We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day I've ever spent on the water!!”

John Gray's Sea Canoe
Ranked #2 of 199 Tours in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: After 12 years designing and developing one of the World's most highly awarded Ecotourism companies, John "Caveman" Gray goes his own way by forming "John Gray's SeaCanoe" with 18 of his most loyal and experienced guides. "After 12 years in Phuket, the experiment ran its course and I was packing for Polynesia," says Gray, "but when all these guides showed up, I had no choice but to stay and do another start-up."
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best day I've ever spent on the water!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Well, where do i start? I cant give enough praise regarding the sea canoe trip(Hong by Starlight). It was amazing! Money well spent for anyone looking for tranquil, untouched natural beauty & local wildlife AWAY FROM THE TOURIST MASSES! Simply put, when you're visiting your 1st Hong(Cave) aroung 2pm, all the other tour companies are visiting their last one of the day. So you've practically got the Hongs to yourself until well into the evening. The Hongs were like nothing I've ever seen before, and the bio-luminescent plankton was well worth the wait. Although, to really appreciate it, get your guide to take you to a dark corner of the cave, because the light from the Kratongs makes the plankton hard to see. The tour was very well organised, all catered for with no hidden fees for life jackets or waterproof bags etc. The food was beautiful. The boat crew were excellent, spoke good english, it was clear they enjoyed their job and were all good mates. They made the day fun and entertaining. The main guide(Farouk) was such a lovely guy. He was very knowledgeable & happy to answer any questions. Thanks Farouk!! It was a great day. I will be recommending 'Hong by Starlight' to everyone I know! Thank you John Gray for going the extra mile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,966
    169
    47
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does exactly what it says on the tin...brilliant! ”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

It's a great trip, well worth the money. Beautiful scenery, excellent attentive (but not over the top) service, and lots of fun.
It's the attention to detail I liked about this trip, would quite happily recommend to the whole spectrum of tourists alike.

Helpful?
1 Thank nayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the Best Trips - Hong by Starlight”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I don't really write reviews unless it's really worth the shout out. I have been on many of such tours, and so far, Hong By Starlight is one of the best guided tours I have done in Thailand. The guides were friendly, the (home cooked) food was great, and the experiences in the caves were unforgettable. The whole trip was extremely well organized and well thought-out i.e waterproof bags were provided for everyone to store any valuables and camera.

Love the last part of the tour where we get to see glowing planktons in the water and big bright stars in the sky. Well, this trip can be quite costly (SGD160/person) compared to the rest of the tour packages, but you pay for what you get. After a long day of activities, we were chauffeured back to our hotel in our very own private mini bus, which i thought was a sweet gesture.

Don't forget to bring:
1) your camera, sunglasses, sunblock
2) Towel
3) Oh! and don't forget to bring money to tip your guide!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EstherSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best way to see Phang Nga Bay!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I have been living in Thailand for over a year and this is the most beautiful thing we've done in Thailand thus far. Phang Nga Bay is breathtakingly beautiful and John Gray's company makes sure no to go when there are 20 other kayaks around you. If you can splurge, go for the camping overnight. It's expensive, but they set up camp for you and cook you breakfast in the morning! The best part of the trip was the following morning when we went out paddling with our guide in another kayak leading us through the sea caves; it was so peaceful to be the ONLY people in the lagoon listening to nothing but the echoes of birds chirping and monkeys jumping through the trees. Great food, guide and unforgettable adventure!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this trip based on a recommendation from friends and it was amazing!!
The entire trip was well organized, the food was outstanding (for boat food...) and the guides were great with the children.

HIGHLY recommend this trip for anyone visiting Phuket.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Gray's Sea Canoe also viewed

Thalang District, Phuket
Koh Kaew, Phuket Town
 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to John Gray's Sea Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing