We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and hardly any taste”
Review of The Taste

The Taste
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Taste
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Phuket Town
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very basic and hardly any taste”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We 'had to' go to Phuket to see friends and had decided to stay away from the big resort areas. While the location (in central Phuket Town) is great, the hotel was pretty basic and it had definitely nothing to do with the website. The main problem was the staff - nice, but absolutely not trained. Hardly any English was spoken at the time of our visit. I understand the hotel had just been bought by the Sri Hotels Group, who had just finished building the Sri Tara hotel in Chiang Mai (where we had stayed and which we had loved). Now the Sri Tara is in different hands and the Group still owns the Taste as well as the Sri Lanta in Koh Lanta (where I also stayed and for which I also have mixed feelings). If I went back, I would check the rooms before making a booking.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephaneRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Their website makes the Taste to be some small boutique hotel. This is quite the opposite. "The piano bar" was a old grand piano sitting on a sad, stained shag carpet; while the bar itself is where you check in with about 5 bottles of booze and right next to the living room of the staff . We supposedly booked a garden veranda room that was said to be quiet and in the back of the building. Once we were led up the filthy stairs and hallway I knew it wasn't going to be good. The room was small, very dirty and our balcony was over the noisy Rassada Rd. The person's balcony next to ours was separated by a couple small potted plants. Not exactly a nice, private room to end our honeymoon with, as the website and staff had promised. Within 2 minutes of our rooms' inspection we found it small, the bathroom absolutely disgusting, the front door did not lock(it was merely a glass revolving door), balcony door didn't even meet the door jam so street noise and air conditioning was a loss. The worst was when I spotted 2 holes in the floor that looked directly down to the lobby. We grabbed our bags and took a taxi to the other hotel we stayed in earlier in our trip, cheaper, bigger, cleaner, quieter(The Sino House).

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phuket Town hotels

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

We stayed here for one night on the way to Koh Lanta. Nothing else in the Lonely Planet appealed so we went for this. I left thinking that it was oerpriced.

I think it is trying too hard. As noted in other reviews, it is very stylish. The lobby/bar area is all muted creams, chandeliers, white grand piano, low benches. It looks like something out of a magazine. It's a really nice bar but maybe better in Bangkok. It was empty the night we stayed, perhaps because drinks are pretty pricey.

The hotel had only 3 rooms full that night. Our room was 'shabby chic', more on the side of the shabby. The bathroom was pretty cool but the windows didn't close which wasn;t great from the point of view of air con or mosquitos. We asked to move to a room with a window which closed. Rather than offer us an equivalent room or an upgrade, as is usual practice if a room is faulty, they offered us a box room with no window at all which we found rude. It made them seem very greedy and just after our money. We didn't want to complain as we had booked our ferry ticket and transfer to the ferry with them, and didnt want to risk any problems with that.

Breakfast was lovely. Our transfer was quite late. Do not book your tickets through the hotel, you can do it much more cheaply with one of the local travel agents.

Disappointing.

  • Liked — Nice-looking bar
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff and the box room they gave us
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloughieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2007

This is the most interesting hotel/B&B I have stayed in. The whole place is decorated in a very stylish fashion.

The room itself was open plan so there was only a half wall dividing the bathroom and sleeping area. This style would work best for couples/close friends as there isn't a lot of privacy to get changed or go to the toilet silently! There was no window or bright overhead light in the room so it was a bit dim at night except for the 2 or so lamps and decorative lighting.

It was low season when we went so one night when the owners had a party they invited us along which was really sweet!

Location wise, the hotel is pretty convenient, within walking distance to restaurants, a supermarket, massages and travel agents.

  • Liked — Unique
  • Disliked — Dim in room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiuraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

After arriving at this hotel I discovered I had lost my passport. The lady at the front desk negotiated in Thai (which I do not speak) to help me recover it. Without her assistance my trip would have been ruined, and I would not have fallen in love, but that's another story...

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank idreamofjinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

We stayed in this hotel because we arrived quite late in Phuket city (after a long bus ride) and did not want to go to a beach straightly. The old name of the hotel is 'XVI' and is listed in the Lonely Planet travelguide.

I have contacted the hotel from the busstation per phone and was offered a room for 1500Baht without breakfast (the hotel was almost booked up). After a little bit of bargaining we got a room for 1300Baht breakfast included.

While checking in at the lobby things have changed. The price still was 1300Baht but no breakfast included and an extra 200B for breakfast...... I was to tired to leave.

The rooms: I would call them 'boutique-style' but run down already. Our small room had no windows and was on the ground level (don't go there if you are a claustrophobic!) The adjoining room was identical. As an alternative there should be some rooms with windows to the road, but the woman at the lobby told us, that it is too loud to sleep there.

The room has not been cleaned up properly, in the shower has been some mold, dust in every corner.

Breakfast was ok, but was no compensation for the other problems.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuckerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

website for hotel:---
full contact info (from website):
The Taste Phuket

16-18 Rassada Road, Tumbol Talad Nua,
Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand

Tel: ---
Fax: ---

review:
The Taste is the hotel formerly known as "The XVI" (in Lonely Planet). i asked and the hotel has not changed management but just names.A very non-descript entrance. you wouldn't even know there was a hotel. just maybe a bar. by the bar, though, there are some rooms off to the side and those are the rooms. there aren't very many rooms, but they're very well appointed. The space is spartan, concrete-box like, but at the same time, very luxurious. very good AC, good tv, rain shower head, vanity mirror, etc. also, was traveling w/ a friend and they only had a king bed for us.... we managed :)breakfast in morning was quite nice, though we had a plane to catch (and they knew this) and they were too slow to really let us get thru it. overall, staff was the best i'd experienced anywhere in my travels in SE Asia. fantastic, very attentive, very knowledgeable.

Helpful?
4 Thank seattle oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamoon Resotel
Lamoon Resotel
#6 of 9 in Talat Yai
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mei Zhou Phuket
Mei Zhou Phuket
#27 of 88 in Phuket Town
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel October
Hotel October
#5 of 9 in Talat Yai
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Summer Breeze Inn Hotel
Summer Breeze Inn Hotel
#14 of 88 in Phuket Town
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#64 of 88 in Phuket Town
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rome Place Hotel
Rome Place Hotel
#68 of 88 in Phuket Town
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taste

Property: The Taste
Address: 16-18 Rassada Road | Tumbol Talad Nua, Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Taste 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Taste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taste Phuket Town
Taste Hotel Phuket Town
The Taste Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing