of local breads and the home made jams and yoghurt. So much more than the usual continental breakfast. We visited in November but could well imagine how lovely it would be to sit outside in the courtyard in warmer weather. Sue was very friendly and helpful. We would recomend this B&B to anyone. It is the best place we have stayed in France. Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambolonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

This lovely B&B was as beautiful as the pictures indicate on the website. The onsite owner, Sue, has clearly thought out every meticulous detail. Her taste was impeccable. She offers expert guidance about the region's great many attractions, and even secured a causal late-night dinner spot for us at the very last minute. We were in the main farmhouse, where the rooms were airy and spacious. One of our sons roomed with us and the other two had an adjacent room; all were satisfied with the arrangement. Breakfast was delightful, and the strawberry jam was the best we've tasted. You could happily spend a week in this region and under Sue's roof.

Room Tip: Just ask Sue for her recommendation. She responds to emails swiftly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizannand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This b&b is absolutely gorgeous, located in peaceful area of the loire valley its the perfect place for a quiet getaway. We stayed for three nights, the room was immaculate - very spacious. A delicious breakfast of croissants, breads, cereals and fresh fruits was served each morning at a time that suited us. Sue was a brilliant host, we hadn't planned what to do and she suggested locations and arranged tickets for each of the places we wanted to visit. Would highly recommend La Pillebourdiere to anyone heading to the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was with my girlfriend in this bed and breackfast in August 2011, without reservation(i recommend booking) luckily we found a double room, the owners are spectacular,very nice,although for us it was a bab a little bit far from our itinerary they have filled this gup with their kindness..thank u very much!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodimaggio19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sue was the most wonderful hostess! Two couples stayed here and had the best time.
Every detail was taken care of with loving detail. The room was spacious and so comfortable.
The property was in perfect condition and it was such a treat to stay there.

Room Tip: Just count your lucky stars if you have a chance to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Instanttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Having had the privelige of knowing Sue and Edouard as friends for many years before, a stay at La Pillebourdiere was a must. This finally happened 2 years ago and the memory of it still remains with us. We had a wonderful time, visited chateaux, the mushroom cave, ate splendidly both with our hosts, in a local restaurant and by ourselves. We cycled and explored. On one day when we were cycling and the weather was a bit unpredicatable, Edouard even offered to keep the keys to our car and in the event of rain, he would have driven out to pick us up from wherever we were, such is the service you get. Fortunately it did not rain that day.

Sue and Edouard keep a room free for us - we are hoping to be back probably this year - if you have room for us with all these wonderfully satisfied guests that you have.

Martin & Nelly

Room Tip: If you haven't been - go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinoftolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I just received an email from Sue that this B & B is suspending operations as Edouard has been taken gravely ill.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank TVC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oisly
8.9 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
284 reviews
9.6 mi away
Les Jardins de Beauval
Les Jardins de Beauval
#1 of 3 in Saint-Aignan
2,752 reviews
12.0 mi away
Les Pierres d'Aurele
Les Pierres d'Aurele
#1 of 10 in Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Vallee des Vignes Chambres d'Hotes
Vallee des Vignes Chambres d'Hot...
#1 of 5 in Monthou-sur-Cher
170 reviews
14.1 mi away
La Maison du Carroir
La Maison du Carroir
#1 of 20 in Blois
264 reviews
7.3 mi away
L'Escale des Chateaux de la Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pillebourdiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pillebourdiere

Address: 18 route du Vivier, 41700 Oisly, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Oisly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oisly
Price Range: $87 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Loire valley, surrounded by the vineyards of Touraine and within easy reach of some of the most beautiful castles of France, we welcome you at la Pillebourdiere, an old wine farm built in 1813 which has been converted into a comfortable and peaceful B & B, making it the perfect setting to explore the splendour and history of days gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Pillebourdiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing