We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elegant Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$36
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$44
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Hills Kandy(Heerassagala)
$187
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Change Hotel(Heerassagala)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$39
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveler rating
350
65
12
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
65
12
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuksri lankaswimming poolsunrise and sunsetamazing viewsbeautiful gardenbreakfast tablestayed longerfresh juiceoff the beaten trackdahlhotel ownersmall hotelpeace and quietwould highly recommend this hotelloved this hotelfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 427 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

everything was just wonderful: the view, the rooms, the staff, the food (even from scramble eggs they try to make haute cuisine!!), the garden. We experienced the beds as quit hard but well that is maybe personal. We were travelling with our two children of 3 and 5. For them (and therefore for us as well) it would be even more perfect if there was a swimming pool as well. But even without that we had a lovely stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kwenkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We do highly appreciate for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality trade.

We have also awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" from tripadvisor for year 2013.

While thanking you again, we do hope you will visit us in your next vacation, where we will be ready with more facilities and services to make your stay even more.

Management and Staff of
Elegant Hotel, Kandy, Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This well-kept and quiet guest house is about 30 minutes from Kandy (but don't let that put you off - it's a blessing). Kandy town is fairly busy and uninspiring and so staying out in the surrounding area is a good idea in my mind.

The hotel is very well located overlooking some lovely hill ranges. The balconies for eating are weonderful - very peaceful. The house itself is well appointed with excellent gardens and a really pleasant feel to it.

The bedroom was very good - with opening to a balcony overlooking the said hills. TV and bathroom as well as A/C meant you had all you might want.

The owner and staff are the real draw though. Genuine warmth and compassion made the stay memorable. They are excellent for arranging local tours (we had a day trip arranged to go to the elephant sanctuary at Pinnawale, the botanical gardens and the town of Kandy itself for 3,500 Rs which was great. The owner can also arrange an excellent value taxi transfer for 7,500 Rs which I would recommend for both convenience and comfort as well as value.

An excellent place to stay - probably the best property we stayed in in SL and one I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank XYZ736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We do highly appreciate for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality trade.

We have also awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" from tripadvisor for year 2013.

While thanking you again, we do hope you will visit us in your next vacation, where we will be ready with more facilities and services to make your stay even more.

Management and Staff of
Elegant Hotel, Kandy, Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were booked to stay at the beautiful Elegant Hotel for two nights in July, following weeks of rain in Kandy. As others have said it’s a long way out of town, poorly signed and not at all easy to find (our driver was Kandy born and bred and he had never heard of it) but obviously the end result is well worth the trip.

The main reason for this review is to warn people to take great care if there has been a lot of rain. We phoned ahead to tell the owner that we were on our way and he didn’t warn us in any way about the state of road, which proved to be steep, deeply muddy, unsealed and downright dangerous. We very nearly came to grief. After winding our way up the hillside in the dark for what seemed like forever, my partner and our driver were both becoming anxious. Eventually we came to a spot where other vehicles had obviously been bogged recently and that was our undoing. Our driver attempted to continue, but our hired Toyota people-mover sank into the mud, spun, lost traction and began to slide rapidly sideways and backwards down the hill. When it stopped briefly, our driver yelled 'get out, get out!' so we jumped into the red mud and watched anxiously as he continued to slither the vehicle back down the hillside. In the end, we weren’t able to stay at the hotel because I wasn’t willing to risk our children’s lives in order to get there and I don’t think we would ever have made it past the boggy area anyway.

We phoned the owner and he offered to send a tuk tuk but, frankly, I think that would have been even less safe than the van.

This hotel is obviously an absolute joy (hence the 5 stars; I don't want to imply that there is anything wrong with the property) but our experience in trying to get there was downright scary. Please, if there has been a lot of rain, check very carefully to ensure the roads are passable and safe and only arrive and leave in daylight.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Laonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We do highly appreciate for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality trade.

We have also awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" from tripadvisor for year 2013.

While thanking you again, we do hope you will visit us in your next vacation, where we will be ready with more facilities and services to make your stay even more.

Management and Staff of
Elegant Hotel, Kandy, Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We LOVED this hotel! It's pretty hard to find, but your troubles are worth it! The area the hotel is in is very peaceful, romantic, beautiful and the hotel manager makes sure that all your wishes will come true (at least the wishes that he can grand). We stayed for 5 nights but it felt like only 2, time flew! The food is a bit on the expensive side, but the curry is well worth it. If we're back in kandy than we will come back for sure! Absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SU198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We do highly appreciate for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality trade.

We have also awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" from tripadvisor for year 2013.

While thanking you again, we do hope you will visit us in your next vacation, where we will be ready with more facilities and services to make your stay even more.

Management and Staff of
Elegant Hotel, Kandy, Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

An excellent place with breathtaking view of mountain and garden. All details such as flower, room and even meal arrangement embody elegance under the careful management of its owner.The only thing regretful is that we just stayed one night and left the next morning. I love the garden surrounding the hotel and enjoyed the long talk with the owner, Udaya. All things here are perfect, so do NOT hesitate to choose this hotel!

PS. The owner told me there is going to be a swimming pool just beside the exotic garden, from where one may enjoy the mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

It is with great pleasure I would like to Thank You for the tripadvisor comment you have made on us. Thank you very much again for the interest you shown on us. Hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Management & Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews