We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Shock!”
Review of Sinthavee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sinthavee Hotel
Ranked #70 of 93 Hotels in Phuket Town
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The price was right. The photos were nice. The location was perfect. Everything looked good. So we booked the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were amazed at the spacious entrance way, the comfortable cushioned couches in the lobby and the impressive grand staircase leading up to the rooms. WOW!

We were shown to our room. It was not as impressive, of course. However, it looked pretty clean. The bed was made. The refridgerator was humming. The air conditioning worked great. But the lampshade had sizable water stains and the room STANK with mildew. That musty smell never went away even after we tried to air out the room by opening the windows. We should have asked for another room. But we didn't.

We checked out the bathroom and was greeted by a TORN and MOLDY shower curtain. It was FILTHY!!! Check out the photo. Why, oh why, didn't we move?? Never again will we stay in this awful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank baldeagle7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 73 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

At one time, this was probably a nice hotel but now it is amazing that this place is still open. It looks like maintenance has not been done for decades. In the room the locally made wooden box that is between the twin beds (with the light switches and a little flat top for personal stuff) was hanging from the wires. The handle on the refrigerator door was broken (and obviously had been for a long time). At the awful included breakfast (fried eggs that were stone cold, toast, rice, thin sliced canned ham and something that looked like coffee) there were three guests (besides the seven in my group). Since the hotel has 10 or ll stories of rooms, that does not indicate a very substantial occupancy. All the hotel shops are boarded up and unavailable. I see many reviewers call the place creepy. I had not really thought of it that way but I can surely see how that could be their impression. The good news is that the beds were ok and there was hot water in both the shower and the bathroom sink (not something we had in some other hotels we stopped at on our 5 day trip). If the price was 500 Baht (about $15) it would have been a good deal but at $50 it was overpriced for a Phuket town hotel far from the beach. A nice boutique hotel can be had for $30 right within an easy walk to Patong beach and this hotel is nowhere near a beach. The photos are VERY deceiving. They did have a person to deliver the bags to and from the room (he looked like he had worked there for at least 50 years but the bags got to the right place at the right time) and the bill was accurate.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Oh, where to begin...This is a weird, weird hotel... I can't quite put my finger on it but it is kind of creepy, in a way that makes you amazed you are still alive in the morning. As we found ourselves back for a second night, it is starting to feel like the Hotel California.
We ended up here because it was the only "budget" hotel in Phuket that wasn't full. We paid $500 B. The staff are all very pleasant. The lobby is cavernous and devoid of human life. To get to the rooms, you walk down a large corridor that was once lined with shops, all of which are closed and empty. The elevator is scary and the lights that tell you what floor you are on short out. The carpets are filthy and stained and the hotel is massive and laid out in a confusing way. I do not believe the hotel owns a vacuum cleaner. The rooms have seen better days, the TV's don't work, some of the lights don't work, the floors are filthy' the windows are dirty BUT here is the weird thing... the bed sheets and bathrooms in both the rooms were surprisingly clean!
Upon our arrival on night two, I asked reception about the swimming pool that is pictured on Trip Advisor and other promotional photos, she laughed rather slyly, shook her head and said, "No. There is no pool here." Internet cost $50 B and the wi-fi works.
If the hotel stopped its false advertising (swimming pool, etc) and invested in some new carpet, paint, someone to service the elevator and a vacuum... it could actually be an okay place...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinchipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is an a value for money. the cleanliness is taken care of and the service is amazing :-). the rooms are of good quality and the swimming pool is amazing. this is a place you should go to if ur in phuket town and its very close to the bus stops

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Taxi drivers at the airport burst into uncontrolled laugh when they heard where are we heading. Well, after getting there we realised why. This place is weird.

The lobby looks OK (although quite deserted) then you go through empty corridors, pass locked shops and service points, avoid stains on the floors and get to the room, which luckily is not as scary as you would imagine after seeing the corridors.

On the plus side:
- clean bed & bathroom (although corridor stains affect the general cleanliness score)
- free water (if we understood the sign correctly)
- good A/C
- if you arrive late you can get a good night sleep and move on the next day, just make sure you get a good online deal and don't pay much

On the minus side:
- creepy, weird place with lots of empty rooms (there was a gazillion of keys waiting in the lobby)
- common areas need refurbishment real soon or in fact needed it 10 years ago
- the rooms need a small revamp too but not as badly as the rest
- no hot water, crappy TV
- you can smoke in rooms (and you can tell that without seeing an ashtray)

Reception sells tickets to the Ko Phi Phi ferry for 450 baht – it is less than the advertised prices on the pier but more than some other agencies can offer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lukasz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

i am used to hostels and dorms, but this is just creepy.
we where 5 guest total in that 11 floors high building.
everybody pays a other price from 1300-400 baht for the same room. breakfast is a joke.
i thought i play a survive video game (everything was closed and locked and looked like it was closed since the mid 1980s , balkony in 9th floor without a railing) ok, we survived it, we hadn´t a other chance, booked it as we arrived at night at the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alfredo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Where to start… Although our net stay in this hotel had taken about 30 minutes, it was one of the scariest experiences in our lives. All the Phuket Town is rather terrible than anything else and this horror hotel plays a major role in this dire, God-forgotten place. We booked our rooms in the SINthavee via some “nameless” travel agency on the Phuket Airport, a price 1200 b./room/night seemed reasonable due to very nice photos and recommendations in the hotel catalog that was shown us by a dishonest seller from the agency (if I met him again!!!). We also thought that the reasonable (but not low) prize is a guarantee the hotel should not be bad. The reality was awful! Time stopped 30-40 years ago there! The hotel lobby was weird, receptionists cannot speak English… but you are staying there and still hoping – “Ok, it could be worse. Maybe the room will be fine.” No. It won’t. Our walk between the lobby and the elevator was like in Chernobyl the day after, carpets in elevator, halls and rooms are covered by various stains (“Do you see it too? Is it really blood?”), insect and waste, bedding and curtains in our room dirty, plasters cracked, lights broken, fridge empty, door to some weird space called by hotel management as “balcony” or “terrace” could not be closed… Our favorite detail was an uninsulated electric cable leading circa 5 cm behind bed pillow. Ladies and gentlemen, it was a real electric bed!!! Immediately we start to think about group suicide, or trying to find a new hotel. The second alternative tightly won. We found probably the most expensive hotel in the city (must say on very, very average quality), but still at the great price considering our hole lives were at stake. Of course, any attempt to get our money back from the hotel management (we paid but not-consumed one night stay) was impossible. Never, ever, ever again!!! If you are not Fellini, Elli Roth or Tarantino thinking about a new horror movie, or if you are not freak scientist dealing with research of dangerous insect, or if you are not just crazy, avoid this place!

Room Tip: I guess there is no good room. Warning - the hotel website, catalog, promotion... All is one big LIE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ales598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
0.4 mi away
Rome Place Hotel
Rome Place Hotel
#51 of 93 in Phuket Town
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twin Inn Hotel
Twin Inn Hotel
#58 of 93 in Phuket Town
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chinotel Phuket
Chinotel Phuket
#13 of 93 in Phuket Town
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
B2 Phuket Boutique & Budget Hotel
0.1 mi away
PHUKET TOWN INN
PHUKET TOWN INN
#6 of 9 in Talat Yai
12 reviews
0 mi away
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
#200 of 331 in Patong
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinthavee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinthavee Hotel

Address: 89 Phang-Nga Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 93 Hotels in Phuket Town
Price Range: $11 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sinthavee Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sinthavee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinthavee Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing