We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, okay located, but service is a bit underwhelming.”
Review of Baan Suwantawe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Suwantawe
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pros:
- Nice rooms.
- Really great hotel pool
- Free wifi

Cons:
- No breakfast
- Not great service
- No airport pick up
- Bad showers - either very hot or very cold
- Unattended reception very often.

It was a fine hotel. Not great, but okay. The rooms were nice, and the staff are nice enough, but not as attentive as other hotels we experienced in Thailand (Bangkok loft inn is recommended).
The pool is nice. Rooms are big. Showers aren't great. It's not a bad place to stay, just not great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Baan Suwantawe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 342 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a stop over before getting the ferry to the islands early the following morning, but we could have happily stayed for longer! The rooms were lovely, spacious and clean, with balcony’s overlooking the pool area. The mini bar had supermarket prices and so was very cheap for a mini bar. The staff were welcoming and helpful, booking us a taxi for the morning and giving us information about where to buy the ferry tickets. Located in Phuket Town rather than the main beachy areas of Phuket we found there wasn’t really much around the hotel other than a few restaurants and shops, but the restaurant opposite the hotel ‘Lemongrass’ was cheap and served fantastic food, some of the best we tasted in Thailand! We would definitely recommend this hotel, even if it was, like us, for a stop over before getting an early ferry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is modern and very clean. Our room was very large with comfortable beds, aircon, flat screen tv,fridge with cheap mini bar and nice bathroom. The rooms have balconies over looking the lovely little pool which provides towels for you to borrow. The staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money, close to shops, bars, restaurants and on the edge of the old town which is pretty.The only draw back was that there wasn't an in room safe but that is a minor point.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina09H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 18th March 2013 after staying at SIno House.Both these places are very near to one another and rooms are equally big though i find this hotel decor is better especially with the swimming pool and the orchids.The gentleman manning the counter in the morning (Chuan) was very conversant in English and told me where to top up the sim card which i bought from the airport.Very fast in responding to my emails before arrival. There is even a sofa in the room.A big not mini fridge is included with items at nominal price.Very advisable to get a local sim card at the airport (true move)as you can make cheap local and international calls.Top up at local convenience stores such as 7-eleven or fresh mart. They are strictly on rooms only. No tours and breakfast provided. However diagionally opposite is Lemongrass where you can eat. Phuket is very quiet at night. So 1 night is enough. Can recommend this place for its large spacious room with decor and english speaking staff

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jude2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good clean rooms , quite and centrally located , rooms facing pool are quite and the overall service is vey good . There are some decent places to eat opposite the hotel. The rooms are large, with flat screen tv ,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for just one night(wished have stayed more) in Baan Suwantawe. Checking in and out is smooth and the room is huge, clean and comfortable. Very value for money hotel in phuket town and i would recommend you to look no further and stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latkasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at Baan Suwantawe and found it to be one of the cleanest and best value for money hotels in Thailand.

The price is brilliant and the staff were helpful as well. We ate one of the best meals in Thailand on a recommendation from the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
0.1 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 90 in Phuket Town
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#2 of 90 in Phuket Town
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 328 in Patong
741 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
0.8 mi away
The Malika Hotel
The Malika Hotel
#1 of 9 in Talat Yai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Suwantawe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suwantawe

Address: 1/10 Dibuk Rd., Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
#8 Best Value Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: $27 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Suwantawe 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Suwantawe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Suwantawe Hotel Phuket Town
Baan Suwantawe Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing