We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An engaging and educational trip with lots of fun”

John Gray's Sea Canoe
Ranked #2 of 199 Tours in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: After 12 years designing and developing one of the World's most highly awarded Ecotourism companies, John "Caveman" Gray goes his own way by forming "John Gray's SeaCanoe" with 18 of his most loyal and experienced guides. "After 12 years in Phuket, the experiment ran its course and I was packing for Polynesia," says Gray, "but when all these guides showed up, I had no choice but to stay and do another start-up."
bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An engaging and educational trip with lots of fun”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My family and I had the opportunity to go on the sea canoe trip organized by John Gray and we had a fantastic experience. We saw the most amazing sights including the moments in the "hong", the lighting of the lamp after sunset with an insight into why we are doing it. The crew engaged the entire team and our guide Luis showed us and explained a lot about the sights and the birds and animals we saw. He was very informed and patient with our queries and engaged us all through the trip in a very caring manner.
What also impressed us was the fact that the trip ensured the safety and protection of the environment around. Thank you for a wonderful experience

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank debupatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,966
    169
    47
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting tour guides were informative and friendly, this tour avoided the tourist busy areas and gave great insight to the true nature of this area
Value for money good food as well

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing day, one of the best of our entire trip”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had an amazing day and night on the Hong by Starlight trip. We had the privilege of John Gray joining us on our trip which was so special, he is clearly very passionate about his work, it was an honour.
When we first set off we were a little worried about the size of the group until we were allocated our tour guide (one guide for every two guests) who was called Golf. He was John Gray's nephew and has clearly learnt a great deal from the big guy himself. We were on and off the boat in the canoes, exploring the caves and swimming in the sea throughout the trip and Golf was full of knowledge. We were always last to get back on the boat because Golf wanted to show us more and more all the time.
The food on the boat trip was brilliant, we couldn't believe that they produced it all downstairs on a boat, it was nicer then some of the restaurants that we ate in!
The highlight of the trip was releasing the flower tokens in the cave in the dark, it was wonderful experience, especially seeing the glow in the dark plankton!
There are many canoe trips advertised in Phuket but I will always recommend this one, it is a little more expensive than some of the others but worth every penny. Great for families, couples and groups of friends. I would also recommend booking in advance to avoid disappointment. Thank you John Gray for a day we will never forget.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I took this amazing tour with my sister and son and it was the most wonderful day of our trip. So many different experiences packed into one day, but none of it rushed. The crew and guides were just the loveliest people, the food was the best Thai food I ate in 12 days and we saw the most amazing sights. The night time visit to the caves, the offerings of Krathong you get to help make, and paddling through the luminescent algae made for a truly spiritual ending to the tour. We all loved it and its a must do if you're staying the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JodzACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Well run trip by Hong by starlight”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a boat trip called Hong by starlight, was a very good family day or couples in fact any group really. You go out on a boat out to various Islands where you then go by canoe to a bat cave and through to a logoon, its a very good trip great expeience and well ran. Our tour operator was very entertaining and was very informative. You have a guide to paddle you through the caves and lagoons so ver relaxing. They provide drinks a lots of food, in fact the lunch on board was really delicous!!!
Great value for money and not too crowded so that is always nice. You make laterns which you then light a send out into the loggon a sunset very traquil and different for us to do. We had a very nice guide named Peter who spoke perfect English and really gave us lots of information about the whole day the area we were in and anything else you asked.
Would highly recommend to any age group.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank colette287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Gray's Sea Canoe also viewed

Thalang District, Phuket
Koh Kaew, Phuket Town
 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to John Gray's Sea Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing