We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful colonial style hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Memory at On On Hotel
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful colonial style hostel”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very charming, extra clean place. The staff was friendly, helpful, they even helped with booking flights. The style of the hostel is just amazing, its worth to take a look at every small detail!
Really good located, close to everything you need (except the beach).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noémi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    180
    52
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
209
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Lovely hotel! Very friendly staff !
Location is very good. There are 2 banks' ATM nearby. It is in the old town of Phuket and very close to the local market. Room is very nice and the decoration of this hotel is very attractive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The on on in phuket town is just a gem of a place. The friendliest staff you could ever hope to find and a fantastic atmosphere of yesteryear. I loved the decor the breakfast was great the room was quiet and comfortable. Real home away from home! Highly recommend. If you want some great Thai food head just down the road from the hotel to a little place called the cool, awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I picked this hotel because it had such character and it didn't fail to deliver.The hotel's beautiful interiors were matched by the warmth of the service the staff provided. Jayson and Monica from the front desk always had a smile ready for me and were more than happy to assist me with my questions about how to get to this and that beach. They always had tips and gladly assisted me with flagging tuktuks to bring me to and fro. The location is perfect for exploring the old town although it is 45 mins away from the beaches. Being the coffee lover that I am, one other nice touch was the daily free pressed coffee service at tea time. The only thing that could be improved on was the breakfast they served. I felt that they could do so much better. But everything else was indeed, "memorable".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THETONIWEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This felt like a little boutique hotel and much nicer than we were expecting! The whole place, including our room, was beautifully decorated with friendly, helpful staff. We only stayed in old town Phuket for a day which was enough, but this was a great place to relax and explore the many little shops and cafés around!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stated at this hotel 2 weeks ago for 1 night as a stopover before getting the ferry to Koh Lanta.

We absolutely loved it. The hotel had such charm and character and was in a cracking location.

The bed was sublime and the bathroom was great. The free minibar in the room was a very nice touch.

The staff were lovely and organised our ferry (and pick up) to Koh Lanta for the next morning with no trouble.

Phuket old town was great to see, it was a very different experience to staying at the sanitised resorts on the beaches. We did a bit of a bar crawl and ended up eating in a lovely little restaurant around the corner, sadly I cannot remember the name to recommend it.

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel, particularly as it was so much cheaper than the other places we had booked for our trip. I was prepared to 'make do' as it was only for a night but in reality we would have been more than happy to stay for longer.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, not only was it beautiful, interesting and comfortable, the location provided an opportunity to see a different side of Phuket.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sallywally2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at The Memory for 5 nights and LOVED it. It has such charming sitting areas, breakfast area, rooms, and front desk. The staff were so friendly - knew our names, gave us great advice, taught us how to say the basic Thai words we needed to know, and were fun to talk with. The location was great - right in the heart of old town. Several of our friends stayed in other hotels around the area, but The Memory had the best location and the most charm. We got a Junior Suite which was well worth the extra money (it was even the room that The Beach was filmed in!). The only mediocre part of our stay was the breakfasts - while you get three options, none were too exciting to us. But that is pretty minor and overall I'm so happy with our decision to stay at The Memory.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites were roomy, have a lovely patio, and a gorgeous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelleyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
0.3 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 88 in Phuket Town
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 88 in Phuket Town
334 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
0.4 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
9.3 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Memory at On On Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Memory at On On Hotel

Property: The Memory at On On Hotel
Address: 19 Phang-Nga Rd. | Talad Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Memory at On On Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MEMORY AT ON ON HOTEL PHUKET Immerse yourself in the true spirit of Phuket Old Town with a homely stay at the historical Memory at On On Hotel. This is the oldest hotel in Phuket and has been meticulously renovated to maintain its rich Sino-Portuguese architecture, revealing a classic design that blends perfectly with the brand new modern amenities. The Memory at On On Hotel is a must-see attraction in itself and offers a totally unique experience for guests that want to discover the very best the Old Town has to offer. Our hosts will welcome you to your room or dormitory like an old friend into their home, which was how the story of this century old hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Memory at On On Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Memory At On On Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing